We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem tucked in the middle of more expensive hotels, wonderful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melody Ranch Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Melody Ranch Motel to your Saves list
Melody Ranch Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   939 Spring Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Paso Robles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bakersfield
1 review
“Little gem tucked in the middle of more expensive hotels, wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed with family of 7, got 2 rooms with 2 beds in each and next to each other. Beds are a little hard but not uncomfortable. Owners were very accomodating and helpful. You can tell they want a positive experience. Even called to ask if we had left my husband's reading glasses in room after last person checked out behind us. Room clean, a little small but not claustrophobic. Got a great price. Location just blocks from movie theater, sandwich, hamburger spots, Cold Stone and a great park in the center. Reminded me of an old town square. Felt very safe walking at night.
Will definitely choose this place again. Same American family has owned motel since 1964. That's unheard of nowadays! Better call ahead as rooms fill fast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    41
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
43
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

MY wife and I stay here several times a year on little "get aways" and have nothing but good to say...although I didn't get a grasshopper in my room!! Maybe you need to order one in advance? I'll speak to the owner next time I'm there.
Great little motel!
JB

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

The location is awesome. It is walking distance to the park, shops, and restaurants. And the price was $100 lower than the Paso Robles Inn.

However, it IS an old motel. The rooms were clean (though did have a grasshopper in the room one night), the a/c is loud, and the walls are a little thin.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

This is a perfect place from which it is easy to discover the wine gardens. Possible to walk to the center (5 min). We ate breakfast in one very nice local dinery. The room was big, a bit old, but clean. The best about this motel was nice service. We could choose which room we wanted to stay in. Later on the staff adviced us about the Mid State Fair. Very cheap for living in the center of Paso Robles. And good value!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden state
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

This is a little jewel hidden in plain view on the main street of Paso Robles, within easy walking distance of the town square, restaurants , and the most famous hotel in town. It is a classic California motor court with all rooms at ground level, facing a large parking area and a swimming pool. It is old and the rooms are small, but the ice machine is new and everything is immaculately clean and well maintained. One end is shaded by a massive 200 year old oak tree that deserves historical landmark status. I'm sure that real estate developers would love the chance to bulldoze everything and build a modern monstrosity here, but the motel has been owned and operated by the same family for almost 50 years and they don't plan to sell. The room rates are a bargain.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

What you would expect form a motel. The rooms were clean, the staff were not very helpful and they still had Christmas decorations up in March. It is walking distance from the main square were most the bars and restaurants are.

A cheap place to stay while visiting the delights of Paso Robles.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melody Ranch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melody Ranch Motel

Address: 939 Spring Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Melody Ranch Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Melody Ranch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melody Ranch Hotel Paso Robles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melody Ranch Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.