We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comus House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Comus House
2885 Willow Creek Road, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 30 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Don't go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I'm hoping that will keep people away since this really is the type of place you want to keep a secret. We really have never had such a wonderful experience at a B&B...anyplace. Not only is it set in fabulous surroundings (the views are indescribable), but the house itself is a contemporary architectural masterpiece. Somehow it combines concrete, wood, and metal and manages to exude a rare country charm and coziness that is truly unique. The innkeepers Ron and Felisa are the absolute role models for perfection. We felt like friends by the time our short stay was over. We cannot say enough about our stay at Comus House. We will only stay here when we visit the area again.

Room Tip: The Janis has a nice soft bed, it's a bit smaller and has no windows that open at night. The Di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our stay at Comus house was simply divine. As fairly seasoned travelers, Comus House is definitely a solid five stars in luxury and comfort bed and breakfast point of view.
First impression: WoW. Main door opens and you are invited into the living room. High ceilings with floor to ceiling windows. Very grandiose and your eyes are instantly drawn into outside. Vineyard is what you see and you feel very serene and relaxed.

We stayed 2 nights: dirt worshipper and pelletiere. Both are very clean (important factor for us), and great, each with their own appeals. Dirt worshipper has corner windows so you get a great view of the vineyard owned by Denner, and it is bigger room. Firm mattress is exactly how we prefer our bed. Water pressure in shower is good. Although, we later found out that Pelletiere bath is superior as it has shower and separate tub with even stronger water pressure. Comus offers shampoo, conditioner, and in Pelletiere room, you get bonuses like bath salt and bubble bath. Pelletiere room is on the smaller side but we did not mind this. Actually, we prefer this room (although the mattress is softer, but that is personal preference).

During our stay, breakfast was served outside in the patio which we loved. Everything was yummy and filling. Table presentation was a bonus. You can make your own coffee (with the fancy expresso-like-machine) and snack on the delicious blueberry or chocolate with banana sliced pound cake while you wait for your breakfast to be served. I love their wine hour as well. Since they market themselves as B&B, food needs to be quite good, and we think they succeeded in this area. Comus House does have an infinity pool and I believe jacuzzi overlooking the vineyard, but due to city's regulation, guests are now allowed to use them. I know it's very tempting but guests who enjoy their stay should respects the rules.

The innkeepers, Felicia and Ron were friendly, approachable and gave us tips on wineries in Paso Robles. We would definitely come back to try more wineries and would stay here again.

Room Tip: 3 rooms (pelletiere, dirt worshipper and ditch digger) get lovely natural light and faces the breath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

It literally has taken me a week to write this review because this is a place I'm not sure I want to share! And I've been told I'm not the only one who stays here and feels the same way! We were so lucky to stay at the Comus House after friends of ours invited us for a surprise 50th birthday party. If first impressions are everything, then this place is it. From the winding driveway up the hill and through the vines to the detailed custom architecture to the gorgeous infinity pool overlooking the vineyard covered hillsides, this is heaven. Our friends couldn't get over how incredibly peaceful and relaxing this place is. And to add to this heaven on earth? Ron and Felisa are the gold standard (platinum?) when it comes to the perfect hosts. This is no little country B&B, this place exudes style. From the tantalizing gourmet breakfasts in the morning to the fabulous 4 o'clock wine and cheese spreads, to the handwritten thank you note we received when we returned home, we were delighted with their incredible attention to detail. They love what they do and it shows. We were "wowed" and then some. We stayed in the Ditchdigger room which was spacious and comfy. We will most definitely be back. Shhhh...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a very special place. We stayed 2 nights in The Pelletiere, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Three of the 4 rooms overlook the gorgeous valley and rolling vineyard hills. Everything is set up for comfort, and it's hard to leave the inn to taste the wines of the region, but you must make time for that as well. The outstanding wines of Paso Robles is a secret that's beginning to get out.

Our hosts, Don and Felisa, couldn't have been nicer, and their breakfasts were wonderful. They laid out a cheese plate for us each evening, along with a nice glass of a Denner wine. The inn is a part of the Denner Winery (some of the best of the region), and wine club members get a discount at the inn.

The house is available for sitting and visiting, and so it is ideal to book with friends.

Room Tip: The Pelletiere is the only room with a tub, if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a can't miss. Stayed during zin feat and had a fantastic time. Home an setting is great. Our hosts were fantastic. Only 4 rooms so make your reservations early. Will be back next year. Already made our reservations

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This gorgeous house sits on top of a hill in the middle of beautiful Paso Robles wine region. The 360 views of the surrounding Denner Vineyards is absolutely breathtaking. The inn is comfortable, very tastefully decorated, and very convenient to the bulk of the westside vineyards. The afternoon cheese & wine pairing, the views, and the hospitality of the innkeepers, Ron & Felisa, makes this b&b a perfect spot for a weekend get away!

We stayed at the Janis room which was comfortable but small. We recommend the DitchDigger or DirtWorshipper.

Room Tip: DitchDigger or DirtWorshipper would be our choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed at the Comus House for 3 nights in early July. We had the Janis room which is in the front of the house. There are 4 rooms total. The rooms and the house in general are immaculate. The house is unbelievably beautiful. Felisa is a great host and cooks a fantastic breakfast in the morning. The views from the house are unreal as the house sits atop a hill overlooking much of Paso. The convenience of the house cannot be beat. You are within an easy drive of all of the great wineries in the area. Only negative is that the House has a beautiful pool with an infinite edge which looks out toward the valley and the "Tuscanesque" setting, but the County will not allow guests to use it. You have to sign a statement acknowledging that you won't use it. But that minor flaw would not prevent me from booking this B&B in the future. The cost is well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comus House

Address: 2885 Willow Creek Road, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Location: United States > California > Paso Robles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comus House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Comus House to your Saves list