We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem located in beautiful vine country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cheval

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cheval
Save
You added Hotel Cheval to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A true gem located in beautiful vine country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful boutique hotel offers great value for money despite being in the higher price range. Perfectly located within the small town of Paso Robles, you will encounter beautifully set rooms and amenities of a 5* hotel. You will find signs and gestures of great hospitality where ever you look. While checking out I asked about the Jazz CD that the hotel provides for in each room to enjoy relaxing music during your stay, upon which the hotel manager had someone fetch the CD from my room and handed it over to me as a beautiful souvenir.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    37
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
162
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I first stumbled upon this dog friendly, beautful boutique hotel in 2009 and continue to return every year for our annual Paso wine tasting trip! With superb service and spacious, pristene, romantic, beautifully decorated rooms, we feel showered in understated luxury. I typically shed a tear or two when we have to leave. A gas fireplace is in each room along with an attached outdoor patio (not all patios are completely private). In the evenings, Cheval serves up smores while we relax in the outdoor common area next to a wood fire with our merlot and toy poodle. Cheval has a wine/beer bar called the Pony Club but no restaurant which is not a problem as its downtown Paso location, within a block or two of several great restaurants presents us with an opportunity to try different places and walk off our wine and cheese. It's about a 5 minute drive from the 46E and 46W wine trails. Small hotel so book early.

Room Tip: Located downstairs- Room Endsleigh has a private enclosed patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

What an amazing hotel! The owners did not spare any expense to create a small hotel that makes you feel like you are in the middle of the wine country in France. It is obvious that the owners spent a lot of time trying to create an authentic European experience. The choice of the building materials, design of the fireplaces, slate floors and furnishes are first class. Nice job and thank you for making our anniversary romantic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

After two nights in Cambria, we finished our weekend at the Hotel Cheval in Paso Robles. Everything was wonderful from the time we arrived. Our room was on the second floor and was absolutely immaculate! The photos on the website are a wonderful representation of what this hotel offers so it is not necessary to post any of my own photos. The hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants that would satisfy a "foodie" and great tasting rooms. The Rhone blends are some of the best reds I've tasted. Make sure to check out the "Herman Story" tasting room which is a few streets down from the main part of the town but well worth the walk. The continental breakfast the next morning was enjoyable. We took a basket of banana bread, fruit, granola to our room and then a few extra slices of banana bread with us for the trip home since it was so good. This is a true gem in downtown Paso Robles. If you want to treat yourself to a five star experience in Paso Robles you won't be disappointed at the Hotel Cheval.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I took my mom here for a mothers day retreat. After a day of wine tasting were able to conveniently walk to the main square for dinner and walk back to Hotel Cheval after more wine at dinner. We sat by the fire in the courtyard and talked with a other guests while enjoying smores made to order by the hotel staff. These were not your average smores, we were able to choose from a variety of homemade marshmallows and different types of chocolate. Yum!
Breakfast was also delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It was our first time going to Paso Robles and Hotel Cheval was the most amazing hotel experience we have had for being in such a quaint little town. It is the only place to stay when in Paso. Their customer service was executed to an art. Everything from our check in, to the homemade smor’s each night in the courtyard to the lovely personalized little notes left outside our bedroom door each morning. And I can't forget to mention the delicious breakfasts each morning included in the room rate! We could not have asked for a more exceptional stay and experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Cheval for 3 nights over Memorial Weekend. There was a little mix up with our reservations as we had added the first night later, but luckily they had an open room when we arrived. We should have confirmed ahead of arrival. The Hotel is quite upscale for the Paso Robles area. Our room was lovely and included a fireplace and outdoor patio with lounge chairs. The bathroom was rather small for a luxury hotel and I was disappointed that there was no tub for $378 a night, but the shower was roomy. The sink was very difficult to maneuver for a short person as it was an above counter bowl and was set back from the edge. The faucet stuck into the sink quite a ways too making washing your face awkward. Also, there was no way to plug the sink to fill with water for shaving.

I thought the breakfast was quite nice, the pastries were fresh baked and on Sat and Sun they offer an omelet bar. Also, in the afternoon, they offered brownies and lemon squares which were delicious. The wine bar on premises is very popular locally as they serve premium wines at reasonable prices for happy hour. The staff was very friendly and attentive.

The parking is a little tight--literally. Some of the spaces require you to park between arches which can be a little difficult to maneuver with a large car, but there were some other spaces that were larger. Just want to get parked before those are all full.

We enjoyed our stay and will come back again. The best thing is that you can easily walk to everything in town in just a few minutes.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have large patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#7 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cheval 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cheval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.