We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, clean and fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paso Robles Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Paso Robles Inn to your Saves list
Paso Robles Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1103 Spring Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
bay area, california
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“comfortable, clean and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were a group of 8 ladies down for a wine tasting weekend in Paso Robles (between 23 - 55). This was a fantastic hotel for what we were doing. So close to the wineries and right on the "town square" where we could cruise around downtown PR. The hotel was clean, everyone who worked there very nice and helpful. We got 2 rooms with two queen beds each and when we got there they actually gave us a free upgrade to their "suite" which included a small livingroom with pull out couch. (which was great since one of the four in our room couldn't take the snoring and went and slept on the sofa bed - which could be "closed" off by the door between the living room and bedroom - perfect solution!) The only thing I wish I would have known in advance...was how badly mineral springs actually smell!!!! we never would have filled our private hot tub on our patio with that smelly water! in our second room we just filled the hot tub with tap water and it was divine - the four ladies in our other room had to come use our hot tub and try and get some fresh air circulating thru their room...it smelled just awful - truly like rotting eggs. But other than than little hiccup it was a great fun time. They have a full restaurant and coffee shop on site. They let us use their private dining room without a minimum that evening for dinner. Food was great, service outstanding. And to top it all off they have a full bar upstairs that had a live band performing! We danced, drank, laughed all night and only had to downstairs to our room. It really couldn't have been a more perfect spot for a fun ladies weekend getaway! I will be going back and just not add mineral water to the tub! (great breakfast too)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I’m delighted you and your group enjoyed the Historic Inn and all the wonderful amenities we have to offer. The Paso Robles downtown is truly unique and I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the hotels close proximity to the downtown square. There are so many good wine tasting rooms and restaurants to explore. It really is a lot of fun especially with a group of friends.

We take a lot of pride in maintaining the historic charm and character of the Inn. I’m sorry the spa experience was not what you expected in the one room. Yes, the sulpher order can be strong at times and smelt even when the spa’s are not in use. The sulfur smell is caused by sulfur dioxide gas that escapes into the air. The natural sulfur hot spring, although smelly at time, has been drawing visitors here for many years. Some of the benefits include lowering blood pressure, helping to relieve arthritis pain and detoxifying the body.

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay and we anxiously await your next visit to Paso Robles.

Erica Renkert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    208
    95
    47
    34
See reviews for
52
286
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is my second time staying here, and I imagine it won't be my last. It's not only attractive and charming, it's really convenient. It's been our headquarters for our trips. So centrally located, it's easy to drop off the day's purchases, change clothes, take a quick nap, walk across the street to the city park, and walk to so many great restaurants and shops.
I do see what other reviewers have seen--the olives make a mess of the sidewalks, so it's a rating of 4 rather than 5.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Welcome back, I’m delighted to hear that the Historic Inn is your hotel of choice when visiting Paso Robles. The Paso Robles downtown is truly unique and I’m glad you are able to take advantage of the hotels close proximity to the downtown square. There are so many good wine tasting rooms and restaurants to explore while visiting the area.

We do take a lot of pride in maintaining the historic charm and character of the Inn. Yes, we have several large Olive trees on our property that date back to the 1800’s. They are one of the many historical features you can find here at the Inn. Our practice is to treat the trees twice a year to help minimize there fruit production. Along with treating the trees, we sweep the sidewalks twice a day to help minimize the build up of olives on the sidewalks. Please know we do our best to keep all the walkways clean.

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay and we anxiously await your next visit to Paso Robles.

Erica Renkert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Paso Robles Inn has great potential, location is great, rooms are cute and here comes the but... The rooms were recently renovated but not completed. All the art for the room was missing, blank white walls, felt like a Motel. The jets in the mineral tub were not working and the internet would not stay connected. Walls are thin, we could hear the man above us snoring all night. We decided to check out early and move to another hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't mind thin walls and are a heavy sleeper, then you should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, Front Office Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your previous stay. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I do understand how missing artwork can give the room a baron feeling and I would like to assure you that, since our renovations, we have checked each room to insure that all of the proper artwork, railings, and amenities have been placed back in the appropriate rooms. I would like to thank you once more for leaving a comment with us on tripadvisor. Hopefully, if we are fortunate enough to host you in the future, we can make sure you leave with a more favorable opinion of the Paso Robles Inn.

