We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than last time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1135 Twenty Fourth Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
SanJose
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Better than last time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I seems they have made some improvements in the rooms and facility in general since our last stay. The staff was very good and we used our $10 voucher for breakfast at Margie's dinner located on the facility. The breakfast by the way is huge. The rooms are quiet and away from any street noise. Very good stay all in all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    183
    43
    1
    5
See reviews for
106
189
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stopped for a night on the way back from Sonoma. Great place to stay. Beds were comfortable. Front desk personnel were friendly. It would have been nice to have an elevator since we were on the second floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a a ground floor room if you don't wish to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A very solid, basic motel, but a perfect place for a one or two night stay. The room was average sized but impeccably cleaned - not so much as a fingerprint or errant hair in sight. Very well maintained.

The hotel diner was surprisingly great and practically free- guests get 10 dollars off per meal. The portions are ENORMOUS. My omelette was roughly the size of a 2 week old infant. But it's perfect for nursing a wine hangover.

It was close to town, though not quiet walking distance. Nothing fancy, but this place is a great choice for a good night's sleep at a comparatively good price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, Usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was very impressed. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was super clean and very well appointed. They had everything we needed for the night. I will definitely be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've been staying at the Black Oak on and off since 1979, most recently twelve Memorial Day weekends in a row. The price has been going up consistently over the past few years and the quality has remained the same. After Best Western's revamping of their classification system we've noticed a downturn in Best Western's offerings. We had problems at BW's in Niagara Falls, Flagstaff, Tucson, San Diego, and Escondido over the past five years, to the point where we are now avoiding them. Paso Robles' Black Oak, Bishop's BW, and Edmonton's BW have been the exception, offering great accommodations in the past.
This trip to the Black Oak wasn't up to prior standards. We were assigned a higher priced room this time. It was much roomier. When we entered we could tell something was off. I went into the bathroom and it had not been serviced. The toilet, shower, and sink were obviously not cleaned. There was trash about the room and the trash cans had not been emptied. A call to the front desk yielded immediate response and we had to wait outside while a crew went over our room in a ten-minute frenzy. We began to unpack when my wife noticed something on the carpeting in front of an easy chair. There were dirty toe nail clippings on the carpet. This time we grabbed a maid nearby and she came with a vacuum cleaner to clean it up.
Needless to say, we scouted other nearby establishments and will probably book elsewhere next year.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty well soundproofed, but elephant-footed patrons in upstairs rooms can be annoying if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOMLBW, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and for being a repeat guest of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak . I know that you have stayed here for many Memorial Days in my 25 years here. I am so sorry for the items you incurred. The room was mistakenly showing clean and you were assigned keys. We would never purposely send a guest to an unclean room, and I do apologize for our interdepartmental miss communications.
Paso Robles has definitely changed since the early years of the rally and hotel rates fluctuate based on supply and demand. We still feel we offer one of the best values of the chain hotels in the area, despite our miscue for you this stay.
I will also pass your comments regarding your recent Best Western experiences to headquarters. We can only improve when we know our faults. Thank you again, and we do hope you might give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We were happy to find a place that allowed us to only stay one night on a holiday weekend. We were pleasantly surprised with the room quality and the pool area. Everything was nice, clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth,CA.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I booked this location for a surprise wine tasting weekend for my husbands birthday. I had signed up for the rewards membership (free) when I booked the room via the Best Western website and when checking in provided this. Not sure if this affected what room we got (should have asked) but we ended up getting a really nice upper level room (311) which was surprisingly large. Our room was much nicer then the room of our friends who were on the lower level in the 200's. Great big king bed, couch, recliner, small bar w/ microwave, shower w/ big tub and nice water pressure. Their pool is open until 10pm and is heated. The pool was great after a long day of wine tasting in the hot sun! We had forgotten our toothpaste and the front desk had toiletries at the front desk for no charge . I've paid a lot more at much fancier places who would just direct me to the store to buy what ever we forgot, so I thought this was a really nice touch. There is a dinner on the premesis which is were we ate breakfast and we were very pleased w/ the food and the staff. Plus the front desk gave each a great $10 off per person coupons to use at the diner for breakfast (score!).

Room Tip: Upper lever all the way and the 300's away from the entrance would be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak

Address: 1135 Twenty Fourth Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Paso Robles
#4 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
#4 Business Hotel in Paso Robles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Paso Robles, California hotel situated in the beautiful coastal valley of wine country! The BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak is conveniently located with easy access to key area attractions including over 220 nearby wineries, Lake Nacimiento and Lake San Antonio, Hearst Castle and numerous local festivals. Hotel guests will appreciate the variety of nearby dining and shopping options in the historic downtown of Paso Robles. Newly added in late 2014 a centrally located elevator allowing easy access to the second floor. A fitness room with state of the art equipment including personal fitness station and a multi-purpose room for small meetings or gatherings round out recent upgrades all set in a beautifully landscaped setting with additional seating options to enjoy Paso Robles' mild weather. Our staff continues to receive accolades for service and cleanliness standards. We hope you will come see for yourself our amazing 53 year young property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Black Oak Hotel Paso Robles
Best Western Paso Robles
Paso Robles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.