We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve at Inn at Spanish Bay/Pebble Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Spanish Bay

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Spanish Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Spanish Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Pebble Beach
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve at Inn at Spanish Bay/Pebble Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn at Spanish Bay a few times now.This was our second NYE there-they throw an AMAZING NYE party.It's a phenomenal event.
Let's move on to the hotel experience.The service is nothing short of impeccable . You can valet or self park (that's free).The lobby and outside views of the greens,ocean and landscape is breathtaking.It's surreal how gorgeous it all looks.
The rooms are nice-sort of old school meets contemporary.Clean,soft colors and wooden furnishings.The bathrooms are large .Now as much as I would like to sing the praises of this high end luxury resort-I need to put this out there.I know it's winter.I know that.But for rooms starting at
$615.00 per night and a NYE bash at $399. per person-could you turn on some HEAT ???? It was at times between 36 and 50 degrees -and getting in a dress for a party at least turn it ON !!
It really tee'd (no pun intended) me off ! Even in the restaurant "ROY'S"( in the hotel ) with four people )from Canada,New York&Philly~asked to change tables once to warm up but still could not wait to leave and get out of the freezing cold place.
The NYE party goes ALL OUT and is ALMOST worth every dollar if I (and numerous others)did noit have to go back to our rooms to get our COATS AND COVER UP MY LITTLE BLACK DRESS !!!!!
ANYWAY.
back to the party.
The theme this year was Once Upon A Time-a lavish fairy tale event.
All you can eat beautiful seafoods,cheeses,vegies,meats,desserts,alcohol stc.It was replenished all night long and was so fresh .Great ballroom with a fabulous "Live Action Heroes" band, a super hero discotheque with great DJ,* Cross the drawbridge to enter a castle through the mouth of a watchful dragon
Goldilocks and the Three Bears for dishes that are too big, too small, and just right
A yellow brick road in the Emerald City Casino
Delectable desserts and sip on scrumptious drinks in the Mad Hatter's Tea Party
and so much more,
All in all the I have NEVER seen the rooms on "sale" but it's on at of the most beautiful places on earth .So get a room and bring a sweater.and gloves.and a coat.

Room Tip: Bring a camera/iPhone etc. to capture the stunning beauty of this fabulous place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    49
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
46
114
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent two nights at Inn at Spanish Bay this last weekend. While it was almost at full occupancy it did not feel like it. The check in experience is very nice and the service all the way around is great. Expect the in room dining to be pricey and the incidentals as well. They do have a convenient $25 per night resort fee that covers all gratuity so it frees you from having to tip everyone every time you get your car or when they deliver your bags etc. The setting is incredible with amazing views and the outdoor patio with the firepits is a must for a dink at sunset or at night. Roy's is a good dining option too!

Room Tip: Forest category rooms are same size as ocean view rooms - but the ocean views are well worth the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We just went for drinks and were so impressed! They brought blankets out to everyone on the patio (plus had great fire pits), had a good drink and appetizer menu, and the bagpiper that plays at sunset was amazing. First class experience!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I spent a week here in August for work. The area is breathtaking, truly amazing. And there is plenty to do whether you golf, play tennis, like to shop or hit the spa. Food is good and the rooms are nice and clean. It is not unique though, and the large property can seem impersonal (with the exception of the fire pits and evening bagpiper). I would not say I felt 'right at home,' as I typically choose smaller establishments when planning trips- but definitely not bad for a working outing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you are looking for a bargain, then look elsewhere. If your are looking to check the bucket list for the golfer in your life, then look no further. We just returned from a visit for my husband's 50th Birthday. He of course enjoyed playing Pebble Beach and Spyglass.

The style is traditional like the Four Seasons. I prefer more modern hotels but the ocean view made up for everything. It was the only time that I felt it was worthwhile to pay to be upgraded to a room with an ocean view...it was spectacular.

We were there with our 3 and 5 year old girls. What surprised me was how much the rest of us enjoyed it. We were upgraded to an ocean view room and could watch the bagpiper play from inside our room. We loved spending the evening in the lounge listening to the carolers. There was so much to do with the kids (Monterey Aquarium, Point Lobos State Reserve, Monarch Santuary.)

It really opened my eyes to the Monterey Peninsula and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Pay more for the ocean view. It's the only time I felt it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed over the Thanksgiving weekend and it was just glorious. Hands down some of the best weather I've seen in Pebble Beach - it was mid 70's, no wind and clear, which made sitting out on their patio chairs overlooking the golf course and ocean for the better part of a day absolutely pleasant. Many of the chairs and benches in the patio area are around fire pits, which is absolutely charming. Make sure you see the bagpiper play the sunset, which happens every night. The one thing I would say was that the patio got a bit crowded by people coming from all over to see the bag piper and it was impossible to get service.

Rooms are nice, but nothing special and little different (renovated I'm sure) from the first time I stayed there 20 years ago. Bed is very comfortable and the in-room gas fireplace adds a very nice touch. In-room air conditioning was under-powered and the sun hitting the drapes made it rather warm. Gym and pool are nice, and of course the gold course is amazing.

The Roy's restaurant in the hotel is up to Roy's usual standards and a great place for a meal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you're a conscientious objector to the game of golf (on account of your inability to play it) but have golfers in your life, the Inn at Spanish Bay offers plenty to distract while the golfers do their thing. Inviting patio with fire pits not far from the surf. Fitness center with a beach view and a lap pool. Easy access to the beach for a run. Rooms are lovely but not extraordinary. Staff is attentive and capable. For the price, everything is as it should be. The natural setting is its own "wow factor," however this is a large property so the experience can seem impersonal and doesn't much differ from a higher end chain hotel. They're not stingy on the complementary bottled water, which I appreciated. Mercifully, a bagpiper in full garb appears in the early evening to drown out the murmur of the day's golf stories.

Room Tip: P.G. is often overcast so think twice about the upgrade for the ocean view. Enjoy the same view fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Spanish Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Spanish Bay

Address: 2700 17-Mile Drive, Pebble Beach, CA 93953
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pebble Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Pebble Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Spanish Bay 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn at Spanish Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Spanish Bay Hotel Pebble Beach
Hotel At Spanish Bay
At Spanish Bay Hotel
Inn Spanish Bay
Spanish Bay Inn
Inn At Spanish Bay
Spanish Bay Monterey
The Inn At Spanish Bay Pebble Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Spanish Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.