We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good Food, Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's

Roy's
2700 17 Mile Dr, Pebble Beach, CA 93953
(831) 647-7423
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Pebble Beach
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Australian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have been at many Roy's, including the original ones in Oahu, Maui, Baltimore, and Naples. The quality of the food is consistent as is the service. I always enjoy the fresh fish and the butterfish is their signature dish. This time I had scallops topped with dungeness crab. Wow. Delicious and with a beautiful view of the golf course, it felt like a slice of heaven. A must do on the 17 mile drive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    50
    19
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Yummy food and views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Sit outside on the patio if you've got good weather. Beautiful views and great atmosphere. Food was fabulous at lunch. Wonderful & relaxing area made us want to stay longer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“No where near like the one in Waikiki”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was in Oahu the month prior and had eaten at the Roy's there twice it was that good-in terms of both food and service (see my review to see where I am coming from on this). The Pebble Beach one fell flat on both. Went there for lunch during the 17 mile drive. The dining area is spacious and the view is excellent-watched deer wander around the golf course and the waves crashing on shore. The service was not anywhere near what I had experienced at the other Roy's. There, you knew you were somewhere where food was taken seriously. Here was more like an Applebee's (yeah I just went there)-like if I were to ask "how is the buttterfish?" and getting the response "oh it's really good". There were no specials and the "unique to that Roy's" items were not nearly as intriguing as I was hoping for-so I got the butterfish bento box. Mom got some sort of Kung Pao chicken salad. In Waikiki the butterfish had come with several sauces-each bringing something completely different to the palate and complementing the richness of the fish. Here, well the fish was in some sort of liquid. What exactly I do not know because the tray was unceremoniously dumped onto the table without a word. It was nowhere near the same experience. The box also contained some sashimi tuna, which was not as fresh as it should have been, some sea greens, a wasted side of iceburg lettuce in some sort of mild dressing that was nothing to write home about, and some chicken. Again, NO IDEA WHAT THE CHICKEN DISH WAS because I was not given an even cursory description. It tasted like an orange chili sauce. The chicken pieces were not even high quality (seriously) twisted somewhat fatty little strips. Mom was happy with her salad but she would have been just as happy with an Applebee's salad and did not really know what she should have expected. It was towards the end of lunch so maybe they just wanted to get us in and out. Maybe they are tired of people coming in with there 17 mile receipts for the discount. I don't know what to make for the lack of service, but that coupled with the food makes me question it taking on the Roy's name.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“We went to hear the bagpiper and sit on the patio beside a fire pit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Golf lore includes a bag pipe. Each evening the walking bagpiper ends his day about 50 feet from the patio. Not many other places where one can have this experience. Takes about an hour if you want a decent seat. We chose a bench around a firepit. Blankets come with the firepits. The bench faced away from the bagpiper but when you turned around on the bench we actually had a great seat. Mixed drinks were ok next time I would stay with wine. Shared spinach dip and club sandwich which were about a 7. But we didn't go there for the food. Don't let a typical cloudy day stop you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I'll keep this short. Get the butterfish/tuna combo. Might just be the best seafood meal of my life...really!....oh, yea, everything else from view, wine, service....awesome!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's also viewed

Pebble Beach, Monterey Peninsula
Pebble Beach, Monterey Peninsula
 
Monterey, Monterey Peninsula
Pebble Beach, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.