We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - I want to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cheval

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cheval
Save
You added Hotel Cheval to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
278 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Outstanding - I want to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We spent two nights at Hotel Cheval, and enjoyed it so much I wished it was longer. This place has a very upscale California rustic vibe, with comfortable rooms clustered around a lovely courtyard that features a soothing waterfall and two large wood burning fireplaces. It's a delightful place to sit in the evening, and I highly recommend the s'mores. I think they primarily do them a couple nights a week (Sunday & Thursday?) but on request they will give you the materials to make your own. They also have big furry blankets for chilly evenings, and there is a library at one end of the courtyard which I assume gets more use in bad weather, with its own fireplace and some games.

The rooms are well-appointed and spacious, with very comfy beds, complimentary water bottles and chocolates for the evening turn-down service. The Pony Club onsite is open for drinks in the evening, and serves the included breakfast every morning. Weekday breakfast is more limited, but still adequate - fresh fruit and juices, muffins, a pastry, English muffins, bagels, cream cheese, lox and capers, hard boiled eggs, and cereals.

Service was gracious and attentive to detail. They are happy to help with recommendations, directions, reservations...and when I asked if they sold postage stamps, they instead just gave me one. Overall, a first class experience, and I look forward to returning.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. I am glad that you got to experience our courtyard and wood burning fireplaces. Although we are located in sunny California, there is sometimes a need for an extra layer in the evening so the furry blankets are in demand! The S'mores certainly are a hit. We serve them Thursday through Sunday and during the week if we have a special request!
Please do come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    38
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
167
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here in May for three nights. They really do such a nice job. Very cozy courtyard and outdoor patio. Very friendly staff.

We did the wine tour with Jessica. She was so easy-going and laid back, but very informative. It was fun to see "off the beaten path" wineries. Such a great sense of community at all of them in Paso....

My only complaint about this hotel is that some of the rooms, although quaint, are on the small side. Most do not have soaking tubs. And I did not like the bathroom doors - two 1/2 doors on each side that swing close, leaving a small crack down the middle. I love my husband but like a little more privacy than that. There was also no separate toilet room...for those who care about that.

In all, this is the only place to stay in Paso. I especially appreciated that it was tucked down a quiet side street, vs. on a busy road, as many of them are. We also enjoyed the easy walking distance to the main square/park and restaurants.

Room Tip: Our room was over the bar's outdoor patio, which can be used by the public. With windows open w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your private wine tour with Jessica, our certified sommelier.
I have passed on your comments, with regard to the crack between the doors, to our maintenance manager. We will see if we can improve that situation.
I hope that you will stay with us again next time you are wine tasting in Paso!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was our second visit to the Cheval and true to our previous experience, the staff was very accommodating and friendly. Our room was so comfortable, it was almost impossible to leave but the vineyards were calling. In the evening the place to hangout is in the courtyard. So beautiful with multiple fireplaces plenty of seating areas and if your patient you can be treated to smores. Made while your sipping on a glass of wine or whatever. This place should be on everyones bucket list!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! I am so glad you had such a relaxing stay with us. Please come back and see us again, even though Hotel Cheval has been ticked off your bucket list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Absolutely amazing hotel. Great location in the heart of downtown Paso Robles! Great service and beautiful rooms. Courtyard is wonderful-- Amazing place to spend outside evenings by the fire. Staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend for anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I hope you had a chance to enjoy our S'mores butler, while relaxing "fireside"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

You will fall in love just on curb appeal at this amazing gem in downtown Paso. The rooms are lovely and each one different,,very comfy beds and our own private patio. There is the most amazing bar with romantic outside seating among the trees with twinkling lights. The interior courtyard has several sitting areas with fireplaces to enjoy a glass a wine and the cool Paso evening air. The library is not to be missed with a fireplace and beautiful decor. Right off the main square it is the perfect location to walk to dinner, see a movie or get a gelato at the candy store around the corner. We had to make reservations well in advance but it was so worth it!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are different so be sure to ask if you want a private patio,fireplace,etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for the positive comments. I am so glad you had such a great stay with us. We have had many comments about our comfortable beds! In fact, we now have an information sheet available at the front desk, as many of our guests inquire about purchasing them! Please do come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

If you want an amazing hotel with European atmosphere, accomodating staff, close to restaurants and shopping then you must stay at Hotel Cheval in Paso Robles. Our room ( the Hanover )was perfect, with beamed ceilings, a private patio, a super comfy bed, well designed luxurious bathroom and a comfortable sitting area. Add to this an amazing buffet breakfast, beautiful central courtyard where you can sit with a coffee and the newspaper, enjoy breakfast, chat with other guests, or enjoy a quiet cozy, romantic snuggle by one of the two fireplaces that are lit in the evening. Everywhere you look there has been great attention to detail. Wine is served in the evening!We felt pampered and relaxed and thrilled to find Hotel Cheval! We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so very much for your glowing review! Everyone on staff is always incredibly proud to receive such positive feedback. During your evenings by the fire I hope you were able to sample a few delights from our S‘mores butler. If not, then that should be a good enough reason to come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were looking for a place to celebrate birthday/anniversary, and the calm before the storm in meeting with our 4 adorable g.kids for easter in Paso Robles. This one night getaway stay in Hotel Cheval was perfect. The setting is wonderfully european and very classy, the room we had was large, with fireplace and high ceilings, and the entry courtyard with multiple fireplaces invited you to sit and relax the night away with a glass/(or should I say, bottle) of wine. The hotel is small and intimate, the staff greeting us upon arrival was gracious, humurous and set the tone for a great stay. The bar is perfect inside and out - and although they don't serve full menu/meals, their small plates are just right for an early evening/late evening snack. Situated just off the main of the PR square - we wandered around the quaint town and even took in a movie. The frosting on the cake: Staff remembered it was anniversary and had a chilled bottle of champagne awaiting our arrival. I wanted to keep this secret getaway to self so wouldn't get overbooked - but really can't be that selfish - the owners deserve a great review and many bookings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Cinderella,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and in such a positive light! We are happy to have been part of such a successful Easter trip. Every member of staff works hard to make each stay special and it is a wonderful reward to hear from such satisfied guests. I hope we can welcome you back again next year to help celebrate your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
3.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Paso Robles
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
#6 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#6 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cheval 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cheval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.