We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goshi Japanese Restaurant

Goshi Japanese Restaurant
722 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446
(805) 227-4860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 144 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great local sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Upon a recommendation from a wine pourer at Tobin James we tried this great restaurant right by the train station and were pleasantly surprised. Having come from a big city to this tiny town of 30,000 people we didn't expect a lot but the food was very fresh and the chefs pleasant and quick to serve up our requests. We will definately go back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simple, clean ambience and great food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is our favorite Japanese restaurant in San Luis Obispo County: small, unassuming but with good service and great food. I am not a sushi fan but I am told that the sushi here is great. I like the tempura, my husband likes the dinner A. They have a small but nicely chosen wine list too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Enjoyable sushi in Paso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Got into town craving some sushi and Goshi did not disappoint. Crab hand rolls were fresh and delicious. We split one of the sushi specials for two that includes the chef's choices and it was quite good. Service was prompt and friendly. Nice cold beer too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia Province, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tasty Traditional Japanese Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Goshi Japanese Restaurant is the best Japanese eatery in Paso Robles and Atascadero. They focus on traditional Japanese cuisine with some non-traditional offerings. This is not the place for those who like the over-the-top fusion combinations. Seating at the sushi bar is ideal for those watching the precise, skilled preparation of fresh sashimi and sushi. Some of the chefs have been at Goshi’s since it opened. They offer the typical Japanese fare offered in America including rice and udon bowls, tempura, teriyaki and bento boxes which they call “San Luis Dinner Combinations.” The menu offers items that will appeal to neophyte and experienced diners of Japanese cuisine. For the latter, there are tasty options on the daily special board on the wall in the sushi bar area. I love the simple, tasty marinated seaweed salad. Courses come out as they are ready, so there is often a lag between the service of the cooked food and the sashimi/sushi. Reservations are recommended as otherwise it can be a long wait to be seated. Goshi’s is family-friendly and staff is friendly and generally knowledgeable. Wine, sake and beer are available.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
578 reviews
479 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and very fresh seafood and very eager management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a well run sushi place in a complex of building near what appears to be once the railway station. It looks to be family owned with the owner very eager to please. There are many lunch combinations with some being built your own options. The seafood is super fresh and beautiful looking. It is of good value and the atmosphere is quite pleasant although simple. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goshi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Goshi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goshi Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.