We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Cheval to your Saves list
Hotel Cheval
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“convenient luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Location can't be beat, right off the town square--walk to restaurants and shops. Comfortable beds, showers were uncontrollably,uncomfortably hot--no worry about a cold shower.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    36
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
156
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Very luxurious and comfortable. Attentive staff. Very nice interior courtyard for relaxing and drinking vino. Continental breakfast delivered to your room. Easy walk to everything, except the vineyards of course, which you have to drive or be driven to.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Just came back from a week's stay at Hotel Cheval. This is a small boutique hotel. Very charming. The way the rooms are built around the courtyard makes it feel as though you were in a small European town. In the courtyard are planters of small trees and flowers as well as plenty of little alcoves to sit in. There are two fireplaces with chairs around them. The fires are always lit in the evenings. A nice place to have a glass of wine or an after dinner drink.
Our room "Feathers" was nicely located just above one of the fireplaces with our windows , on two sides, facing the courtyard. The room was not big but not tight either.
The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. The bathroom was a good size, with a shower for two and lots of space on the counter around the sink. Good toiletries .
There were two bathrobes to use as well as good quality towels in abundance. Also in the room there was an armoire, large enough to unpack all of your things. There was also a window seat with a small table. There was a coffee maker, wine glasses, ice bucket and everyday they left 2 bottles of water. The only thing I found the room was missing was a small refrigerator.
Breakfast on the weekends (Saturday & Sunday) was served in the Pony Room. It was buffet style and had something warm, either quiches, scrambled eggs and bacon, quesadilla's, etc. There was also fresh fruit, pastries, cereal and yogurt. Also bread to toast. Coffee and orange juice. It was very good and substantial. During the week they delivered to your door a bowl of fruit and either a muffin or pastry. I found this breakfast a little chintzy for the money you pay . For me that would be the only weak point for this hotel. They could use the Pony Room everyday and it would be a lot more comfortable for people to sit and have breakfast. The Pony Room was a bar in the late afternoon into the evening with entertainment.
There was ample parking, either on the hotel property or on the street. We slept with the window open and were woken up one evening by noise from the street cleaners. Otherwise the hotel was not noisy and everything shuts down at 10 pm. They lock the doors and you have to use a key to get in if you happen to be out later than that.
The staff were accommodating and helpful with requests for information or directions.
In all , it was a very pleasant stay and would recommend this charming little hotel to anyone and would certainly revisit it myself.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

One often wonders if the pictures they see on a hotel/inn website will be true to form, and this lovely inn was well depicted on their website. Once within the courtyard of the inn, one feels as if they are transported to a different place and time in Europe. The accommodations are beautiful and luxurious. We were upgraded to the Lexington room which was beautifully decorated and had a lovely tree in front of the big balcony window that added a calmness to the room. The room was small, but not tight. The bathroom had a simple elegance that I wish I could duplicate in my own home. There was a generous supply of bath products, and a lovely jar of bath salts to use in the soaking tub. The best part of the room was how the bed, fireplace, and tv was positioned to each other. It was the perfect place to relax in a comfy bed in front of a large flat screen tv and warmed by a fireplace. The chocolates left during turn down service was also very delicious. The courtyard is beautiful with many lovely tucked away spots to sit outdoors on both levels of this inn. You can sit by one of two fireplaces, infront of water features, or in seating areas near your room. This was a plus, as there was no place for two people to sit and enjoy the complimentary breakfast in the king room we had or nibble on cheese and wine in our room. Maureen at the desk was such a sweetheart! She really took care of us and made us feel very welcome like family. My only criticism is at this price point, the food seemed minimal compared to other fine inns that we have been to. The food is delievered to your room. Two welcome cookies, one bowl of fruit, and two fancy pastries for two people. It seemed so chintzy when they did everything else well! Since it was difficult to eat in our king room (only one chair and no tables), it makes more sense to allow people to help themselves to an expanded continental breakfast in the Pony Club and take their meal out to the courtyard table areas. Just a thought! All in all, we had a lovely, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden Valley, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

This was to be a treat for us to stay at the lovely hotel. The staff was great and gave us a wonderful upgrade and the room was beautiful. The staff knew we were tired and had driven 7 hours to get to the hotel and had a long drive the next morning. Why would they give us the noisiest room in the hotel. The staff start vaccuuming at 3:45 in the morning, the street cleaners come at 4 in the morning (that's right they gave us a room in the front of the hotel) then at 4:15 IN THE MORNING the train comes through and then about 5 they start dropping things on the floor in the lobby which is right below your room. It is nice they give you a "How did you like your stay" form, but unfortunately they must not care, because no one contacted us to ask why we didn't enjoy our stay. For the price they had better get some sound proofing.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Beautiful hotel. A lovely Cabernet in front of a roaring fire on the private patio. Felt like we were the only people in the world. Quiet and romantic. Serene. A wonderful, relaxing, lovely retreat.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

My husband and I were travelling North on PCH Route One and being wine lovers, decided to visit the wine region of Paso Robles. Oh my word, how we're glad we did. Not only is this divine little town a gorgeous detour full of charm and beauty, the hotel we decided to stay in was pure bliss - The Cheval. No expense has been spared to make the guest feel super special. It was our anniversary and our room was so fabulous we almost didn't want to leave...fireplace, roomy bathroom, luxurious Temple Spa toiletries, champagne on ice, home-made chocolates and so on. The staff are amazing and on hand to make your visit a total treat. We ended our evening stroll with drinks on the front porch to the sound of the live guitarist and then sank into probably the best bed we've ever slept in. We cannot recommend this wonderful hotel highly enough and will definitely visit again. Liz - England

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#8 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cheval 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cheval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.