We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for wine tasting in Paso” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1135 Twenty Fourth Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location for wine tasting in Paso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is a great place to stay if you are wine tasting in Paso. The amenities are nice, the rooms are clean and quiet, the parking is easy and the staff is nice and helpful. There is a shuttle that picks up next to the hotel for going to downtown Paso ($5 per person). Our group found this easier than looking for parking or waiting for a cab.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOMLBW, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We are so happy that your group enjoyed your stay. We work hard to provide a great experience even though we are not the newest game in town. I am glad we met your expectations.

I am also glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the Wine Wrangler's shuttle service available to our guests on Friday and Saturday nights. With all the great restaurants and activities downtown, parking can be tough and then everyone gets to enjoy themselves too.

We hope to see you in 2014. Happy holidays!
Angela McKee, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    163
    38
    1
    5
See reviews for
96
171
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed at the BW in Paso Robles recently. The service is excellent. Our room had a broken curtain and the staff immediately came up and assigned us to an upgraded room. We really like this Best Western. There are 3 levels of rooms available (standard, deluxe and deluxe with jet tub; and also a two-bedroom suite which is great for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

There's nothing significantly wrong with this Best Western except that in many ways it's like stepping back into the '70s. The rooms are small; the furnishings are, gently said, mismatched; and ambiance is reflected in the brown carpet, brown wallpaper, black lamp bases, etc. It's not a terrible place (although its rating as a "Plus" from Best Western guarantees that I'll book a BW Motel that doesn't have a Plus only in an emergency), it's just a step back in time farther than I care to go.

The internet connection is acceptable. The room was very clean and quiet despite the amount of traffic in the parking lot. The mattress was quite comfortable. The staff I dealt with was excellent. And the $5 coupon for breakfast at Margie's was most welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
previse
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The desk staff cheerfully repaired an error I made my reservation. They were friendly and helpful in every respect. The room was comfortable and convenient, with a large flat screen TV, an unusually comfortable bed, and state of the art locks – the most sophisticated I’ve seen. They have real coffee cups (not paper) and glass glasses; unusual for a motel in this price range.

Only two minor drawbacks.

Breakfast is not included. They provide $5.00 per person vouchers for the attached restaurant, which adds some expense and extra time to your morning routine.

They are located on a freeway off ramp. Getting in and out of the motel can be problematic in rush hour and the entrance is not well marked.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We try to make Paso our lunch stop on our trips north to visit family and have always wondered what the hotel was like. Now we know. Best night's sleep on our week long trip. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms, small, but clean. We'll stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a great nights sleep last night at the Black Oak! Our two queen bedded room was spotless, very comfortable, and nicely furnished. Very easy to get to off the 101, but situated so that you really don't get the noise from the freeway. Margie's Diner is attached to the motel, and your room comes with a $5 voucher for breakfast. Try the home made biscuits! There is also a row of other small restaurants to choose from just next door, if Margie's doesn't appeal to you. We will definitely stay here again on our way home!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

the be t western black rock is an excellent hotel and always my choice when in Paso Robles. The rooms are clean and very good internet service. The restaurant is a great value. The heated pool was fun to use. Close to main shopping and dining. Just a great place to stay in Paso Robles. I just can not believe my points were lost from previous stays through the past years stays

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak

Address: 1135 Twenty Fourth Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
#4 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Paso Robles, California hotel situated in the beautiful coastal valley of wine country! The Best Western Black Oak Motor Lodge is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions including over 200 nearby wineries, Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio, Hearst Castle and numerous local festivals. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in the historic downtown of Paso Robles.Each year, Best Western recognizes hotels that have provided superior experiences for our guests. Awards are given to properties that represent the highest levels of service, quality, value and commitment to the brand. BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak is proud to be the winner of Best Western's Champion in Customer Care award for the past three years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Black Oak Hotel Paso Robles
Best Western Paso Robles
Paso Robles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.