We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but a little noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1135 Twenty Fourth Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
San Francisco, CA, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Decent but a little noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2006

The good:

Location: This hotel is extremely convenient to Highway 101 and not that far from Highway 1 if you are traveling through California. It is not far to downtown and there are some good food and drink options nearby

Room: Nice bed, good TV, bathroom had all the stuff you'd want, plus there was a fridge and microwave if you wanted to feed yourself.

Speedy: Quick check in and quick check out make for a happy traveler

The bad:

Noise: All the of the rooms face out into the main car park. Unfortunately, they also have what I would call a louvre window (basically slatted) above the door and this type of window is not very soundproof. Thus, come early morning, when folks are leaving for meetings or to continue travels, it is hard not to be disturbed by the sounds of cars and motorbikes starting their engines.

Overall, this hotel was convenient for me, it was a reasonable price ($65 on corporate rate) and I'd stay here again. Only next time, I might bring my earplugs.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    162
    38
    1
    5
See reviews for
96
170
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2005

I made a reservation at this motor inn for a one-night stayover mainly due to its location and the Best Western's reputation as a family-friendly place for people traveling with kids. With 4 adults and 2 kids traveling along, we stayed in a two-bedroom suite. Everyone loved the place so much! The rooms were very clean and well appointed with comfortable beds and other conveniences (sofa, recliner, microwave, refrigerator, etc). Kids loved the pool so much and never had enough of it. After we checked out and hit the road for an hour, my 6-yrs old daughter cried out since she had accidentally left the yellow-cat (her favorite toy) in the bed of the hotel. Not sure about the chance of success, I called the hotel and asked whether or not they could help us to find it and mail it to our LA home. The staff happily assisted me in locating the toy and mailed it back the same day!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2005

This hotel was a nice surprise - from the friendly desk clerk to the well decorated, comfortable room. It was over 106 degrees, yet our room was cool and the air conditioner quiet. We also enjoyed the pool and spa along with the large, soft pool towels.
We walked next door to Big Bubba's Bad BBQ for dinner. The food was great and the atmosphere was alot of fun. It would be a great place to bring the kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, california
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2005

We stayed here on the way from northern to southern California and were impressed with the convenience, cleanliness and comfort (especially the beds!) of this motel. $100 per night seems a little pricy for this size town, but we would probably pay it again if we were only staying for one night. The diner adjacent was very good with great biscuits. We didn't get a chance to eat at the burger place next door but stopped there on our drive back and loved it (a nice change from fast food chains... full of character... not a good place to eat if you're in a hurry). Next time, we'll take time to swim in the pool. Great place for kids. I spoke to the staff on the phone a few times and they were easily accommodating of my special requests.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2005

Good location was the best part Close o the 101. Being from Canada and unfamiliar with the roads it was easy to find and had 4 restaurants close by which made less time for driving which is great for me. Room was average and the price reflected that 72US/day. NO complaints staff was friendly. rooms were a little noisy but keep in mind I am ultra sensitive to hotel noise so most people wouldn't notice. The pictures make it look much nicer than it is but it is still in good shape.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2005

Like the previous reviewer, we have stayed at the Best Western several times in the past couple of years. We attend horse shows in the Paso Robles area, and the Best Western is a great place to stay. It is newly refurbished, the rooms are well maintained, spacious, with nice amenities like refrigerators and high speed free access. And the price is truly a deal for the quality of the accomodations. Definitely consider this motel if you are going to be in this area.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2005

I've stayed there every spring for about 10 years; I have always been treated very well, the rooms are in good condition and comfortable, the motel is both handy and quiet, and the pool and spa are very enjoyable. I've tried every motel within miles of Paso Robles, and this one is my preference.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak

Address: 1135 Twenty Fourth Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
#4 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Paso Robles, California hotel situated in the beautiful coastal valley of wine country! The Best Western Black Oak Motor Lodge is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions including over 200 nearby wineries, Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio, Hearst Castle and numerous local festivals. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in the historic downtown of Paso Robles.Each year, Best Western recognizes hotels that have provided superior experiences for our guests. Awards are given to properties that represent the highest levels of service, quality, value and commitment to the brand. BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak is proud to be the winner of Best Western's Champion in Customer Care award for the past three years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Black Oak Hotel Paso Robles
Best Western Paso Robles
Paso Robles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.