We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Creek Bar & Grill

Villa Creek Bar & Grill
1144 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446
(805) 238-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Villa Creek Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 156 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 12th and Pine
Description: Working with local farmers since 1998. Villa Creek's Chef Tom Fundaro prepares local, organically or sustainably farmed products in rustic preparations. A local and international compilation of wines and a premium bar selection complement the fresh inspiring cuisine. "It seems that practically everyone visiting Paso Robles wine country passes through Villa Creek. That's easy to understand, because this winemaker hangout serves up youthful energy, satisfying food and an exciting wine list with excellent prices." Wine Spectator.
Claremont, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Was there two nights ago. Bartenders had too many of their buddies in there to pay attention to other paying customers. Taco Tuesday is good but pricey for the tiny "street tacos" that are served. They were ok tasting. The dinner menu didn't appeal to us either. One example is a dinner for two; one half baby chicken, pressed with a brick (big deal) with acoutrimonts. I think it may have had Rice and veggies. Price $45.00! For a half of chicken? Chicken? No thanks, I'd rather grab some at El Pollo Loco and save the cash and aggravation. I've decor was nice inside though with nice patio seating. We left and found another place to enjoy the rest of our night, and ate dinner.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    51
    21
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good Food, Service and Extensive Wine List, what else could you want?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We tried Villa Creek on the recommendation of friends. It was a great recommendation. The chef clearly has some original ideas and tries them out with excellent results. l had a rabbit mole with a chile, wonderful. The wine list is extensive with wine from their own vineyards, others in the area and from overseas.
Service was prompt, cheerful and professional.
There is a popular sitting area in the bar as well as the sit down restaurant area. A small outside terrace is also an option. On this particular evening both were well attended. It appears locals like to eat here which is always a good sign.
Dinner for two with bottle of a very good local rose, two entrees, one starter, one dessert and an espresso about $100.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place came highly recommended by friends here at home and by the proprietor of the B&B where we were staying. Although, I wasn't crazy about the table location or the drapery wall I was next to, the restaurant is really good looking inside and nicely appointed. We just got the least desirable table.

The food was delicious and our server (Brittany) was excellent and knew what was cooking! We couldn't stop talking about how helpful and first rate she was. We ordered the wild mushroom bolognese and the top sirloin - both were delicious; the flavors mouthwatering.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Could have been a hit, however struck out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013


Went in with great expectations as it was highly recommended. Two stars my be a little light but hard to give three. It was a Wednesday night and about 6:30pm. Not too busy but even with two or three open tables we were told it would be a 20 to 30 min wait and if there was a seat in the bar we could take but not eat order off the dinner menu. We were fine with it and after a few mins the hostess found us and said a table opened. Great. So far so good. The waiter came over and took drink orders. Two of three came and after about 15 min we asked about the glass of wine? No sorry or anything but he got it. We ordered three starts and two "lighter" fares. The food was very good. Cauliflower, duck nachos and fries with aioli. The table was no cleared of empty glasses. The wine left on the table basically untouched (not liked) never questioned as to why? After about an hour and change no main course? Asked to cancelled the first dinner as it took so long. No I'm sorry but said it was on the pass. After a few mins the second main came out wrong. Again no I'm sorry or anything other than you can keep it (not sure what it was). After another 15 or 20 mins asked to cancel it and waiter had an attitude. Are you kidding me? Again no I'm sorry what can we do? Got check and still an attitude from the server. (Wow). No manager no apology. Good food bad service what could have been a great night left a BAD taste so to speak.


  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent local style Cali-Cuisine,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have eaten here 3 times over the past 4 years. It's right on the NE corner of the square The menu seems to be veering more towards small plates these days than I recall from previous visits. Nevertheless, the meal the four of us had was very good. I would suggest/expect that they offer more wines by the glass considering their location.But they don't have a great list unless you want a bottle.. The entrees are limited also but are really solid and all that we got were great. Apps: Ahi Tuna Ceviche yuzu, orange, microgreens, avocado,Quinoa Salad w/ feta, radish, peas, asparagus in buttermilk vinaigrette. I got seared cod and it was excellent and nicely plated , my boys got chicken and waffles which they scarfed down in about 3 minutes. They offer dishes for two as well which is a nice idea..... Grass Fed Pan Roasted Del Monico Pork or 1/2 Brick Chicken seared under a brick, Service was OK , it was kind of odd how quiet the room was at 9 pm on a Saturday night.
It may have lost it's " latest thing" cachet, but is still a high quality restaurant. needing a few tweaks.Check it out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Creek Bar & Grill also viewed

Paso Robles, CA
Paso Robles, CA
 
Paso Robles, CA
Paso Robles, CA
 

Been to Villa Creek Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Creek Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.