We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A vista with great Zin you will NEVER forget!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Quails Vineyards Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paso Robles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Quails Vineyards Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Seven Quails Vineyards Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1340 Valley Quail Place, P.O. Box 1570, Paso Robles, CA 93447   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A vista with great Zin you will NEVER forget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

When planning our first trip to Paso we saw the great reviews for Seven Quails on Tripadvisor. We routinely stay in B&B's to meet people and experience that "home away from home" feeling no matter where we are around the globe. Our perfect experience with Seven Quails started immediately upon our booking. Karina emailed us such valuable tips and weblinks that our trip was basically planned out for us. Some of you may have experienced overly positive photos from the places you visited previously that did not come close to reality. Let me say that NO photos can come close to describing the incredible beauty of Seven Quails and its vista overlooking Paso! I have traveled to 31 countries and ALL across this great country we call America, and this visual experience would make anyone's top ten list! Lets not forget hospitality! David and Karina are the ultimate innkeepers. Your needs are greatly exceeded. The breakfast alone should rate Michelin Guide stars! The rooms are spacious. Finally, the Zinfandel David produces is first rate. Seven Quails needs to be on your "bucket list".

Room Tip: Vineyard view room is the top choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
818nev, Owner at Seven Quails Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Wow! Your really did like our wine!? And the view too? Well, we can’t take any credit for the view ; as for the wine, well let’s just say it was a very good year for our estate grapes and the winemaker didn’t trash what nature provided.

We thank you for appreciating what God provided us. Too often we who live here take what you commented on for granted. So thanks for calling our attention to what we have: a great view, some decent wine (well we like it too) and guests who make our lives so much more interesting and richer with their visits.

Here’s a Karina and Dave maxim: We don’t have to undergo all those airport security friskings for the very interesting people come to visit us, a big business bonus (don’t tell the IRS, they’ll try and tax it ;-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
186
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The property and hospitality at Seven Quails were exceptional. We enjoyed the spacious bathroom & bedroom, the beautiful dining area and vineyard views. The breakfasts were fabulous, colorful and fresh and they graciously catered to my healthy eating ideas with a smile. Sharing wine and conversation with the guests and hosts on the first evening of our visit was a friendly treat. Dave and Katrina took time to learn of our interests and suggested a fabulous chamber music concert in town the next evening and helped us get the tickets. We had just one full day to explore Paso and we so appreciated their recommendations for winery visits. One more example of their fine service. . .we're from the Phoenix area and our Paso stay was delightfully cooler than the valley in July. So Katrina switched the bedding to match my chilly needs! Now that's great service!! We've already told some of our friends to stay with them when visiting Paso.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
818nev, Owner at Seven Quails Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks for the kind words about the food, wine, service, accommodations and chamber music. We very much appreciate being appreciated for at our age (+65 and then some) kudos do make us feel relevant. So a big welcome (back) to you and your Phoenix friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We sat down at dinner tonight and opened a bottle of "Dave's Garage Zinfandel" which was wonderful and realized we had never written a review from our stay at Seven Quails in June.
Dave and Karina are wonderful hosts and made us feel more like family than guests. This B&B is one of the best we have stayed in and we will definitely be going back again. The accommodations were great and the food was delicious. We can hardly wait for our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
818nev, Owner at Seven Quails Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks for the kudos about our estate wine. Glad you enjoyed it. We are indeed fortunate. Seven Quails’ local terroir provides much of the structure and intense flavors that are present in Dave’s Garage Wine. God and nature provided the rest. As an aside, for those reading this response who are unfamiliar with the term garage wine, Google™ the term for a full explanation.
As for being part of the family, well we are part of the same family, some just more distantly related than others. When you come into our home you are many , many degrees closer, part of our family. It’s our vision of what a B&B is all about. So welcome back whenever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Everything about this stay was over the top, starting with arriving and spending an hour with Katrina and Dave sharing some wine and talking what a wonderfully relaxing way to start our stay.

The three course breakfasts were wonderful, very refreshing using fresh ingredients, prepared expertly and presented beautifully.

Katrina and Dave do not miss a chance to make you feel completely at home.

A stay we will remember and can not recommend highly enough, you must try it. We will definitely go it again.

