We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel with character!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cheval

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cheval to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cheval
1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel with character!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here as part of a celebration of my husbands birthday. This hotel is beautifully appointed. The staff was considerate and friendly. A fridge doesn't come with the room, but they brought us one. The included breakfast is over the top for a hotel continental breakfast. They had smoked salmon, hard cooked eggs, fresh berries, European style yogurt, local baked goods, cream cheese, etc, etc, etc. They have a nightly happy hour with $7.00 wines from local wineries. The placed was decked out with beautiful seasonal decor and there are lots of nooks and crannies to explore. We were in Kingston and had a private patio. Its pricey, but worth it for a special celebration.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and it is a two story property. We stayed in Kingston on the second floor in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    28
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
137
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I drove down the Pacific Coast Highway and spent two nights at the Hotel Cheval. What a great hotel! We had a beautiful room with a large balcony. Since it is a downtown hotel the opportunity for a view is limited, but the space is great. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, lots of support but soft.

Unfortunately the room did not have a refrigerator. I asked about the lack of a fridge and was told one could be delivered, but it was not placed in the room. No worries, the town is so delightful it was hard to enjoy the room. The room also does not have a room safe, as a business traveler I am used to being able secure everything, but it was all fine.

We did a wine tour with the sommelier, Jessica. It was fabulous. She took us to great wineries and added commentary about the grapes, area, tastings, etc. it was worth every penny. We have done private tours in Napa, Sonoma, and Santa Cruz. This was the best!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I wish that I could take Hotel Cheval with me everywhere my husband and I travel. The room was spacious, the bed was so comfortable and the grounds were just beautiful. I only missed a swimming pool. It would have been nice to relax by the pool on a hot, sunny afternoon. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great small hotel with a great location on Paso's "restaurant row". However, the prices are Way out of line for Paso Robles IMO. While this was a very enjoyable hotel experience, the magnitude of the price discrepancy had led me to expect even more than the property delivered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in May, and we found it very comfortable and well-appointed. The rooms and public areas are attractive and well-maintained, and the staff is helpful. The bathroom was spacious, with an excellent shower. The central downtown location is perfect for anything in and around Paso Robles.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We go up to Paso Robles several times a year, and decided this month we would try staying at a different place. I can't tell you how impressed we were with everything about this hotel - from the staff, the wonderful room with it's own little patio, the gorgeous inner courtyard with 2 large fireplaces to enjoy in the evening, the bar that had a delicious free breakfast Sunday morning. The charm and character of this place has won us over - my husband and I will be staying here from now on. Great location - feel you're in your own little world while at the hotel, but within walking distance to all the shops & restaurants in downtown Paso Robles.

Room Tip: They had no fitness center and no restaurant, but the cozy bar w/ patio serves an awesome breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

As part of our drive from San Francisco to LA, we stayed here for one night for our wine-tasting in Paso Robles. The hotel is beautiful with faultless service. We were sad not to have stayed here longer as the grounds are beautiful, the rooms amazing and so many delightful restaurants closeby. If you are thinking of staying in Paso Robles or wondering where to do your wine-tasting in wine country, this is the place to stay. Thank you to everybody at hotel Cheval, especially Judy, for a wonderful experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#9 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cheval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.