We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artisan

Artisan
843 12th Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
805.237.8084
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Artisan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 143 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 12th and Pine
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stopped here for lunch. We had the fried shrimp sandwich and the cubano. Shrimp was excellent. Not heavy breading and tasty. The cubano was delicious. We don't have it often but ordered dessert. We thought we'd give the churros and chocolate a try (everything is made there or grown locally - true farm to table restaurant - and the fish is never frozen - from the water to the kitchen). Please try the churros. These are not your street fair churros. These are delicious! And the chocolate dip is divine!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    92
    30
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Contrary to popular opinion........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This restaurant has dropped in Trip Adviser's ratings, but the change in venue has not affected the food at all!!!!We visited Artisan when it was situated at the other location, and the food was incredible. We went, the first time, to the new location and my husband did not like the restaurant as much. We were seated at a long expanse where there was an banquette and,opposite that, chairs. The atmosphere was no where near what we had come to expect and we were ready to write off the whole thing...until....we went back in July of 2014 and SAT IN THE BAR. What a change! Open, light, airy----the food tasted better (menu has not changed) and the entire meal was a pleasant experience. The service was outstanding and the food was as well. We will most definitely go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch - interesting menu.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The 4 of us shared 4 items from the lunch menu and enjoyed them all. The servings are not huge but we were definitely satisfied when we left. The server was very nice and helped with our choices, The combinations are very creative. We ate in the bar area and watched the bartender make some very interesting drinks. The dining room is quite large and we really liked their use of old windows as decor but the bar area has a more cozy feel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
califorina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“you should be back to #1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We almost didn't go back to the Artisan because you had drop down from last years # 1 on trip advisor' rating to #14 and I don't understand why!!
We had one of the most memorable evenings around food, wine and good friends thatwe have had in awhile
We were walk in on a busy 4th of July weekend seated immediately a very comfortable booth had Kelva? as our server who was so knowledgeable of the food source,the preparation,the taste and presentation she did not miss a beat.
she guided us how many dishes we needed, we did small dishes and mains, specials and menu items
and once we had our food organized we went on to the wine and boy did she make some GREAT suggestions
Thanks again for a great meal and evening!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average expensive poorly served food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our waitress, though cute, kept asking us if our food tasted well. Hmmm. Is that possible? We chose to dine in the bar, as it appeared quiet with a nicer view than the restaurant. It did get busy, but when the assistant manager chose to allow four or five children with their two sets of parents to be seated at the bar (there is a law against that, right?) the bar became a lot busier and nosier. We ordered a small plate and then an entree. The food was nothing special- lots of ingredients- none seemed to work together well. The meal was quite expensive, the bussing staff was good, but the waitress, though pleasant, knew nothing about the menu and not very apologetic about it (or her poor grammar). I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisan also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Artisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artisan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.