Alex Howze
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Paso Robles Inn has been a landmark and an icon of Paso Robles for well over a century. Located in probably the most ideal spot to stay in Paso Robles, it provides easy walking (5 min) access to wine tasting rooms and wine bars, eateries and ice-cream shops as well as some fantastic restaurants, boutique shops, and much more. Surrounded by over 220 wineries in the Paso Robles wine region, the Paso Robles Inn is the perfect place for launching a wine tasting Adventure, which just so happens to be why we were there. Oh and eating.

We even got the all the healing powers of the thermal waters with a private hot springs tub in a Deluxe Spa Room. These are the famous sulfur springs that put Paso on the map in the late 1800’s and one of the things the Inn is known for. You fill the hot tub with hot sulfur spring water and fill the air with the aroma of, yes that’s it, sulfur (rotten eggs). Thank goodness the Inn has some more pleasing aroma liquid to put in the water so not only your body but also your nose can relax and enjoy.
Check in was easy and the staff were friendly and efficient and came through later with some minor personal items that were left at home! The rooms have some variety from simple old style (but relatively new) decor in small comfortable rooms to the more palatial (OK maybe not “palatial” but large well appointed suites) and they even have some dog friendly rooms for those that can’t leave their four legged child Fifi at home. The rooms are equipped with hair driers, irons, a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. All the comforts of home. Well, at least your first apartment.

To quote the Inn “A full-service destination, the Inn features an outdoor heated pool and spa, spa services, complimentary Wi-Fi, a premier Steakhouse, our historic Cattlemen’s Lounge, and a 1940s diner-style Coffee Shop”. They also have facilities for weddings and events, with a beautifully restored Grand Ballroom as well as several other meeting rooms and an executive boardroom (whatever that is).

Koala wandered the grounds on the first morning and really enjoyed the beautiful setting with Koi ponds and grass areas with big beautiful oak trees and various assorted other trees and gardens while sipping on his tea. A very very nice place to wander. Kiwi’s room was adjacent to the pool(s) and made a nice spot to sit with a cup of coffee in the mornings.

As is usual for a Kiwi and Koala Adventure things never go as planned and some rooms needed to be vacated and extra rooms need to be accounted for on the second day. The staff at the Inn were very accommodating and helped our fuzzy heads to solve our dilemma in a matter of minutes. Well done!

The group ate breakfast both mornings at the Inn’s 1940s diner-style Coffee Shop” in preparation for our adventures and all meals were well priced and enjoyed by all.
Not many places can give you the location, the comforts, the conveniences and such an incredible sense of history and place as the Paso Robles Inn.

All in all a great place to stay in Paso Robles but make sure to book early as there are many events in the area and the Inn books out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I'm delight to hear that you enjoyed your experience while at our Historic Inn. We strive to provide memorable and relaxing experiences for all our guest and it nice to hear we did accomplish this for you. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Sincerely,
Erica Renkert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto,CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We selected this hotel based on feedback from friends from their trip last year. Loved the downtown location within walking distance of many highly recommended restaurants and easy access to the 100 plus wineries in the area. The room was comfortable and clean albeit small with 2 double beds. Bathroom was huge with generous counter space and 2 sinks. No problem with wifi during our visit. My big complaint was sleep quality. Both nights we were surrounded by tour bus guests. The first morning wasn't a huge problem, there departure time was relaxed. After leisurely breakfast they hit the road. The second morning was another story. A different bus group was staying in rooms on either side of us and they were up early like 5:30AM and heading off to breakfast talking loudly as they passed our room. The same as they returned to their rooms to collect their bags and roll them down the porch walk way at 6:15 AM. Clicky, clack,clicky, clack. We are both light sleeper so getting back to sleep was not possible. I am just wondering if there is any way tour bus groups could be located in room units together so they don't disturb non tour bus guest with their early departure times? Ask if your room can be located separately from the bus groups rooms. Breakfast was generous and reasonably priced but service was slow because of the need to take care of bus groups so they could hit the road. We would stay there again if the room could be located in a building away from the tour bus groups.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your stay with us.

