We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent; Nothing More, Nothing Less” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1135 Twenty Fourth Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Decent; Nothing More, Nothing Less”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

I stayed at the Black Oak Motor Lodge while on business in Paso Robles. It served my needs, but was priced as if a continental breakfast were included. (It isn't.) The premises are old but kept in working order. Front desk staff was reasonably courteous but not particularly friendly. This is a popular inn since it's right at the 101/46 junction, so don't come here if you're seeking peace and quiet. It was crowded mid-week! I liked that the desk (and not the bed) was positioned near the window. Be forewarned that the bathroom is of the older, smaller variety. The adjacent Adelaide Inn looked just as nice as this place, so I'll probably give it a try next time since it's less expensive. If you are a tourist or passing through the area, don't waste your time here. Drive 25 minutes south and stay in San Luis Obispo instead.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    162
    38
    1
    5
See reviews for
96
170
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2006

Better than expected. Friendly front desk folks. Very Helpful. Room was nice. So was pool & hot tub. Good location for winery tours and just a few minutes from downtown. And for those who are into their Starbucks. There's a new one right next door. Good choice for a one or two night stay.

  • Liked — Clean. Easy access, and very friendly front desk people
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

We arrived on a blistering hot afternoon after a 4 hour ride from the Los Angeles airport. After a 6 hour plane ride from Pennsylvania I was very ready to get off my duff. The people at the front desk were pleasant, but not profusely friendly. More just efficient.
This is a pull in off the road motor lodge shaped in a U around the pool reception area. It is kept up in a nice manner. I wouldn't want to stay here for a long stay.
We were here only one night and that was just fine. It is not fancy by any means. We had a king size bed and paid $115 with our Triple A card. The room was a good size with a desk and chair, and even a queen anne easy chair in the room and it did not feel crowded. The bathroom was small, but clean. The air conditioner worked and what more can you ask.

The pool though not large was a decent size and had lots of chairs around it and table with umbrellas to sit at.

When you walk out of the hotel, there are restaurants on either side so you will not go hungry, though you might get sick from the grease.

The hotel was nice enough to provide us with a sheet giving us a general map of the area, and a list of restaurants and other shops of interest.

We were on the second floor and I think this might help, especially if you are sensitive to noise.
This hotel is about a 20 to 30 minute ride north of San Luis Obispo.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2006

Very clean & well appointed. A bit expensive considering location and no breakfast but a good overnight stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2006

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. We only stayed one night but enjoyed it. Room was large, clean and quiet. Convenient. Nice town. Friendly, helpful desk clerk. No continental breakfast however. All in all a great value.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2006

The good:

Location: This hotel is extremely convenient to Highway 101 and not that far from Highway 1 if you are traveling through California. It is not far to downtown and there are some good food and drink options nearby

Room: Nice bed, good TV, bathroom had all the stuff you'd want, plus there was a fridge and microwave if you wanted to feed yourself.

Speedy: Quick check in and quick check out make for a happy traveler

The bad:

Noise: All the of the rooms face out into the main car park. Unfortunately, they also have what I would call a louvre window (basically slatted) above the door and this type of window is not very soundproof. Thus, come early morning, when folks are leaving for meetings or to continue travels, it is hard not to be disturbed by the sounds of cars and motorbikes starting their engines.

Overall, this hotel was convenient for me, it was a reasonable price ($65 on corporate rate) and I'd stay here again. Only next time, I might bring my earplugs.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2005

I made a reservation at this motor inn for a one-night stayover mainly due to its location and the Best Western's reputation as a family-friendly place for people traveling with kids. With 4 adults and 2 kids traveling along, we stayed in a two-bedroom suite. Everyone loved the place so much! The rooms were very clean and well appointed with comfortable beds and other conveniences (sofa, recliner, microwave, refrigerator, etc). Kids loved the pool so much and never had enough of it. After we checked out and hit the road for an hour, my 6-yrs old daughter cried out since she had accidentally left the yellow-cat (her favorite toy) in the bed of the hotel. Not sure about the chance of success, I called the hotel and asked whether or not they could help us to find it and mail it to our LA home. The staff happily assisted me in locating the toy and mailed it back the same day!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak

Address: 1135 Twenty Fourth Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
#4 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Paso Robles, California hotel situated in the beautiful coastal valley of wine country! The Best Western Black Oak Motor Lodge is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions including over 200 nearby wineries, Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio, Hearst Castle and numerous local festivals. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in the historic downtown of Paso Robles.Each year, Best Western recognizes hotels that have provided superior experiences for our guests. Awards are given to properties that represent the highest levels of service, quality, value and commitment to the brand. BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak is proud to be the winner of Best Western's Champion in Customer Care award for the past three years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Black Oak Hotel Paso Robles
Best Western Paso Robles
Paso Robles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.