We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B For R&R” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Coyote Winery B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wild Coyote Winery B&B to your Saves list
Wild Coyote Winery B&B
3775 Adelaida Road, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“B&B For R&R”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Have to admit, right off the bat, that I'm not a big fan of southwestern decor, but Wild Coyote has me smitten! This wonderfully unique place is perfect to re-charge your batteries - close enough to town/Hwy 101 and their amenities, but far (and high) enough to feel like you've got the whole wine country to yourself.

Friends brought us to Wild Coyote for the first time this spring to taste wine. We had to drive through construction to reach the temporary Tasting Room in the back barrel barn - they were working on the new kitchen and tasting room at the time. The wine was great (we joined the Port Wine Club), but the location and scenery stole the show.

My husband turned the double nickel (55) over Labor Day Weekend - and as a last minute treat - we decided to spend a couple of nights at one of WC's five private casitas. We checked in late Tuesday with Paul in the new tasting room and gift shop. It was like arriving at a long lost friend's! I booked one of the two available King rooms - the Pueblo. You walk to the casitas via a community patio (that they light up at night). We were shown our room and Paul gave a quick run-down of the amenities including how to turn on the A/C or, if it got too cool at night, the fireplace!

The room was lovely! The decor is hardly your motel/hotel chain variety. They state (in a nicely thorough one page paper they give you regarding your stay) that the items have been lovingly collected along the owners', Gianni and Kati's, travels.

We quickly settled in, but not before noticing the nice touches: mini-fridge, microwave, coffee machine, bottled water (for bringing along for wine tasting), water jug for making coffee (they are on a well and the water, while safe, tastes funny), complimentary bottle of WC Zinfandel (with 2 glasses and opener), fluffy towels (including beach towels for the hot-tub), private front deck (with 2 adirondacks and a table). This was such a well-appointed room!

Most wineries close by about 5pm, so since it was 4:15 - we decided to stay at Wild Coyote and taste their juice. Paul was knowledgable, passionate and engaging. We learned even more about their wine, but also, where to go for dinner. Based on his recommendation - we enjoyed at lovely meal that night at local Italian restaurant, Buona Tavola.

We spent the rest of our evening enjoying our Zin on the patio - watching the stars and enjoying the solitude - yum! We would have slept with the doors wide open for the fresh air, but the crickets were enjoying the lovely September evening as well... quite... vociferously! Thankfully the sliders in the room cut out the outside sounds very thoroughly!

The next morning we watched the sun rise above the hills. We enjoyed a lazy wake-up. Internet service was pretty spotty - so reading an online paper was out. We made due... Then right about 8:45 we got the promised knock on the door and Kati whirled in with the most amazing breakfast! There is a table in the room, but also, tv trays and, of course front deck or community patio - so many dining venue options! The food was really yummy and a perfect start to a perfect day.

We will definitely be back - with friends that we know will love this place as much as we do. FYI - wine club members get a 20% discount on rooms!

Room Tip: There are only two of the five rooms with a King sized bed - be sure to specify if you want this. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildc0y0te, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Coyote Winery B&B, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you Holly for such a wonderful review. We pride ourselves in being a "unique" B&B and making your stay more than just a place to sleep. Come back soon and bring friends, we'll have a party! Thanks again, Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    13
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
127
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed there on a birthday trip and we were both thrilled with the experience. Unlike, perhaps, most of the other visitors to the area we had not come for the wine tasting. Rather, we were looking for a comfortable place in the area outside of town to use as a base for cycle (she's an avid and serious cyclist).

The rooms are more like large one-bedroom apartments than hotel rooms, each with a private patio, a small kitchenette with microwave and fridge, and a large, spacious bathroom. The decor is modern southwest (think Santa Fe, but with a California-style update). There is also a shared patio area with an outdoor fireplace and a wonderful hot tub.

As great as the rooms are, however, the best part of staying at the Wild Coyote was the service. Our check in was amazing. Sean (the guy who looked to be taking a break from helping some of the other patron to another glass of Zinfandel) went out of his way to make our stay excellent. We travel with a lot of gear and it had been a long day on the road. He went out of his way to make sure we had the best experience, both at the B&B and in the area.

Kate, the proprietress, was as accommodating, if not more so. We were out on the road when she served breakfast so she had it waiting for us when we returned. Fantastic food after a hard ride is something unforgettable, but it has to be fantastic and at the Wild Coyote, it is. Of course, we were late checking out as we had to get all of that stuff back in the car. They seemed genuinely sad to see us go.