I’m glad to hear that you did chose the Paso Robles Inn as your hotel of choice while visiting the Paso Robles area. It’s also nice to hear you enjoyed your time exploring the Paso Robles downtown. Paso Robles is truly a one of its kind destination with all the tasting rooms and restaurants to dine in.

I am sorry you were woken up by other guest early in the morning. Please know we do our best to separate tour groups for our other guests to ensure each guest has a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Again thank you for your feedback and I look forward to having you as our guest again real soon.

Sincerely,
Erica Renkert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Unfortunately they were doing remodeling and our room remodeling wasn't completely checked by them before we checked in. Had a "fireplace" room which was a special treat for my wife.

Clean, new paint and nicely remodeled bathroom with a new tub and toilet. Lots of towels. BUT they hadn't yet installed towel racks and there was no place to put towels after you used them except in the bathtub or thrown over the bar for the shower curtain or on the floor or on the toilet.

I was looking forward to a soaking in the spa in the near freezing night time weather and wasn't told when I reserved the room either in the internet posting which talked about pool and spa nor talking to them on the phone that CONSTRUCTION WAS GOING ON and SPA AND POOL WAS CLOSED. Big disappointment on a cold evening after a day of driving and walking and looking forward to a hot soaking before going to bed.

Be careful because the basin in our bathroom had the HOT and COLD water incorrect for standard we're all used to. (Hot on the left and Cold on the right.) This could be the case in other rooms and I'm wondering if they had a "real" plumber doing the work and if it was inspected by the city during and after construction. I looked under the basin and braided flexible tubes from the wall could be easily crossed to fix the problem as the hot and cold plumbing was NOT coming out of the wall on the correct sides so that the direct connection should have been crossed. Obviously whoever did the work never checked it out or knew little about plumbing standards.

I had to contact the check in desk to find out how to work the "fireplace." A small card next to the control with directions would have been easy for them to provide. A working and readable thermometer would have been helpful in adjusting the fireplace as what appeared to be a regular heater control had a virtually unusable thermometer as part of it. It also might have saved the Inn some $$$ in their gas bill.

I would suggest that if noise bothers you when you're sleeping that the clicking noises as the fireplace metal expands as it comes on or contracts as it goes off which lasts for a LONG TIME would be objectionable. Fortunately my wife uses earplugs when she sleeps and didn't wake up but I was awakened half a dozen times during the night in spite of having poor hearing for which I wear hearing aids...of course not sleeping.

I'd suggest that you avoid the fireplace rooms if you aren't a sound sleeper or are willing to turn off the heat in the room when you go to sleep and let it cool down before you go to bed. During the summer it probably wouldn't particularly matter since you'd probably be using the A/C wall unit instead of the fireplace.

Nice TV set and lots of channels including HBO if that's your thing. The room was clean though the burned out ceiling light that was supposed to provide the light to see into the closet should have been noted by the maid and replaced....!

The surrounds would be nice to enjoy during warm weather. Trees, grass, meadow like surroundings with running water and nice patio to eat outside. And Paso Robles does get WARM! weather.

Contrary to some comments from others, we enjoyed the evening meal (Christmas Eve) and had good service and delicious food. We routinely stop to eat lunch at the Inn when driving south from the Bay Area on 101 but we hadn't eaten dinner there before. A nice respite from the drive and a chance in nice weather to stroll in the park like setting before getting back in the car to continue the trip.

The Inn is very convenient and across the street from the town square surrounded by shops and a nice place to stroll.

Room Tip: Avoid the (gas) fireplace rooms if you want a quite night's sleep or are willing to turn off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I would like to apologize for what you experienced during your stay. It appears that we failed to attain our goal of exceeding our guest's expectations in your stay. We are thrilled that you did enjoy your dinner at the steakhouse.

