We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chanticleer Vineyard Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chanticleer Vineyard Bed and Breakfast
1250 Paint Horse Place, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Mid Week Pricing
Ranked #3 of 31 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
“True hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I just spent a long weekend in Paso Robles and stayed at Chanticleer. Carolyn and Roland took great care of us - even stopping by a restaurant to make sure we had reservations. Their winery recommendations were great and far exceeded the ones we'd picked to visit on our own. The room itself was spacious, beautiful and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and thoughtfully prepared.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChanticleerVineyardB, Owner at Chanticleer Vineyard Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay and so nice to hear from you again. We do like being the local connection for our guests. Sometimes it just takes a call or a drop in to make your plans come together. We wish you all the best and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
152
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I just returned from a weekend at Chanticleer with my boyfriend, dad and mom. It was a wonderful first trip to Paso for my boyfriend and myself and Chanticleer greatly contributed to that. Carolyn and Roland make sure you are enjoying yourself and the breakfasts are delicious. This is not a luxury resort, nor do they make it out to be. It is very comfortable home; the beds and linens are all very clean. I told Carolyn we would be celebrating my mother's birthday while we were up there and she went out of her way to make her a little cake that was waiting when we arrived to our rooms. That was really above and beyond the call. Long story short, I would return and would recommend this place to anybody looking for a low-key home base in Paso Robles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChanticleerVineyardB, Owner at Chanticleer Vineyard Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing Chanticleer to host your mother's birthday weekend celebration. You are correct that we are not an "Estate" property but we do enjoy surprising our guest's with the luxuary features you find in our rooms. We were recently told that our B&B has a "vintage" appeal that is replenishing in today's hectic world.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed and celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful time as Carolyn and Roland made the three days very special and a time to remember. You are treated as long time friends and in our short stay, we both feel that both are going to be long time friends! Great people, great house and lovely animals! Will be coming up in the near future and we will only stay book here!! We just need to stay longer!!

Room Tip: Based on Carolyn's tip, take room 1!! Plenty of space and in a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChanticleerVineyardB, Owner at Chanticleer Vineyard Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We love that Chanticleer was choosen to celebrate such a noteworthy occassion as your 25th Wedding Anniversary! And are pleased that we helped to make it especially memorable and look forward to your return. Wishing you another 25+ Happy Years together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in early August 2012, picking Chanticleer from among those venues we found on Tripadvisor, based mostly on its positive reviews. It was my first time in Paso Robles, and we could not have picked a better place. We were in Room 3, which is handicapped accessible (not a requirement for us), clean, spacious, and very nicely appointed. We enjoyed sitting outside on the patio space outside our door in the morning, looking out over the vineyard and the far hillsides with their nut trees, before going upstairs to one of Carolyn's to-die-for breakfasts. Chanticleer is 2-3 miles from some excellent restaurants in Paso (we went to Artisan and twice to Bistro Laurent). We spent a day at Hearst Castle, and a second day tasting at several wineries. We used Chanticleer's voucher to have a private tasting at Eberle; don't miss Justin, Daou, Turley, and Grey Wolf. A perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChanticleerVineyardB, Owner at Chanticleer Vineyard Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
It was a pleasure hosting your home base while you explored our Central Coast and Paso Robles. We love it that you took advantage of one of our mid week packages including your tour at Hearst Castle and your VIP tasting at Eberle winery. They are both well recieved by our guests. Thanks for mentioning the wheel chair accessability of Room 3. We don't often get to promote that feature. We look forward to seeing you on a future visit to Paso Robles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband Tim and I stayed for 4 nights and it was a fabulous find! The grounds and home are beautiful, the food fantastic, Bonnie and Bear (the puppies) and Little Girl (the kitten) were charming, the barn was a blast and the area to die for....but the best part of the stay are Carolyn and Roland! They make the whole experience one to remember. They invite you into their home as if you were part of the family that they haven't seen in years. In a lot of B&B's you feel welcome but just a stranger living a short time in a room somewhere in the house. At Chanticleer, you are treated like a welcomed friend and you know these folks go out of their way to make your stay memorable. It's amazing how Carolyn and Roland have thought of every little detail with all you may need while you are their guests.

We have already booked our next visit in December and bringing friends with us this time. Can't wait!

Room Tip: This is hard because all three rooms are fabulous and offer something a little different but room #3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChanticleerVineyardB, Owner at Chanticleer Vineyard Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
You seemed to make the most of what Chanticleer has to offer. In the evenings we knew you could be found at the barn BBQ'ing, enjoying the cool summer nights and the sounds of nature. We look forward to your return this winter and to meeting the friends you are bringing with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We found the Chanticleer to be the perfect base of operations to explore the Paso Robles wine area. Carolyn ensures that everything goes smoothly from greeting you as you arrive, to making arrangements for dinner, to suggesting wineries and local attractions. She provides local insider suggestions for where to go and what to do. Enjoy a gourmet breakfast to start your day after waking in a well appointed, comfortable room with a view over scenic hills and vineyards. Carolyn provides a relaxing and stress free experience. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChanticleerVineyardB, Owner at Chanticleer Vineyard Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do like to cater our suggestions to help you make the most of your time away.
So glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this beautiful home for 2 days on a getaway to Paso. We were greeted on arrival like we were family. Caroline come out to our car and warmly welcomed us. She showed us around her beautiful home and to our room. Our package included a dinner certificate and a bottle of wine. The wine we got was from Gray Wolf and came from the vineyard at this B&B. We had just had a long drive so we wanted to rest a while before going out for dinner. She asked us if she could make us a little snack and we said that would be nice. She returned shortly with some beautiful cut fruit and nuts, 3 different kinds of cheese slices and warm flat bread. It was unexpected and very nice.
Caroline was helpful with selections for restaurants. For breakfast she is a fantastic cook. Gourmet foods, not a lumberjack type of breakfast. Both Caroline and her husband Roland were fun to talk to at breakfast and we enjoyed getting to know them. In fact it now feels like we have new friends in Paso Robles.
We booked their package that includes a gift certificate for $50 toward dinner at Buona Tavola restaurant in town. It is an incredible place to eat. I wish the $50 was enough to cover dinner, but it was a start. We brought our Gray Wolf wine and it went great with the Italian food.
We would stay here again in a flash. It was a wonderful place with fantastic hosts!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChanticleerVineyardB, Owner at Chanticleer Vineyard Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your great review.
Sometimes when you are traveling it is tough to space your meals and you get a little hungry. We don't have a traditional B&B cheese and wine in the evening but a small plate and your in room wine can be perfect to fill in between meals. I try and offer one on arrival but if I forget please don't be afraid to ask.
You didn't mention the sparkling wine that accompanied your $50 dinner voucher at Buona Tavola for our Mid Week Romantic Package. As Grey Wolf buys our fruit we feature their wine and it comes with your room :)
We do consider our guest's like family and we look forward to your return!
Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chanticleer Vineyard Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanticleer Vineyard Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1250 Paint Horse Place, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chanticleer Vineyard Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chanticleer Vineyard Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list