Bottom line: we'll be back. We travel a great deal and it is rare to find a place that combines comfort, a laid back accommodating style, and great food with such endearing service. Next time we'll even taste the wines.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are the same. They have the same view. The only difference is whether there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildc0y0te, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Coyote Winery B&B, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service. We look forward to your next visit with us. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed there on our wine tasting trip to Paso Robles and we loved the décor and intimate setting of the place. Only 4 rooms, we felt like we were the only ones there except we saw other at breakfast which was delicious. The best part was wine tasting in the large teepee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildc0y0te, Manager at Wild Coyote Winery B&B, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you Cheryl for staying with us. We're so happy your stay was peaceful and enjoyable. Hope to see you two again soon, Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana, Usa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here on a wine tasting trip. The B&B is charming with every amenity you could want. We loved the sitting area in the back plus our own very private patio in front. Star gazing at night was amazing. The breakfast was delicious and served outside in the cool morning. We also liked the friendly cat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildc0y0te, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Coyote Winery B&B, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The five casitas are decorated in a Santa Fe or Taos. New Mexico style and clearly show the aesthetics of the once-professional architect vineyard owner. Rooms were large with two having king-size beds and all have nice little private patios to sit out on to overlook the quiet rolling hills of the Paso Robles wine country. This is also a small but active winery with an unusual but nicely done tasting room right next to the casitas. There's also a large courtyard with BBQ pit and picnic tables. The grill has its own firewood, lighter fluid, utensils, built-in pizza over, etc. to cook almost anything you want. Free wi-fi does not work well in the rooms or even out in the courtyard but works well inside the tasting room itself where the wifi router is located. Parking in the back as well as by the tasting room and a code-keyed entry gate make the place very secure. Located some 5 miles west of town, the site is very quiet and private. Only criticism is in the bathroom area which could use more/better lighting for the shower and sink area. The sink area lighting is insufficient for my wife to do her morning makeup and the sink/mirror is a little too far back from the tile edge causing her to have to lean over quite a ways to see anything. Wall mirror in the entry way glares courtyard night lights into the bed area making it a minot annoyance to sleep - solved by throwing a handtowel over it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildc0y0te, Manager at Wild Coyote Winery B&B, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all the feedback. Be sure to check out our calender of events on our website as we continue to add weekly and monthly dinners & events for your next visit.
Till next time, Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Wild Coyote while in town for a wedding. This B&B is a beautiful,enchanting sanctuary and possibly the best kept secret in Paso! It offered serenity, great comfort, complete privacy, amazing views and a delicious hearty breakfast delivered personally from the inn keepers. We are wine lovers and thoroughly enjoyed Wild Coyotes' 09 zin "Michievious', the Port and the Syrah. We especially enjoyed sitting on our private patio, sipping your fabulous wine while enjoying the perfect view of your vineyards at sunset. Couldn't have asked for a better setting! We had the opportunity to visit a few wineries in Tuscany last spring & our stay at Wild Coyote had a very similar comfortable feeling - very inviting, not hurried! & spa like. If you are looking for a place to relax and unwind you must visit Wild Coyote, you will not be disappointed. The casitas are decorated beautifully and the grounds are quite special - giving you the feeling you are entering native american sacred ground. Thank you Gianni, Kati and Paul for your great hospitality and for making us feel so at home. Please also thank all your staff members also for making our stay so pleasant - they do a great job. We look forward to visiting your B&B again in the soon! Karen K

Room Tip: All rooms are quite the same with the exception of getting either a queen vs king size bed. It is wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildc0y0te, Manager at Wild Coyote Winery B&B, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
thank you Karen for such a wonderful review. We pride ourselves in making your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to our beautiful wine country. Till next time, Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were guests at Wild Coyote over a long week-end and throughly enjoyed our stay. We're not avid wine drinkers, but were looking for a unique B&B that was quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. Wild Coyote is all that, plus beautiful views and easy driving access to town for meals beyond breakfast. But for breakfast, do not miss the food that is delivered either to your room door (if you want to eat on your own private patio) or served on the common patio (if you want to meet other guests at the B&B). It's fantastic.
We didn't get to meet the owners, but Sean, who delivered our food each morning, is great. And he's also a fantastic cook; he makes a mean Eggs Benedict.

Bob and Roger

Room Tip: Only five rooms so book early. Looked like all rooms are identical and have the same beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildc0y0te, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Coyote Winery B&B, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the wonderful review. Hope to see you again soon.Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Coyote Winery B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Coyote Winery B&B

Address: 3775 Adelaida Road, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A MYSTICAL RETREAT. . . Experience Santa Fe New Mexico, in Central Coast California. We have 5 Individual & Private Casitas carved into our mountainside with Panoramic Views overlooking our Vineyards. Hacienda/Spanish Interiors that offer Kiva fireplace's, Private Bathrooms, Kitchenette's, Highest End Tempurpedic Mattresses, Leather Reclining Sofa's, Private Patio's, Flat Screen TV's. We have a Santa Maria style BBQ for you to use if you want to relax and enjoy the View's and Ambiance of our Gorgeous Property, Jacuzzi just steps away from your Casita... A Perfect & Romantic getaway for you to Relax and Rejuvenate your Soul.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wild Coyote Winery B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Coyote Winery B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.