We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous home, amazing view, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyon Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Canyon Villa
Save
You added The Canyon Villa to your Saves list
1455 Kiler Canyon Road, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Gorgeous home, amazing view, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This house was built to be a B&B, and it shows. The rooms are very nicely done and are cozy, with fireplaces and lovely views. The beds are amazingly comfortable, with microfiber sheets. The bathrooms are nicely done, as well, with spa tubs...the only thing that would have been a nice addition to the bathrooms is heated floors (and some art on the walls, but the owners mentioned they had recently painted, so I'm assuming they just hadn't hung anything yet). The location was very convenient to the wineries, so we were able to kick off our wine tasting practically just outside their front door!

Breakfast was very good, and wine & cheese in the evenings was a nice touch, as well. The only thing that was a little "off" was that the owners, while very hospitable, seemed kind of like control freaks, for lack of a better term. Between flexibility on breakfast times to where the wine & cheese tray was set up, it was a little awkward at times...

Room Tip: All four are equally sized & comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoTraveler, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments and your constructive feedback.

We have been updating our guest rooms and I regret that your bathroom artwork had not been installed in time for your visit. Yes, we agree heated floors would be nice 2 to 3 months of the year. That’s an amenity not typically found in our reasonable price range. I’m pleased that you enjoyed our bed linens, they are Egyptian cotton sateen, and not microfiber.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and happy hour. Our guests are given the opportunity to set their breakfast time; we understand that you are on vacation and might want to sleep in. Our coffee/tea service and afternoon happy hour is located in our dining room so that it is accessible by all of our guests. Some choose to sit in the dining room or great room; others may want to enjoy one of our many outdoor tables or in the privacy of their guestroom. The choice is yours!

I’m sorry to hear that we came across as “control freaks” ouch…Please let me know how we could have improved your experience.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
129
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This house is centrally-located and sits a on hill with a gorgeous view. The rooms were immaculate and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms have fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. We weren't able to get hot water in the tub but we made do anyway. The innkeepers were very welcoming and friendly. We felt a little bit subject to their scheduling, but maybe that's part of the b&b experience. Breakfast was ok. Cheese and crackers in the evening were better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PasoTraveler, Owner at The Canyon Villa, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you found your accommodations very comfortable. However, we were disappointed to learn that you had difficulty with the hot water in the tub. We do wish that you had shared that with us during your stay so we could have addressed it immediately. We have a very plentiful hot water supply; certainly enough to fill all four guest room tubs and run showers simultaneously, so we are puzzled by your experience.

We invite our guests to choose their breakfast service time between the hours of 8am and 9:30am. Most of our guests appreciate knowing what time to expect breakfast so they can plan their day. I’m sorry that you felt it was too scheduled.

Please feel free to call or email me with suggestions and/or additional feedback on how we could have improved your stay.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at The Canyon Villa for 2 nights and loved it. The owners, Diane & Jim, are very hospitable. Diane is an excellent cook. The Villa is very beautiful and clean. We would definitely stay here again. The Villa is in the county but very close to downtown Paso - close to shops, restaurants, and wineries. The bedroom has a lovely fireplace and the bathroom is spacious - definitely recommend using the jetted tub! If you're looking for a quiet, romatic getaway this place is ideal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Agree with all the positive reviews. It is rare that an experience outperforms what you pay for your room, but this one truly did. From the beauty of the setting and view to the helpful and friendly charm of the proprietors to being able to relax in the big spa tub prior to climbing into our comfortable bed, we enjoyed every part of the stay. Including how the place smelled like rosemary rolls. No TV was a plus for us as we were on a romantic getaway. Would recommend that Diane and Jim add some insulation to the ceiling and plumbing (we were in the downstairs front room and a couple of times were a little too aware of the upstairs guests' conversation and water use) but this was a minor issue in an otherwise stellar visit - we would book into that room again, even as it is now. Bottom line is that we've found our Paso Robles home-away and won't be staying anywhere else after this.

Room Tip: Upstairs front is likely to have an even more gorgeous view than we had, and no water noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed there with my wife and relatives. I can't say enough. Not only a gorgeous place and setting, but the owners, Dianne and particular are the sweetest ever. Great reccomendations for vinyards and activities, such as picking up lunch at Farmstand 46 and enjoying it over a bottle of wine at the Daou Vineyards. Heaven.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Canyon Villa was a lovely retreat for our first visit to Paso Robles! Gail absolutely spoiled us the entire trip with great service and conversation, good advice about the local area, and attention to detail. We definitely want to come back and meet the owners of this property, to thank them personally for providing such a beautiful oasis!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

It is hard to add anything that hasn't been said. This is, by far, one of the most elegant bed and breakfasts in which we have ever stayed. It feels like you are staying in a villa in Tuscany. There are only 4 rooms, all gorgeous. The house includes a large, elegantly decorated living and dining room for the guests and use of lovely patios with views of the hilly vineyards.

Diane and Jim are warm and welcoming in every way. We stayed there recently with another couple, and were welcomed with 2 bottles of lovely wine and a great cheese platter. Diane is a wonderful cook--the breakfasts were hearty and delicious. She was a great source of recommendations for wineries, and arranged for a private tour of two of them during our stay.
We highly recommend them and will always try to book with them first when in Paso Robles.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs king room with a view of the vineyards, but our friends stayed downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Canyon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Villa

Address: 1455 Kiler Canyon Road, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the rolling hills and vineyards of Paso Robles wine country, the Canyon Villa is the destination destined to win your heart. Our bed and breakfast will charm you with its Italian architecture, heavenly views, intimate setting and luxurious amenities. Whether you seek a serene respite from a busy world, or an enchanting visit to the Paso Robles wine region, the Canyon Villa offers refined elegance to enhance your holiday. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canyon Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.