Room Tip: It is a small B&B with the most beautiful views there are absolutely no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
818nev, Owner at Seven Quails Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Appreciation is a two way street. We really do value spending time with our guests. We have traveled to so many places we’ll never see in person, experienced so much, learned through other eyes and ears. What a gift to us, our guests. We are so much richer for the people that have graced our door step. We try and show our appreciation with the food we serve, the care taken in room preparation, the wine and nibbles. So thank you for your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We loved our stay at Seven Quails. We had a beautiful room with a lovely view of the hills. And, the bathroom was over the top! Everytlhing was exceptionally clean and inviting. Karina and Dave made fabulous three course breakfasts each day and made our stay very relaxing. The location was great because you are out in the country but very near town and many wineries. Everything was very clean and inviting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
818nev, Owner at Seven Quails Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks for spreading the word that we’re private yet accessible, seemingly remote yet near the action, and civilized too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddell, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our daughter found this b&b for us and what a find it is! The setting is perfect: secluded, peaceful, beautiful panoramic views of the vineyards and orchards. Everything about this place has been carefully thought out from the comfortable, charming outdoor areas to the tastefully decorated and appointed rooms. The bathroom which has a fantastic multi-spray shower and large separate tub is supplied with toiletries, a heated towel rack, and lush towels. Bed linens are so smooth and comfortable. The room has a mini frig with both bottled and Brita water. If you get the munchies there is a basket filled with goodies. Now for the breakfasts, wow what a culinary event! You need to be hungry for the three course meal beautifully presented and carefully coordinated for tastes and textures. Dave and Karina are excellent cooks and clearly enjoy what they do. The presentation (fine china, lovely linens, al fresco setting) certainly adds to the wow factor. In the evenings we enjoyed sitting on the patio with Dave, Karina and the other guests. We had pleasant conversations while enjoying Dave's Garage wine. You will never find more gracious hosts. We plan to visit here again and feel like we've made good friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
818nev, Owner at Seven Quails Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
It takes our guests to remind us that this is a bit of paradise . Tranquil, imbedded within but at peace with nature, remote yet near, with a feast for the eyes; things we didn’t experience in our past city lives. So thank you for appreciating this and reminding us not to take this gift for granted.

As for the food and other accoutrements, we value our guest’s comments. They are the encouragement we need to keep improving , developing new menus, different touches, better service. Thank you and don’t be strangers to our door step.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in B&B’s around the world and this is one of the best. Our hosts Dave and Karina welcomed and treated us more like family than just guests renting a room for a few nights. I read all of the other reviews of Seven Quails and I couldn’t agree more. The views are spectacular, the home is beautiful, the fresh flowers are a great touch, the artwork is fantastic, the bed is comfortable and their wines are darn good. What more could you ask?
Ah yes the breakfast –Wow!!! This isn’t your normal bagels, buns and butter B&B breakfast. Oh no, this is a full blown gourmet feast for the eyes stomach and soul. It is custom designed for you based on your likes, dislikes allergies etc. that you give them before you arrive. Weather permitting; it’s served on their patio overlooking the Santa Lucia Mountain range. On a clear day Dave said you can see 60 miles–and I believe him. It is a spectacular way to begin your day. I guarantee this meal will get you through a round of golf, winery tours, a Hearst Castle visit or shopping.
I should also mention, for us early risers, there is French press coffee, regular and decaf, tea and juice available before breakfast. It’s served along with a little treat such as chocolate biscotti on a table in the great room. If you do not know how to operate a French coffee press, just ask Dave, he will show you.

Of the two bedrooms, “A room with a view” located in the rear of the home, as its name implies, has a fantastic view and a larger bathroom with a tub. However the “Sunnyside up” room, in the front, is as large and for those of you traveling with children or another couple, has a second smaller bedroom with it. The bathroom connects to both bedrooms and has a large shower but no tub.
We didn’t feel like we missed any view in “Sunnyside up” because we spent early morning and late afternoon on the patio in the rear. Any other time we were in the room it was dark. Speaking of late afternoon, Dave and Karina would serve some nibbles along with some great conversation on the patio. For you photo opt fans the landscape texture changes at dusk are just fantastic.
I should also mention as locals, Dave and Karina are great sources of knowledge for what restaurants and wineries you would like based on your personal preferences. I mentioned to Dave several wineries we planned to visit based on things I had read on the internet. Dave sized up my choices and then, very adroitly, suggested the names of three alternative wineries we might want to visit. He was absolutely spot on with his choices.

In summary, our two night stay at Seven Quails on July 23rd and 24th was the perfect ending to our vacation that began with our son’s wedding in Palos Verdes and ended here in Paso Robles. We feel as if we not only gained a daughter-in-law on this trip but also two new friends as well. Seven Quails gives us yet another reason to make that long cross country flight from DC. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
818nev, Owner at Seven Quails Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Whoa! Fair warning: we don’t do dinner but twice a week. Seriously, we appreciate your words of support. Reminds us to keep on the right track, to please our guests however we can. Speaking of which, we are really happy you enjoyed the wines. It is a bit of a struggle to get the grapes to grow on this hill top. So we especially appreciate the “their wines are darn good” remark. God, nature, Karina and Dave: now that’s a good team.

It’s a long way from your neck of the woods to ours but we do hope that you find a way to bridge that gap again. Thanks for taking the time to extensively comment on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Quails Vineyards Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Quails Vineyards Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1340 Valley Quail Place, P.O. Box 1570, Paso Robles, CA 93447
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Seven Quails, an intimate, luxurious two-suite bed and breakfast for four to six people. Roosting on a hilltop with a necklace of vineyards, the Inn is located just west of Paso Robles amongst California's answer to the terroir of France's Rhone Valley, the west side vineyards of Paso Robles. Seven Quails is about many things: a vineyard, the land, remembrances, nature as it used to be, spectacular views, peace and quiet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seven Quails Vineyards Bed And Breakfast
Seven Quails Vineyards Hotel Paso Robles
7 Quails Vineyards Bed & Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Quails Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.