We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice. But worth the price?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cheval

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cheval to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cheval
1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Puget Sound
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice. But worth the price?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great small hotel with a great location on Paso's "restaurant row". However, the prices are Way out of line for Paso Robles IMO. While this was a very enjoyable hotel experience, the magnitude of the price discrepancy had led me to expect even more than the property delivered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    28
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
10
137
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in May, and we found it very comfortable and well-appointed. The rooms and public areas are attractive and well-maintained, and the staff is helpful. The bathroom was spacious, with an excellent shower. The central downtown location is perfect for anything in and around Paso Robles.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We go up to Paso Robles several times a year, and decided this month we would try staying at a different place. I can't tell you how impressed we were with everything about this hotel - from the staff, the wonderful room with it's own little patio, the gorgeous inner courtyard with 2 large fireplaces to enjoy in the evening, the bar that had a delicious free breakfast Sunday morning. The charm and character of this place has won us over - my husband and I will be staying here from now on. Great location - feel you're in your own little world while at the hotel, but within walking distance to all the shops & restaurants in downtown Paso Robles.

Room Tip: They had no fitness center and no restaurant, but the cozy bar w/ patio serves an awesome breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

As part of our drive from San Francisco to LA, we stayed here for one night for our wine-tasting in Paso Robles. The hotel is beautiful with faultless service. We were sad not to have stayed here longer as the grounds are beautiful, the rooms amazing and so many delightful restaurants closeby. If you are thinking of staying in Paso Robles or wondering where to do your wine-tasting in wine country, this is the place to stay. Thank you to everybody at hotel Cheval, especially Judy, for a wonderful experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went to Paso Robles to celebrate our 36th anniversary. We love the wine area and like to go back annually to wine and dine. The B&B we normally stay in was under-going renovations, so we looked on TripAdvisor and found Hotel Cheval. We are smitten!
I won't reiterate what every one else has said about this wonderful little gem of a boutique hotel. I will say that we loved the atmosphere, from the outdoor fireplaces in the evening, to the peaceful patio breakfasts in the morning. (The "Fromage Blanc" is not quite the yogurt Americans expect, and not quite soft cheese. I had it on my bagel with lox and it was delicious.)
The reception service is thoughtful and friendly. They surprised us with a bottle of champagne to help us celebrate!

We've stayed in boutique hotels all over the world, and Hotel Cheval in Paso is definitely in our Top 5 all time favorites. The little things count.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st simons island, ga
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for the 2nd time. The rooms are not opulent or huge but perfectly appointed. Great bed and linens. Free water.

First stay our room was downstairs and had a small patio. This time room was up and I think larger. It also has vaulted ceilings. No patio but a small sitting area outside on Same level literally 15 steps from room.

Wonderful continental breakfast with omelet a prepared. Fresh breads, smoked salmon, cereals, fruit. Eat inside or at lively outdoor space. This doubles as a public bar/ restaurant as well as hotel bar. Great small plates at happy hour

Hotel is built around a meandering pretty stone courtyard with stonw fireplaces that are lir on cool evenings. Wrap yourself in a cozy blanket (provided) and pull up a chair. Quite romantic!!

Hotel has equestrian theme (cheval) but it is subtle. We are not horse people and we didn't feel it was too much.

Location is right near square an close to restaurants. Ez access to 101 and 46.

Love the quiet calm boutique atmosphere here. A favorite.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stay at a lot of nice hotels. This is a very nice boutique hotel located in the quaint town of Paso Robles. It is a little over priced in my humble opinion but there are some nice things about this place. One is your are located one block from the town square. What does that mean? Nice restaurants, coffee shops and shops within walking distance. Hotel Cheval does not have a restaurant or room service. They do have a continental breakfast served every morning in the Pony Room. If you are visiting wineries, the hotel will ship your wine for you.

We stayed in the Chester room. It was a little small for the price and the french doors that opened to a small balcony faced the alley where the dumpsters are kept. Didn't really bother us too much. It has a gas fireplace. The best feature of this hotel is all the little sitting areas they have in the courtyard. There are a couple of wood burning fireplaces that make it smell awesome, there are comfortable chairs and couches to sit on. It is very quiet and peaceful. They also have a nice looking library that I didn't get a chance to check out.

Last thing I would say is this is really more of a couples retreat. There is no pool for the kids and it is very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#9 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cheval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.