We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estrella

Estrella
815 12th Street, Down town on the park, Paso Robles, CA 93446
+1 805-226-5406
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Estrella is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 139 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Park St
Transit: AM Track Train Depot 2 blocks south on cross street -Pine street
Description: 11-2 Lunch daily - 11-2:30 Fri, sat Dinner 5-10 pm Daily. A beautiful restaurant down town directly on the city park in a gorgeous old brick bldg., "Modern Latin" menu w/ influences from Spain, Argentina and the Mexico. Large groups, rehearsal dinners and private parties welcomed. Executive Chef Travis Borba, Michael Learned and team, offer fresh, savory dishes w/out heavy sauces. More popular dishes include 3 varieties of Chile Relleno, Patagonia NY Strip, Enchaladas and moist fish entrees. Prime Rib-Eye Steaks with a fantastic Chimichurri sauce. The house made Sangria is well known, and compliments the long list of remarkable local wines and brews. Very friendly service and professional decor complete with handmade furniture and plush upholstered chairs. Beautiful Patio dining out front overlooking the city park - 815 12TH ST ACROSS FROM THE PARK GAZEBO, find us open table
Solvang, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stopped by for dinner before going to the Mid State Fair. Great food, excellent service. Scallop appetizers, chicken/chorizo taquitos, crab chili Relleno. Will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    70
    27
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Spicy and delish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I wish Estrella was closer to me...I'd want to eat there regularly! We were visiting Paso Robles wine country from the Bay Area and chose Estrella, based on TA reviews, and were so happy that we did! Located right on the square, the decor was clever, colorful and warm and we were greeted warmly, as well. There were a few outdoor tables and some in the bar area, but we opted for the dining room, which was very pleasant.

The service was attentive and friendly and upon being seated, we were brought warm, home made chips with a corn salsa, also home made. We began with the house salad, which was very good, garnished with tortilla strips, and then I ordered the plantain crusted halibut and the hubs had the corn and crab chile rellenos...both spicy and truly delicious!! The plantain crust was delicate, the fish cooked to perfection and wonderful, tender crisp, spicy veggies were served on the side...mmmmm....I can almost taste it all now! My husband said the rellenos were the best he'd ever had!

We just loved our southwestern meals in the midst of wine country...speaking of which, we each had a glass of one of their Spanish or Argentinian deep, dark, red wines on the menu. Our server helped us choose one to our liking and allowed us to taste it, after hearing our preferences. It was a perfect accompaniment to our dinners and such a generous pour!

If you find yourself in this area and like southwestern cuisine, you really need to dine here...there was just nothing not to like!!! We'll be back...just not soon enough!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“5*+ outstanding - yum,yum,yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Nice ambience, good service, excellent food...we loved it so much we decided to return for dinner the next night. Right on the main square in downtown Paso Robles, Estrella was the best find of our California trip. An interesting menu full of southwest flavors. To start, they brought us a complimentary black bean and corn salsa with housemade chips, very delicious. The house green salad was also full of flavor, with oranges and jicama. A $10 entree salad had moist, tender slices of chicken, half an avocado, black beans, corn, cotija cheese, tortilla strips and a delicious dressing on a bed of fresh greens. The pork chile verde special was also great. All this plus two glasses of an excellent local zin came to a very reasonable $63.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistantly good in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I've had lunch at Estrella several times, and have always left happy. Their Beef Short Rib tacos, Fiesta Jerk Chicken, Braised Beef Enchiladas, Mahi-Mahi Tacos, Cremita Poblano Sandwich . . . all have been delicious. There's limited outdoor frontage seating, and the interior of the restaurant is very nice, as well. Our server has always been helpful, and they have nice wines to offer, of which you may taste, if you wish, before making your selection. The lunch menu is a bit expensive, but doable for those of us needing to watch our wallets. Beware of any restaurant in downtown Paso Robles, however, especially for dinner - PR prices it's downtown offerings like Beverly Hills or Santa Monica, so most of us locals are priced out of enjoying these places with any regularity.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Rehearsal Dinner Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had dinner at Estrella when we first visited Paso Robles with our son and Daughter-in-law back in March. The food was absolutely delicious, the service was excellent and we also loved the decor. We were absolutely thrilled when we heard that they would be able to accommodate our group of 50 for our Rehearsal Dinner that we were hosting! We couldn't have been more pleased with how our party turned out. All of the guests thoroughly enjoyed their appetizers, salads, entrees and desserts! The employees were extremely friendly and efficient and we could not have asked for a more wonderful evening! We highly recommend this restaurant for a family dinner or as a perfect spot to host a party!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estrella also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Estrella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.