We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met Expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Pebble Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lodge at Pebble Beach to your Saves list
The Lodge at Pebble Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Met Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Most hotels that provide the level of service and amenities that The Lodge provides would be rated 5 stars. But, I am only rating it with 4. Why?

In this echelon of premium properties, the stakes are raised. Pebble Beach is one of the most expensive hotels in the United States, and does provide an exemplary level of service and accomodations. But, there are some things that it could do that would improve its standing amongst these properties.
1) There are a lot of "general public" and "tour bus" milling about the grounds. I wondered quite a bit during my trip if rooms were as secure as they could be due to this. Also, as an example, as we finished our round on 18, there was a group of foreign tourists near the 18th green who were allowing their children to play in the sandtraps! No one from the property was willing to say anything.
2) I think they cut some corners because of the "motel" style rooms that open to the outside rather than hallways, and having centralized corridors. This cheapens the feel some.
3) The property is very spread out. The workout club is about 1/2 mile from the rooms (which isn't a problem if you are going to go workout, but for a swim in 55 degree weather, it makes it a little daunting).
4) The restaurants are very good but not great.

The positives though outweigh these things in overall satisfaction. This is a wonderful, once-in-a-lifetime experience. The employees are generally very friendly and helpful, especially those on the lower rungs of the ladder...such as golf course starters, bell hops and waitstaff. All in all, a "Very Good" hotel at this price point and level of expectations.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 3rd floor of the Garden View blocks to have a great view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    44
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
41
122
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Just checked out the new restaurant, the Bench at the Lodge. Went for desset/coffee after lunch in the Tap room upstairs. We used to love the previous restaurant, Club IX which was lovely and formal. The Bench is a bright, fun place to eat or have drinks. Great sunny dining room, wonderful fire pits overlooking the 18th hole. Service slow and not up to snuff for Pebble Beach. Great atmospheren for drinks or casual meal.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoup
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Having drinks in the upstairs lobby looking out over the 18th hole is pretty sweet. It was unusually cold so we got a great cab and some yummy cheeses. We decided to go downstairs to their new restaurant with a hip cool bright vibe. Big change from the old one. There are wood burning ovens, wines on TAP, firepits to warm you up right outside plus seasonal fresh locally sourced food. We got the flatbread pizza with sausage and potatoes that was exceptional. They had trouble at first getting us a waitress and there were a few bumps in the service along the way. They gave us a dinner menu instead of the luncheon but they prepared a wonderful heirloom salad that we might have not gotten...the view is perfect for enjoying the famous 18th hole at Pebble Beach. They had just opened so they will only improve with age.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The lodge at Pebble beach is one of my favorite Golf locations any where in the world .. When you couple a fantastic golf course with amazing golf history , atmosphere and 6 star service , you can't go wrong. There is something for the avid golfer and the spa enthusiast alike . There is nothing like sitting by the log fire with a nice wine after playing this incredible spectacle of land and sea and discussing how this giant of a golf course that could have humbled even the most accomplished of golfers in your group gave everyone enjoyment at all levels . You find yourself recalling every shot with a smile .I can't wait to do it again ..

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 18th fairway , ground floor .. You won't be sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Looking at some colleges along the coast with my son and his friends. Stayed at The Lodge at Pebble Beach Tuesday night August 14, 2012, as I heard it was an outstanding hotel. NO ONE mentioned that they hold the Course d'elegance there the following weekend and there was construction going on everywhere. Heavy equiptment started up outside my $1000.00 room just before 8 a.m. Having just left constuction at my own house, another purpose for this trip, I was NOT happy. When voiced my opinion at check out it was met with...gee, sorry. didn't anyone tell you? Seriously?? When I told her I would never return, got another "sorry" and a full bill.
Overpriced? Stuffy? Bad customer service? All those. On the bright side, we at the the Tap Resturant there and it was excellent, and the service was very good. So..if you plan on staying there say 10 days or so before any event, don't bother. Full price for much less than the hotel has to offer.
Just as a side: the following night we stayed at the Ritz at Half-Moon Bay...superior to the Lodge property by far...and actually less than half the price. And no construction, just great service, beautiful ground, great rooms, wonderful views.

Room Tip: If you have a choice between The Lodge at Pebble Beach (and don't want the gold stuff), choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had dinner last night at the bench, very hip-and cool. nice addition. food is good, highlight is tomato salad and desserts. Love the patio and firepits. sitting there sipping a cocktail and enjoying a light fare menu is magic. This si a must try.
well done

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

In July my wife and I stayed here for 2 nights for our 35th wedding anniversary. Playing the Pebble Beach golf course has been something we have wanted to do for years.
When I made the reservation, they asked if we were celebrating an occasion and I told them it was our 35th. When we got there they had upgraded us to an ocean front room right on the 18th fairway. 15 minutes after we were in the room there was a knock at the door and a ellman was there with a bbottle of champaign compliments of the hotel GM.

Our room was absolutely perfect. Everthing was up to date and immaculate. During the two days we were there every single employee we met at resteraunts, the golf course, shops, etc was absolutely focused on customer satisfaction.

This place is not cheap but for a really special occasion it is wonderful

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Lodge at Pebble Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Pebble Beach

Address: 1700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pebble Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Pebble Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge at Pebble Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pebble Beach Hotel Pebble Beach
Hotel Pebble Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Pebble Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.