I’m extremely sorry for the items that you found in your room that were not up to standard. As you noticed, we have recently completed work in the rooms and are still in process. It appears that a few items such as the towel hooks and directions have not been replaced. The final construction punch list has obviously been missed in this room, however, these are items that our housekeeping and maintenance crew should have caught as they reset the room for our guests. I appreciate your information on the low flowing toilet. We are required to install low flow, however, there may be another issue with that particular room.

It is not our standard to put bars in tubs that have a standard size tub, but we will certainly take your feedback and reconsider installation.

I can assure you that I have discussed and reviewed processes with our Maintenance and Housekeeping staff. It is our practice to keep all rooms in working order. The burnt out bulb and clothes in the dresser are completely unacceptable. These are the very basics.

I can not reverse the past and when we make an mistake we do everything we can to make it right. I wish I had had the opportunity to speak with you during your stay so that I could have helped make your stay more enjoyable while you were here. Please accept our sincere apology and as discussed in our recent e-mail to each other, you will be seeing a refund to your credit card. I do hope you will visit us again once all our renovations are complete so we can provide you with a positive and memorable stay; one that reflects our usual standards. Please contact me personally so that I can ensure your stay meets your expectations.

Again thank you for taking the time to tell me about your recent stay

Erica Renkert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Don't bother upgrading to the sulfur spa rooms unless you have 2-3maybe even 4 hours to wait for the dribble to fill the spa. We thought the ATROCIOUS service at dinner in the downstairs restaurant was bad and we had pretty much decided then not to bother coming back but then we all got to our roomS(yes, meaning multiple)and thought we would relax, drink some wine and soak in our "tubs"...... Till we turned the faucets on!! Who has time to wait HOURS for a tub to fill?!? I understand they are big tubs/jacuzzis but the water coming out was a dribble. Front desk just said "sorry, it's a natural spring....nothing we can do." BS!!!! Get a bigger pump with all the money you are charging for the upgrade!!! AND clean out the pipes already there!! Bottom line is....the rooms are decent....don't waist money on an upgrade...and NO MATTER WHAT DON'T EAT IN THE RESTAURANT!!!

Room Tip: Do NOT waste money on a spa room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoRoblesInn, General Manager at Paso Robles Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it is thru feedback we can continue to improve. Hospitality and guest service is of the utmost importance to us. Providing a caring and friendly interaction is our number one goal and it appears that we have failed.

We use all feedback as an opportunity to train our staff, but in this case I would sincerely appreciate more information so that I may understand your concerns and where we failed. Please feel free to contact me at kevinh@martinresorts.com or reach me at the Paso Robles Inn at 802-226-4920.
Please accept my sincere apology that you do not feel you received the service you expected.

I would also like to apologize for you spa experience, I understand how frustrated you must have been while waiting for the tub to fill. We do offer 36 rooms with natural hot springs sulfur water, being that the water is drawn for a natural source, we do sometimes experience low water pressure when multiple tubs are being filled at the same time, however, a dribble is not normal and we will inspect the pumps. We are currently in the processes of upgrading all of our spa tubs as well as the pumping system that feeds all the tubs. As you can imagine this is a very large project and we are hoping to have it completed very soon.
I would like to invite you back so we can provide you with a positive and memorable stay; one that reflects our usual standards. Please contact me personally so that I can ensure your stay meets your expectations.

Again thank you for taking the time to tell me about your recent stay.

Sincerely,
Erica Renkert & Kevin Hyland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paso Robles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paso Robles Inn

Address: 1103 Spring Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paso Robles Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and centrally located downtown Paso Robles, the Historic Paso Robles Inn is the perfect spot to enjoy Paso Robles wine country! Right across the street from the City Park, the Paso Robles Inn is within close walking distance of wine tasting, boutiques, restaurants, movies, specialty culinary shops and more! The hotel features 98 beautifully appointed guest rooms and deluxe mineral spa rooms offering a private spa tub on your balcony or patio fed by mineral springs that have attracted travelers for over a century. Relax in the stunning garden setting, enjoy the award-winning Steakhouse, Coffee Shop and Cattlemen’s Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Paso Robles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paso Robles Hotel Paso Robles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paso Robles Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.