We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Cheddar Melt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berry Hill Bistro

Berry Hill Bistro
1114 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2521
805-238-3929
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 142 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Paso Robles, California, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Cheddar Melt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I go here from time to time. Their cheddar melt is awesome and their martinis are excellent. Service is always great as well.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    54
    11
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Berry Crumble @ Berry Hill Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Took a very pleasant windy-road drive around some of vineyards on our way to Paso Robles.Gorgeous scenery enroute (not sure I would want to be tasting wine and driving this very curvy route, but the vistas were breathtaking). Came to the historic part of town and stopped in at Berry Hill Bistro. Ambiance was relaxing but nicely done with colourful upside-down shade umbrellas hanging from the ceiling. Nicely tiled floor, spacious arrangement of chairs. All of the french doors were open which added a nice breeze to the atmosphere. Server was pleasant and helpful without being in your face.

We shared a chicken panini with raspberry chipotle sauce (would LOVE that recipe) that was about $13 to 15 if memory serves me correctly and a large portobello salad ($14 - the smaller one at $9 would have been plenty), a glass of local wine (what else?) and the Berry Hill Crumble. Our server warned us that the crumble was a large serving, but we asked him to make it smaller as we only wanted a taste and that is what we got. It was very delicious without being too sweet. Meal before tip came to $45.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food in a liitle bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is one of the nicest little restaurants in the area. The food is great. Very comfortable intimate setting with a great patio...The gluten free bread is awesome! The sandwiches are generous, it all tastes very fresh, and the staff is really nice. Other people said the service was slow ,not for us ,maybe we catch a good day ...the girl who serve us was very nice and fast ....
If you are in Paso Robles I think is a must to go list once .The food is great and if you stay on the patio like we stay everything is wonderful
The onion rings are great and I think the best in all the States ,same with other dishes .
Enjoy it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We visited this restaurant on a stop over in Paso. We had a late lunch there. I had a wonderful crab cake sandwich and two others in our family had the most tasty fish and chips ever! The pear salad was also enjoyed. Service was fine and prices were as expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kinda iffy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Have eaten here before and had had a wonderfull experience so we were excited to be back but, this time we were very disappointed with the service. The food was very good. We went at 5:30 on Saturday afternoon. We may give it another shot when we come to visit again but, with all the other great places in aso, you'd think management would be on top of this.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berry Hill Bistro also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Berry Hill Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berry Hill Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.