We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious wine country retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyon Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Canyon Villa
Save Saved
You added The Canyon Villa to your Saves list
1455 Kiler Canyon Road, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gracious wine country retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This beautiful Tuscan styled villa far surpassed my discerning expectations. Our room was extremely comfortable and welcoming and beautifully appointed with French doors and patio overlooking gorgeous vineyard hills, and the bathroom was simply luxurious with every amenity plus large and quiet jacuzzi tub (complete with lavender bath oils) and a huge glass and tiled shower. The room had a gas fireplace that added wonderful heat and ambience. The common rooms downstairs were equally beautiful and comfortable, but it was the owners Diane and Jim who really set this experience apart. We arrived as guests and left as friends as they honored us with fine wines and cheeses at night along with their excellent company, and Diane's breakfasts were simply gourmet. We hated to leave and will be back. It was a treasure find!

Room Tip: Although the bed was very comfortable it was not a king and my husband is very tall. Ask if they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
123
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were there for the second time this past weekend and let me tell you our experience was just as good the second time as it was the first. The Inn is located on a hillside outside Paso Robles overlooking a vineyard and is not to far from the center on town. The ammenities were delightful; from the cleanliness of the room to the great room sitting area, with fireplace, to the hospitality Jim and Diane show to all their guests. The breakfasts that Diane cooks were unbeatable!!! Will go back in an instant!
Mike and Sandy Fiscus

Room Tip: Need to make reservations in advance as there are only four rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This house was built to be a B&B, and it shows. The rooms are very nicely done and are cozy, with fireplaces and lovely views. The beds are amazingly comfortable, with microfiber sheets. The bathrooms are nicely done, as well, with spa tubs...the only thing that would have been a nice addition to the bathrooms is heated floors (and some art on the walls, but the owners mentioned they had recently painted, so I'm assuming they just hadn't hung anything yet). The location was very convenient to the wineries, so we were able to kick off our wine tasting practically just outside their front door!

Breakfast was very good, and wine & cheese in the evenings was a nice touch, as well. The only thing that was a little "off" was that the owners, while very hospitable, seemed kind of like control freaks, for lack of a better term. Between flexibility on breakfast times to where the wine & cheese tray was set up, it was a little awkward at times...

Room Tip: All four are equally sized & comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoTraveler, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments and your constructive feedback.

We have been updating our guest rooms and I regret that your bathroom artwork had not been installed in time for your visit. Yes, we agree heated floors would be nice 2 to 3 months of the year. That’s an amenity not typically found in our reasonable price range. I’m pleased that you enjoyed our bed linens, they are Egyptian cotton sateen, and not microfiber.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and happy hour. Our guests are given the opportunity to set their breakfast time; we understand that you are on vacation and might want to sleep in. Our coffee/tea service and afternoon happy hour is located in our dining room so that it is accessible by all of our guests. Some choose to sit in the dining room or great room; others may want to enjoy one of our many outdoor tables or in the privacy of their guestroom. The choice is yours!

I’m sorry to hear that we came across as “control freaks” ouch…Please let me know how we could have improved your experience.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This house is centrally-located and sits a on hill with a gorgeous view. The rooms were immaculate and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms have fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. We weren't able to get hot water in the tub but we made do anyway. The innkeepers were very welcoming and friendly. We felt a little bit subject to their scheduling, but maybe that's part of the b&b experience. Breakfast was ok. Cheese and crackers in the evening were better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoTraveler, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you found your accommodations very comfortable. However, we were disappointed to learn that you had difficulty with the hot water in the tub. We do wish that you had shared that with us during your stay so we could have addressed it immediately. We have a very plentiful hot water supply; certainly enough to fill all four guest room tubs and run showers simultaneously, so we are puzzled by your experience.

We invite our guests to choose their breakfast service time between the hours of 8am and 9:30am. Most of our guests appreciate knowing what time to expect breakfast so they can plan their day. I’m sorry that you felt it was too scheduled.

Please feel free to call or email me with suggestions and/or additional feedback on how we could have improved your stay.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at The Canyon Villa for 2 nights and loved it. The owners, Diane & Jim, are very hospitable. Diane is an excellent cook. The Villa is very beautiful and clean. We would definitely stay here again. The Villa is in the county but very close to downtown Paso - close to shops, restaurants, and wineries. The bedroom has a lovely fireplace and the bathroom is spacious - definitely recommend using the jetted tub! If you're looking for a quiet, romatic getaway this place is ideal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Agree with all the positive reviews. It is rare that an experience outperforms what you pay for your room, but this one truly did. From the beauty of the setting and view to the helpful and friendly charm of the proprietors to being able to relax in the big spa tub prior to climbing into our comfortable bed, we enjoyed every part of the stay. Including how the place smelled like rosemary rolls. No TV was a plus for us as we were on a romantic getaway. Would recommend that Diane and Jim add some insulation to the ceiling and plumbing (we were in the downstairs front room and a couple of times were a little too aware of the upstairs guests' conversation and water use) but this was a minor issue in an otherwise stellar visit - we would book into that room again, even as it is now. Bottom line is that we've found our Paso Robles home-away and won't be staying anywhere else after this.

Room Tip: Upstairs front is likely to have an even more gorgeous view than we had, and no water noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed there with my wife and relatives. I can't say enough. Not only a gorgeous place and setting, but the owners, Dianne and particular are the sweetest ever. Great reccomendations for vinyards and activities, such as picking up lunch at Farmstand 46 and enjoying it over a bottle of wine at the Daou Vineyards. Heaven.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Canyon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Villa

Address: 1455 Kiler Canyon Road, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the rolling hills and vineyards of Paso Robles wine country, the Canyon Villa is the destination destined to win your heart. Our bed and breakfast will charm you with its Italian architecture, heavenly views, intimate setting and luxurious amenities. Whether you seek a serene respite from a busy world, or an enchanting visit to the Paso Robles wine region, the Canyon Villa offers refined elegance to enhance your holiday. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canyon Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.