We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doing everything right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaks Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Oaks Hotel to your Saves list
The Oaks Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Riverside Avenue, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
solana beach ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Doing everything right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This new hotel should be a model for how to do things right. The rooms are well decorated and spacious with four star amenities: linens, very comfortable beds,refrigerator, good coffee, microwave, large flat screen tv. A very good hot breakfast with quite a few choices is included, with gracious service. Although I didn't use them, the pool, spa and fitness room looked very nice as well. And all of this for $107 plus tax. If you are traveling on 101, Paso Robles is a great stop with excellent restaurants, shops and lots of wineries. The place to stay is The Oaks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    71
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
156
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This new hotel isn't in the newest area of town, but more than makes up for it by good service, quality clean rooms and a decent breakfast that's included. Look for discounts in magazines and the web. Large rooms (get the one with expanded area). Well worth the price. Sitting area, sofa bed, two flat screens. Definitely will make this home for Paso Robles wine trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very large, comfortable room with all the amenities you could want. The friendliness and service of the owners and their staff make this feel more like a Bed & Breakfast. On our frequent trips from Orange County to the Bay Area we usually take the I5, but after meeting Philip and his family we just might have to drive up 101 more often!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time to paso robles and this hotel exceeded all expectations! We were looking for a place under $200 a night and found other reviews that recommended the Oaks. It's clean, the rooms are spacious, and the staff is very accommodating!

We took the train and didn't have a car so Justin personally picked us up!! Talk about service.

They also have a great full breakfast, after dinner cookies, scones, water and tea station all included with your stay. They also have a bar with friendly service!

We took a dip in the pool and jacuzzi which were impeccably clean.

The only possible drawback is the location. It's about 1.7 miles from Downtown but staff will gladly call a taxi for you!

We will be back and would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a Friday funeral to attend in Paso and cousins came from all over the west coast. Mary offered a corporate rate, was personally attentive and accommodating and made the stay very enjoyable. I think the entire clan had a great time and I plan to stay here on our next visit to Paso. We liked the King suite, too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Wow! My husband and I spent a three day weekend at The Oaks and would go back anytime. The room was beautifully appointed and incredibly comfortable, with amenities like bottled water, Seattle’s Best coffee, free wi-fi and cozy robes, as well as a fridge, microwave and flat screen TV.

Located on the outskirts of the downtown area, The Oaks is convenient to Paso’s excellent restaurants and tasting rooms, as well as the wineries located on the surrounding hillsides.

We chose The Oaks so we could include our boxer Tootsie in our weekend in Paso Robles and the hotel is completely dog-friendly, even equipping a corner of the parking lot with a grassy area and fire hydrant for quick outings. Tootsie was made to feel welcome in front of the lobby fireplace and got more attention than even she expected.

The owners Mary and Philip are on the premises and extremely involved with all aspects of the hotel. Philip gave us a list of area restaurants and his own recommendations for dinner – which proved to be extremely accurate.

A full hot breakfast is included in the already quite reasonable price and it was a great way to start each day. In afternoons, cookies, still warm from the oven, appeared in the lobby.

But special kudos to Mary, Phil and the staff of the Oaks for their conscientiousness. We left our iPad behind and quickly received a phone call from Mary, who offered to pack it up and send it immediately. Thank you!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very nice hotel, My wife and I flew in to Paso ( small plane not the rich and famous). Great airport by the way. We were only doing a quick unplanned over night trip. The Oaks Hotel weekday (Mon.) price was $107 plus $12 tax. So we did not expect much but it was the cleanest hotel I have ever seen. They don't have view but they have a great free hot breakfast. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Hotel

Address: 3000 Riverside Avenue, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completed in the fall of 2012, this brand new three story hotel offers ninety spacious rooms and suites, numerous amenities, a selection-rich bar and Indulge, restaurant for breakfast. We invite you to come and explore our new facilities and relax in one of Paso Robles’ finest hotels. Combining eloquent boutique design with modern finishes, The Oaks Hotel is the perfect destination after driving through the gentle rolling hills of vineyards and coastal mountain ranges of Central California. With nearby attractions such as the historic Hearst Castle, over 180 local wineries and quaint family owned shops located downtown, we wish to make you feel at home in between exploring and experiencing the beautiful wine country of Paso Robles. The Oaks Hotel and Suites is your ultimate choice when looking for a comfortable and elegant place to stay during your visit to this beautiful wine country. At The Oaks, you will discover that we are the new standard of comfort and convenience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.