We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hate sharing this great secret as want to keep for self, but hotel/owners need to be applauded” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Cheval to your Saves list
Hotel Cheval
1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I hate sharing this great secret as want to keep for self, but hotel/owners need to be applauded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were looking for a place to celebrate birthday/anniversary, and the calm before the storm in meeting with our 4 adorable g.kids for easter in Paso Robles. This one night getaway stay in Hotel Cheval was perfect. The setting is wonderfully european and very classy, the room we had was large, with fireplace and high ceilings, and the entry courtyard with multiple fireplaces invited you to sit and relax the night away with a glass/(or should I say, bottle) of wine. The hotel is small and intimate, the staff greeting us upon arrival was gracious, humurous and set the tone for a great stay. The bar is perfect inside and out - and although they don't serve full menu/meals, their small plates are just right for an early evening/late evening snack. Situated just off the main of the PR square - we wandered around the quaint town and even took in a movie. The frosting on the cake: Staff remembered it was anniversary and had a chilled bottle of champagne awaiting our arrival. I wanted to keep this secret getaway to self so wouldn't get overbooked - but really can't be that selfish - the owners deserve a great review and many bookings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Cinderella,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and in such a positive light! We are happy to have been part of such a successful Easter trip. Every member of staff works hard to make each stay special and it is a wonderful reward to hear from such satisfied guests. I hope we can welcome you back again next year to help celebrate your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    30
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
144
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed in Hotel Cheval this past weekend. Overall, very satisfied, the room was plush, a very comfortable bed, great buffet breakfast, wonderful stylish courtyard to relax in and staff who definitely warmed up during our stay. Would certainly stay in Hotel Cheval next time. Only a few tips for the hotel, one the swing doors into the bathroom squeak which is not ideal in the middle of night, a small discreet refrigerator and a safe for the room would be nice additions if can be done without impacting hotel style, and the ability to serve cocktails in the Pony Club would be good - after all, when finished tasting wine in tasting rooms all day, the last thing needed before dinner is another glass of wine. However, not to take away from a a wonderful hotel, we absolutely loved our stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are the place to be so as not to be disturbed by any inner courtyard noise - not that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review.
Thank you for your comment with regard to the squeaky bathroom door. I passed this on to our maintenance manager and the problem has been rectified.
We have recently made some changes to our breakfast menu and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the additions. Small refrigerators are available on request; perhaps next time you stay with us we can make sure you have one in your room. I am sorry that you were not made aware of this prior to your stay.
Thank you so much, we are continually striving to improve our services and it is very rewarding to receive positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Very quaint and charming. Great location being able to walk to restaurants in town. The room was comfortable and clean. Hard to add to what other comments have been made about Cheval. We were in the Starling room, upstairs in the back. Pretty good location (except for the fact a wedding party was staying at the hotel and returned to their rooms at 3am after the reception....not the hotels fault for the noise though)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are currently upgrading certain soft furnishings in our rooms and appreciate your comment that you found your room clean and comfortable. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed in a fireplace hot tub suite. It was fantastic! The beds were cozy, the bar service nice, and breakfast was delicious. Some lounge music would have been nice to wind down to after a long day of wine tasting.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheval1021, General Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed The Pony Club. Please come back and see us next time you are visiting Paso Robles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Hotel Cheval had been highly rated and suggested time and again by friends as the perfect place to stay in Paso. Centrally located less than a block away from the large square park in the center of downtown, City Park, and walking distance to restaurants, bars, candy stores, shopping, a movie theater, cookie shop, wine bars…Hotel Cheval is a quaint romantic hotel that boasts more amenities than most.

Hotel Cheval patio seatingAfter checking in at the beautifully furnished lobby and checking out their signature jewelry and warm cookies we were handed a real door key. In our “Classic Room” we found thirsty robes, an electric fireplace, a private patio with a fountain, bottled water for the coffee maker and nightly turn-down service.

Outside in the courtyard there were numerous comfy corners to read/drink/chat by a couple of outdoor fireplaces. In the morning the complimentary breakfast in the adjoining Pony club had so many choices – bagels, deli meats, cheeses, cereals, breads, muffins, fresh fruit salad, juice, coffee, etc. – there was no need to go out for breakfast. We also enjoyed checking out the library, spa, and…solicitous bartender Bradford Thompson-Young in the Pony Club.

The hotel is dog friendly, as is the Pony Club bar, but check the rules first. Happy hour in the bar goes from 5 until 7 p.m. with all wines by the glass for $7 – no matter if it’s the most expensive wine by the glass on the list (yes, I ordered it). We met some fun people in the bar and enjoyed more people-watching on the patio on Pine.

All in all I thought the hotel a great option for romantic couples, and for those that really don’t want to drive after dining. We enjoyed our stroll to and from our hotel so much that we did it multiple times.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you made the most of our amenities and that enjoyed your room so much. Our guests really do take pleasure in the fact that the hotel is within walking distance of some great shopping and dining. As you point out, it is an enjoyable stroll.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A recent wine tour to Paso Robles brought us to the incomparable Hotel Cheval. A small boutique -type hotel in the center of Paso, this hotel has everything anyone could want in a hotel. The theme throughout is equestrian, and the horse theme lent itself to the setting perfectly. We had an upstairs room with a fireplace, delightful bed and bedding, huge bath, and the most luxurious towels I have used in a long time. I was surprised at how quiet it was in our room since we were on a main road, and there is a busy courtyard downstairs. Our group of 12 stayed here together, and we all enjoyed the wonderful breakfast served- to- order before we set out for a day of wine tasting. Upon returning at the end of a wonderful day, we all sat out by the numerous fire pits and shared our day with each other while enjoying freshly made s'mores! Unfortunately, our stay ended to soon, but plans to return are in the making already! I just kept thinking," this feels like a Four Seasons or Ritz, only more charming and quaint."

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind and positive review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is certainly a wonderful compliment to be compared to The Four Seasons hotel. I see that you are already planning your next trip to Hotel Cheval, we look forward to welcoming your group back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

You will not be sorry if you select Hotel Cheval with the expectation of superior service and accommodations. This special boutique hotel brings exception in every way with two team members that go above and beyond, Rob and Nam. They immediately made my wife and I feel welcome along with our Jack Russell, Holly. We were pampered with Gourmet S'mores compliments of Nam as well as Dog Biscuits and special arrangements from Rob. There were a variety of private conversation areas complete with their own fireplaces for our enjoyment. What a great place to return after a full day in the Paso Robles countryside.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelcheval1021, Manager at Hotel Cheval, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. Rob and Nam are indeed very special employees; they take great pride in going above and beyond for our guests.
Our canine guests are equally important to us and we hope that Holly's stay was just as enjoyable as yours!
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#8 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cheval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.