We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique at its best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cheval

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cheval
Save
You added Hotel Cheval to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Boutique at its best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The service, staff and setting are just excellent. Paso Robles has come a long way in the last 20 years and this hotel is just one of the great additions. The rooms are well decorated and unique. One of the highlights is the two fireplaces in the courtyard that are burining brightly every night. A destination for peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: Whistlejacket, Kingston, Rosebud and Feathers are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    38
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
167
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Escondido
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are visiting the Wine Country in Paso Robles this is the place to stay. When you drive up to the front of Hotel Cheval you are enchanted. From the time you enter the front room to register you are pleased. All the employees are wonderful, friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful, classy and the beds are so comfortable. The Pony Room is a wonderful place for the perfect breakfast or a evening glass of wine. We look forward to our next visit to Hotel Cheval.

Room Tip: Any room is a joy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved staying in this beautiful hotel in Paso Robles. I loved the way the room was decorated (felt so large and luxurious, but also cozy at the same time. This is definitely a romantic place to go for an anniversary or to celebrate something special. We were also able to stay with our large dogs (I was surprised that they allowed our 2- 80 lb. dogs in a place like this!). Anyway, it had a great wine bar, patio (with fireplaces that were lit at night- nice touch). It was a great way to end our trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed there in May `11. The rooms were quiet and luxurious. The courtyard is very nice and has several fireplaces where you can relax in the evenings with a glass of wine. Several great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel Cheval was a very nice comfortable hotel in Paso. The room was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. Although expensive it is located in the center of town and is walking distance to all restaurants and shops. We would for sure stay there agan.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights here as a base for Paso Robles wine tasting. The hotel is a short walk to the best restaurants in town and convenient to the park square in downtown Paso Robles. Each room has a gas fireplace but in the evening, two wood burning fires are carefully tended on each side of the central courtyard, while two fountains provide a soothing backdrop.

The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. It is a very small hotel with a limited number of rooms and that adds to the pampered experience.

We would definitely stay here again in Paso Robles. Spring for an upgraded room on the second floor -- no elevators but well worth the short climb.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Elegant and stylish hotel with a perfect location within walking distance to all the restaurants and shopping in downtown. It is without a doubt the nicest hotel in Paso. The common rooms are inviting and warm, the beds are incredibly comfy with turn down service every night. Definitely check out the amazing jewelry in the lobby. The breakfast was adequate, I would recommend Panolivo Bistro just down the street for a great breakfast or brunch and Il Cortile for dinner.

Room Tip: Lower level rooms have patios with fountains and adirondack chairs. Really a nice extension of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paso Robles hotels
2.6 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#11 of 18 in Paso Robles
3.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Paso Robles
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
#6 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cheval

Address: 1021 Pine Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paso Robles
#6 Family Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cheval 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cheval is Paso Robles' finest boutique, luxury hotel, located in the heart of downtown. Situated in California's prized Central Coast food and wine region, this sophisticated and intimate hotel offers well-traveled guests an experience unlike any other in the area. Hotel Cheval features exceptional, personalized service amidst thoughtfully designed and refined accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheval Hotel Paso Robles
Boutique Hotel Cheval

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cheval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.