We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ces't Vrai!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Laurent

Bistro Laurent
1202 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446
805-226-8191
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 156 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Nipomo, California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Ces't Vrai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is authentic French Cuisine with a minor exception. I had an excellent Croque Monsier, while my wife has the shrimp; which we accompanied with a bottle of Badoit... My only criticism is that a true salad Nicoise should not be made with fresh tuna, but rather canned tuna!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    39
    20
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We did the tasting menu and my husband had the wine as well. He was able to try wines that he had never had from both the US and Europe. The chef choices gave us a chance to try new things as well which we enjoyed very much.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“French country... Artisan no longer clear 1st choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

What a welcome lunch surprise... an excellent and authentic French country cafe/bistro in Paso. We had two daily specials: a succulent Beef Marengo, braised with superb sauce, and a king salmon, again with tasty sauce. The ghost of Julia smiles. When we wander up from Santa Barbara we have a new destination.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

A group of 6 of us tried the four course dinner with wine pairings-wow what a great choice! Excellent food, great service, and the wine pairings were perfect. The maître d (Sommelier) was very knowledgeable about both the food and wine. Highly recommend!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A reason to stop for a meal in Paso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I've eaten dinner here several times in the past but stopped for lunch that particular day. Seated on the patio where it's called Le Petit Marcel.Young, enthusiastic, very bright server who was quite helpful. I had the special smoked salmon salad, pommes frites and the berry clafoutis with ice cream. A reasonably priced bottle of a Clavo albarino (which was recommended) was a great pairing with my dish.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Laurent also viewed

Paso Robles, CA
Paso Robles, CA
 
Paso Robles, CA
Paso Robles, CA
 

Been to Bistro Laurent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Laurent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.