We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor grounds keeping” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spyglass Hill Golf Course

Spyglass Hill Golf Course
Stevenson Drive and Spyglass Hill, Pebble Beach, CA 93953
800-654-9300
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stretching 6,859 yards at par 72, this Robert Trent Jones, Sr. layout is a demanding and rigorous course requiring acute skill and length from the back tees.
Metairie, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“poor grounds keeping”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

we played all three courses and found that spyglass had punched the fairways and stripped sections of the fairway down to dirt i think they should have mentioned that before we signed up or at least give a discounted rate i filled out the pebble beach satisfaction report and mentioned that i never got a return reply to my complaint apparently they only want good reviews

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    25
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“As good as Pebble Beach Golf Links but different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a world class track and plays like two different golf courses, the first 5 holes are on the ocean with all of the challenges of the wind and then goes into the woods for an entirely different feel. I only wish that I could have played it again, the traps are punitive, the greens are blisteringly fast, the course is extremely fun and very playable. I shot 85 after having a triple bogey on the extremely hard 8th. hole, once is not enough

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, PA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Pace of play was very good. Great variety of holes (ocean, woods and wildlife). Matthew (our caddie) was exceptional. I enjoyed this more than Pebble Beach -- which really surprised me.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful but tough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

A must play if you want a challenge. Not sure I have ever played a more difficult course. Great views on the first
6 holes. Wind off the ocean is cold. Dress in layers. Great staff in the shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Spyglass Hill golf course is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Spyglass Hill was in the best condition of any golf course we have played at in the past 10 years of visiting the Pebble Beach, California area. Tough greens but super friendly staff, and the golf marshals we met at various points on the course, Dick and Adam, were two of the nicest and most welcoming guys I think my husband and I have ever encountered anywhere! While it's an expensive place at $360 per round, it's an amazing experience and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spyglass Hill Golf Course also viewed

Pebble Beach, Monterey Peninsula
Pebble Beach, Monterey Peninsula
 
Pebble Beach, Monterey Peninsula
Pebble Beach, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Spyglass Hill Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spyglass Hill Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.