We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely start to our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Laurent

Bistro Laurent
1202 Pine St, Paso Robles, CA 93446
805-226-8191
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 139 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
San Marcos, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely start to our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We recently enjoyed a four day trip to Paso for our anniversary. We arrived on a Thursday and chose Bistro Laurent for our late supper. When we arrived there were only a few tables occupied and we chose the wine paired tasting menu. We were started off with a wonderful warm potato and goat cheese appetizer (delicious!) , our second course the pesto ratatouille with escargot (wonderful!), next a beautiful fish course served with creamy lentils (tasty!), then a perfectly cooked filet. All outstanding and the wines were perfectly accompaniments to our courses. The only disappointment was the dessert course, we were served the pineapple clafoutis with coconut sorbet. The sorbet was light and creamy, but I personally didn't care for the clafoutis. We had a lovely dining experience with impeccable service and will be visiting again on our next trip to Paso!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    42
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Bistro Laurent is a wonderful French restaurant. They give excellent service and attention to the customer. They also have a wine shop next door. The customer can buy the bottle and they will uncork it so you can drink it with dinner in the restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food & Wine Pairing Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We happened to enjoy the restaurant during a time when they offered a three course dinner and wine pairing. I cannot begin to pronounce the food or the wines, but the food was expertly prepared, beautifully presented, and delicious. (I am not an expert on French food for comparison, but as a food lover, it was excellent).The sommelier (one of the few, or only, in town as I later found out) did a SUPERB job of matching wines that brought out the food and the flavors of the wine. We were tasting wines we would never have tried otherwise. Attractive setting and decor. Could be loud, but we went on a weekday when it was quieter. Outstanding, welcoming service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Predictably enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Over the years we know what to expect here: charming environment, nice service and very good food and wine pairings. Servers could use a bit more joie de vivre and more explanations about what is being served...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food and wine pairing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have eaten here 4 times in the past 6 years and always have the tasting menu. Over years, the quality of the food has been consistently delicious and the owner knows just what wines to pair with each dish. The space is cozy and charming with a friendly smile welcoming you through the door and servers actually ready to serve. On our last visit, the owner offered to let the chef create the menu for us and then took the extra step of asking if any of us had any food allergies or other needs. He took care to listen (I don't eat meat and do have 2 food allergies) and said that it would not be a problem. And, the meal was GREAT. For an extra $12 (or so), they will pair a glass of wine with each course. It is well worth the few dollars to have just the right wine with each bite.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Laurent also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Bistro Laurent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Laurent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.