We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down home mexican food in the foothills of Wine Country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Robles Cafe

Los Robles Cafe
1420 Spring St, Paso Robles, CA 93446-2144
805-239-8525
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 151 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Description: Phone: 805-239-8525
Restaurant details
Description: Phone: 805-239-8525
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Down home mexican food in the foothills of Wine Country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you want a change from fu fu Paso Robles wine country cuisine, can't really go wrong with Los Robles. Still here after earthquake retrofitting work was completed, it has authentic street tacos with the vertical spit right in front of restaurant. Hey -- it's an open kitchen, right?

Nothing fancy. But in PR, you figure if locals come here, it's got to be doing something right. Go for the tacos el pastor and be careful: Portions are generous.

Would I drive to PR just for this restaurant? No, it's no Michelin 2 star restaurant. But if I'm coming down the hills and looking at a hot drive on the 101, this would be a good place to stop and ground yourself back in reality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Al Pastor is magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is really a hole in the wall but friendly with swift service. They bring chips with two sauces,,one red and one green avocado sauce that is so delicious you could drink it or slather it on anything and it would be divine. Don't fill up on the chips because you would miss their Al Pastor, the most delicious roasted and marinated pork that you can order in a dozen different ways. The portions are enormous.They season everything very well so if salt offends you this is not your place!! Burritos,enchiladas and tostadas,,,mexican home cooking at its finest!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“First and Last”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stopped here for dinner but wished we had chosen differently. Albeit we have only eaten here one time, it was enough to try something different next time in Paso Robles.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Food is not the best but fresh and flavorful. Maybe because we came in at the end of the day, the meats were a bit dry. Staff very courtius, let us in as they were closing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

After a few wine tastings we needed some food -and Los Robles delivered. The staff was helpful and friendly, the atmosphere is bare bones and no thrills -which for lunch(at his point in our day) is exactly what we needed. We had the tacos and a burrito ...both were excellent. The verde salsa(?) is blow your mind good! For a casual Mexican bite in Paso -this would be a great choice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Robles Cafe also viewed

Paso Robles, CA
Paso Robles, CA
 

Been to Los Robles Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Robles Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.