We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wines, great views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calcareous Vineyard

Calcareous Vineyard
3430 Peachy Canyon Rd, Paso Robles, CA 93446
805-239-0289
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 121 activities in Paso Robles
Type: Wineries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Come visit Calcareous' tasting room, perched atop the hills of Paso Robles above the expansive Salinas Valley with a view that takes your breath away. A journey to "Lloyd's Lookout" will offer you award winning wines, spectacular views and beautifully landscaped outdoor picnic grounds. This site was designed specifically for visitors wanting to escape the routines of their daily lives and relish in an extraordinary wine-tasting experience. In this spirit we offer private winery tours by appointment and wine and food pairings featuring local organic fare. Pairings are available from 12 - 3pm each Saturday and Sunday.
League City, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great wines, great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a beautiful tasting room perched on a hill top with 360 degree views. I thought the wines were also exceptional. It was a great place, late in the afternoon, to get a glass of wine with their charcuterie plate and enjoy the grounds.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good spot for a picnic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We tasted six wines today at Calcareous Vineyard. It's reached by a twisty road from
Paso Robles. We did a shared tasting for ten dollars, which was fine, and enjoyed the white variety and several reds. Our tasting fee was waived when we bought a bottle of
Tres Violet and took it out to have with a picnic lunch under a lovely olive tree. You're high on a hill so the views are great.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Beautiful location with a fabulous view. Their wine is very good. A bit pricey though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oneof my favorite wineries in Paso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The view from Lloyd's lookout is absolutely amazing. Bring a baguette and cheese, buy a terrific Zin from the tasting room and soak in the outdoors. Can't be beat! The wines are great too.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Bit overrated, but average+ to us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Calcareous Vineyard, 3430 Peachy Canyon Rd. Tapas and wine on Wednesdays, 4-7 (winery opens at 11). The wine tasting fee is $10 or 2-4-1 if you mention the ad (it pays to look thru all those goodies from the VC and in your room…Access Visitor Guide). 5 wines were being offered priced from $28-38. The drive is a bit long, very windy and slow (for some). The views are outstanding from the site, but most of the tables cannot get that view because of a large berm around the property. The wine is so strong that we go inside for good after we take a few pictures and admire the view thru all the blowing dust. There is a large number of tables and chairs outside. One table, seating 8, is inside 9we were not joined at that table while we were there). We arrived shortly after 4:15, so we beat any crowd they may get. The tapas were neither cheap nor large, but about as expected. A pizza was offered without sauce, but topped with arugula on it. A couple sitting outside at one of the full view tables ordered it. When I went to see what it looked like, I saw that the arugula had all blown off! We opted for the steak bit sliders. There were two with a bit of salad and 3 ounces of wine for $16. The sliders were good, but the salad dressing was horrible with the wine! Someone goofed in their pairings. The final choice was a taco plate. As a package, this Wednesday “deal” and tasting is somewhat Recommended. Wine by the glass is $9. Other wines offered for sale ranged from $20 to 44. Good service, no pressure.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calcareous Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Calcareous Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calcareous Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Calcareous Vineyard to your Saves list