We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but pricey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Pebble Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Lodge at Pebble Beach to your Saves list
The Lodge at Pebble Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pebble Beach
rockford, IL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

Outstanding room with great view of bay and 1st tee. Full sofa and wood burning fireplace ready to light every evening. Large bathroom with extra sink in dressing area. Great balcony though we didn't use it. We paid for "garden room" and had "free" upgrade but still very expensive. You need to stay 2 nights to get a tee time for Pebble Beach

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    40
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
32
108
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
colorado springs colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We finally did it, made the reservation, stayed in a room, a chip away from the 18th hole, and loved every minute of the experience! It was costly, but well worth the expense! We stayed at the lodge for 3 days, and played golf at Pebble Beach and Spyglass. It was a dream come true! Blue skies, warm temps, and we played great golf! We took too many pictures, but they all remind us of our days spent at the most beautiful golf course in the world! The people at Pebble Beach were incredible, the food was good, the room was beautiful, and the view from the outside porch, was of the 18th green, and the famous trees that surround it! We ran around in our pajama's early in the morning, all up and down the 18th hole! We watched the dogs do their jobs of clearing the course of the geese (and what they leave behind)! Which was way fun to watch, at 6 am, by the way!
We saw the sunrise every morning standing on the 18th green in our pajama's! How cool is that! The only thing I would have changed is playing Spanish Bay instead of Spyglass! Spyglass was pretty, but not incredible! Make sure you go to Spanish Bay at dusk, to hear the bagpipper walk the last few holes, and feel the tingle on your skin as his pipes are the only sound you hear! and the drinks aren't bad, either! We ate dinner at the Hawaiian specialty restaurant that is at Spanish Bay, and it was fantastic! We only spent one afternoon shopping, and it was fabulous on Cannery Row. Check out the Pebble Beach outlet store, for great pricing on logo'd golf apparel.

Room Tip: get a room, with a view of the 18th hole. The large tree at the front of the green, is lit at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

This hotel has a very beautiful location and we were looking forward to it - but I really disliked our stay here.

I do not golf, I am a family man.. I love my family. In my opinion, this is a hotel for golfers and those who place golf above family in their lives.

Grumbling room-neighbors, general golf related difficulty, drunken golf-guests, errant golf balls and golf related duress. A parade of overseas non-residend bus-tourists with cameras and the accompanying unpleasantness of unrelated, visiting strangers. This hotel features management and staff who tacitly acknowledge their guests presence without genuinely taking those guest's wishes to heart!

My wife and I spend considerble time in luxury hotels and sensed an underlying meme of "Care For The Staff Without "TRULY" Caring for the Guests" .. It may be intentional - it may be benign, but we spend more time in properties like this each year than average tourists will in a lifetime, and got the distinct impression that the staff came fist here - above the wishes of guests. Maybe even a little tolerance but disdain for guests. TRULY heartbreaking. This is personally difficult to stomach because we are members at the nearby Pebble Beach club itself!!.

I have to encourage all who care to listen, to AVOID this place in favor of other properties in Carmel-By-The-Sea or Monterey. This place can do better and if it can't it deserves a re-do with new staff!

Room Tip: Avoid the lodge at Pebble Beach in favor of a hotel in Carmel-By-The-Sea or a home-rental in the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

You will spend an arm and a leg for your stay, but it is well worth the expense. I got this one off my bucket list, but now I want to put it back on. We stayed in a suite just off the 18th green at Pebble Beach, with the view of the green through our french doors. We were able to spend an afternoon on our private patio eating cheese and drinking wine as the players came off the course. What a sight and feeling. I want to do it again.
Service was excellent.

Room Tip: Go for the bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

we stayed for 3 nights in this wonderful hotel !!! everything was perfect! the staff was really polite, service, dinning at the stillwater restaurant overlooking the 18th hole at the pepple beach course, beautiful golf course... also, the rooms had a fireplace with wood supplied every morning. Loved it!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I had the good fortune to spend a couple of days at The Lodge at Pebble Beach. The facility, staff, service, dining and of course golf were beyond what I could have imagined.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We recently stayed at the Lodge and played Spyglass and Pebble Beach. The accomodations were phenomenal (and very expensive!). The "rooms" are actually a suite complete with a sitting area with a fireplace (kindling and wood supplied for you), bar, dressing room, bathroom, and a deck overlooking the 18th green of the Pebble Beach course. The dressing area has a large, well lit, mirrored are with lots of counter space perfectly suited for putting on your make up and doing your hair which conveniently leaves the bathroom available for your other half. It also sports beautiful built in cabinetry and a large closet sufficient for an extended stay. The bed was heavenly and cozy robes are supplied. For me, the best ammenity was the view of the bay and the 18th green from our deck. Its a beautiful place to have coffee and watch the fog roll in early in the morning and the 18th green is lit at night which is pretty spectacular too. It looks like all the lodgings have the same view. The service was phenomenal. If we were gone for 15 minutes, someone had been in our room, tidied up, replaced the towels, refilled the mini bar and put ice in the bucket! One note: if you stay there, don't plan on a nice, quiet meal at the Tap Room. Its crowded and extremely noisy; imagine "can't even hear yourself think." The food is just ok and overpriced. You can stay at either the Inn at Spanish Bay or the Lodge with the golf package; I would recommend the Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Pebble Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Pebble Beach

Address: 1700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pebble Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pebble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodge at Pebble Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge at Pebble Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Pebble Beach Hotel Pebble Beach
Hotel Pebble Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Pebble Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.