We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, once in a lifetime experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cheval

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Cheval to your Saves list
Hotel Cheval
1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

As part of our drive from San Francisco to LA, we stayed here for one night for our wine-tasting in Paso Robles. The hotel is beautiful with faultless service. We were sad not to have stayed here longer as the grounds are beautiful, the rooms amazing and so many delightful restaurants closeby. If you are thinking of staying in Paso Robles or wondering where to do your wine-tasting in wine country, this is the place to stay. Thank you to everybody at hotel Cheval, especially Judy, for a wonderful experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    30
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
12
144
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went to Paso Robles to celebrate our 36th anniversary. We love the wine area and like to go back annually to wine and dine. The B&B we normally stay in was under-going renovations, so we looked on TripAdvisor and found Hotel Cheval. We are smitten!
I won't reiterate what every one else has said about this wonderful little gem of a boutique hotel. I will say that we loved the atmosphere, from the outdoor fireplaces in the evening, to the peaceful patio breakfasts in the morning. (The "Fromage Blanc" is not quite the yogurt Americans expect, and not quite soft cheese. I had it on my bagel with lox and it was delicious.)
The reception service is thoughtful and friendly. They surprised us with a bottle of champagne to help us celebrate!

We've stayed in boutique hotels all over the world, and Hotel Cheval in Paso is definitely in our Top 5 all time favorites. The little things count.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st simons island, ga
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for the 2nd time. The rooms are not opulent or huge but perfectly appointed. Great bed and linens. Free water.

First stay our room was downstairs and had a small patio. This time room was up and I think larger. It also has vaulted ceilings. No patio but a small sitting area outside on Same level literally 15 steps from room.

Wonderful continental breakfast with omelet a prepared. Fresh breads, smoked salmon, cereals, fruit. Eat inside or at lively outdoor space. This doubles as a public bar/ restaurant as well as hotel bar. Great small plates at happy hour

Hotel is built around a meandering pretty stone courtyard with stonw fireplaces that are lir on cool evenings. Wrap yourself in a cozy blanket (provided) and pull up a chair. Quite romantic!!

Hotel has equestrian theme (cheval) but it is subtle. We are not horse people and we didn't feel it was too much.

Location is right near square an close to restaurants. Ez access to 101 and 46.

Love the quiet calm boutique atmosphere here. A favorite.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stay at a lot of nice hotels. This is a very nice boutique hotel located in the quaint town of Paso Robles. It is a little over priced in my humble opinion but there are some nice things about this place. One is your are located one block from the town square. What does that mean? Nice restaurants, coffee shops and shops within walking distance. Hotel Cheval does not have a restaurant or room service. They do have a continental breakfast served every morning in the Pony Room. If you are visiting wineries, the hotel will ship your wine for you.

We stayed in the Chester room. It was a little small for the price and the french doors that opened to a small balcony faced the alley where the dumpsters are kept. Didn't really bother us too much. It has a gas fireplace. The best feature of this hotel is all the little sitting areas they have in the courtyard. There are a couple of wood burning fireplaces that make it smell awesome, there are comfortable chairs and couches to sit on. It is very quiet and peaceful. They also have a nice looking library that I didn't get a chance to check out.

Last thing I would say is this is really more of a couples retreat. There is no pool for the kids and it is very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is lovely, great rooms and ambiance however, the first floor room was so noisy with stairs on both sides with people going up and down until midnight. You would think with all the money spent on upscale furnishings they would have worked on noise abatement.

Room Tip: ask for upstairs and not by the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this magnificent place on our way to Carmel. A small, boutique place (16 rooms) with incredible rooms and service second to none. Great location (just off the square in Paso) with a wonderful little bar attached. They have beautiful outdoor fireplaces where guests gather at night. One of the staff is there in the evening to make custom ordered s'mores for guests. There are certainly more economical places to stay in Paso but there are none better than Cheval.
Oh, almost forget the best part......they are VERY dog friendly.
This place will now be our "go to" stop in Paso and next time we'll be sure to bring our golden retriever.
BTW, if you get a chance make sure you say hi to Nam. Besides making great smores he will be sure to make your stay a special occasion,

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Paso Robles is a fantastic up-and-coming Cali wine region, and our stay at the Hotel Cheval made it even more memorable.

Ideal location in town. In the evening you can walk over to the town park for the farmer's market, where we liked to pick up ripe figs unlike any you can find on the East Coast. All of the wine shops and restaurants were also within walking distance.

Traditional California decor, with upscale touches. We were lucky enough to score a luxury room. Spacious, clean, high ceilings, and incredibly comfortable beds and linens. The staff was friendly and accommodated our growing stack of wine bottles quite well!

We recommend that anyone visiting Paso wine country should stay at the Hotel Cheval. We can't wait to return someday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#8 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Cheval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cheval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.