We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Estrella” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estrella

Estrella
815 12th Street, Down town on the park, Paso Robles, CA 93446
805-226-5406
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Estrella is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 156 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Park St
Transit: AM Track Train Depot 2 blocks south on cross street -Pine street
Description: 11-2 lunch daily - 11-2:30 Fri, sat Dinner 5-10pm Daily A beautiful restaurant down town directly on the city park in a gorgeous brick bldg., "Latin Riviera" menu w/ influences from Spain, South America, and the Caribbean. Rehearsal Dinners and private parties welcomed. Executive Chef Ryan Swarthout, Travis Borba and team offer fresh, savory dishes w/out heavy sauces. Famous housemade Sangria!! Tequila shrimp tacos, housemade chili relleno, enchiladas or Prime cut Rib-eye steak with chimi churri sauce- Very friendly service and professional decor. Extensive Cali beer list and local and imported wines. Beautiful Patio dining out front - 815 12TH ST ACROSS FROM THE PARK GAZEBO, CALL #226 5406 for reservations
La Palma, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Estrella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Latin menu. The braised beef tamales were very good. Seasoned rice and vegetables were excellent. Good wine choices and reasonable prices for a glass of wine. Nice atmosphere. Attentive and prompt service. One of the top restaurants in Paso Robles. Located opposite of the downtown park.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    60
    21
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in a Nice Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went to Estrella expecting unique flavors of a fusion “Latin Riviera” cuisine, and we were not disappointed. There was an esoteric selection of dishes from Spain, Mexico, South America and the Caribbean area. The dishes were delicious, and the accompanying wine from the local region (suggested by our waiter) complemented it well. A very welcome respite during our drive from Santa Cruz to Los Angeles!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss Estrella for an excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic dining experience in 8/2013. We were strolling around the town square and happened upon this fantastic restaurant. We sat at the bar and enjoyed a glass of wine (outstanding wine choices!), waiting for a few minutes for a table to open. The hostess was warm and welcoming, as well as the bartender. We were seated at the window table. The fusion menu is fun and interesting. Everything we ordered was delicious. Our waiter was fantastic and suggested we start with the 3 empanadas. It was a perfect tapas. I had the carnitas salad even though we live in an area of fantastic Mexican food. It is likely the best salad I have ever eaten. Very different - pineapple and citrus flavored. My husband had the pork chops and they can be hit or miss. They were crisp, yet juicy. Couldn't get enough of the empanadas so we got the dessert version to go - also delicious! All the staff we encountered were warm & professional. We were pleasantly surprised when the chef stopped by our table to ask about our meal. Estrella really cares!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You must have the Estrellaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stopped in for a drink after a long day of wine tasting. We sat outside and had their very special drink, the Estrellarita. WOW...wonderful!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a fine discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Downtown Paso Robles has a number of quality restaurants on the beautiful town square, and Estrella ranks among the finest. The service was attentive and welcoming, the decor lovely and food was savory, flavorful and served hot. The glazed pork chop was the hit of the evening, beautifully seasoned, perfectly cooked and presented.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estrella also viewed

Paso Robles, CA
Paso Robles, CA
 

Been to Estrella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.