We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reach for the stars....and more Pinot :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asuncion Ridge

Save Saved
You added Asuncion Ridge to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Asuncion Ridge
725 12th Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Up to 20% off Room Rates
Ranked #14 of 31 Paso Robles B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reach for the stars....and more Pinot :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I planned a birthday weekend trip for my girlfriend and our best friends and relied solely on what I read and researched online which can be nerve racking but the Yelp Reviews were 100 % correct: Phillip is the warmest, sweetest, most considerate host/ wine maker I have met. His Inn is beautiful on all levels. We had dinner at Schnooners Wharf on the beach of Cayucos which I would also recommend. The drive is a little adventure in itself but the pay off is the feeling of being so close to the stars that deep conversations are instore as well as the pointing out of at leaset 5 shooting stars. The area has a lot of wineries and the beach is also close. We found ourselves stalling to leave the inn and making excuses to come back just to sit on the deck with Phillip's incredible Pinot Noirs. Needless to say--we will be back and we will be referring anyone who is heading to the area. Thanks Phillip :)

Room Tip: You cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We wanted a B&B instead of the usual motels in Paso. We found Philip's inn by recommendation and were not disappointed. He is a gracious and friendly host. The inn is on a hilltop surrounded by sun, sea, stars, lovely old oaks, and gardens planted by Philip.
We arrived to a welcoming glass of Asuncion Ridge Pinot Noir---we too brought his wine home.
The house is large and beautifully decorated in Tuscan style befittting the surrounding hillside. The entire house is open to guests and very comfortable for reading, napping, talking with other guests, or gazing at the view.
We enjoyed the drive up the hill from the 101. The speed limit is slow which makes it easy to see turkey, hawks and deer as you work your way up the hill. The drive to Paso Robles is very easy.
Book your room at this inn. Philip will make sure that you are not disappointed---we did like the fact that he took time to sit with us and tell us how he came to own this lovely place--a very good story.

Room Tip: All three guest rooms are well done---we picked the Zinfandel because it had a walk in shower as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My fiance and I were eloping and wanted a private, romantic location. Philip definitely went above and beyond to make this trip amazing for us. The stunning views were just the beginning of this magical land where cows graze, Morro Bay is visible over the hills, and the cozy, Tuscan-style b&b invites you to relax. Not only did Philip upgrade our room, provide a bottle of champagne for us following our vow ceremony, but really made us feel welcome, like a part of the family. It was such a delight to wake up every morning to a beautiful breakfast (french toast omelet!!), french press coffee and wonderful conversation. And the wine.... Barrel Select Pinot Noir.. there is nothing like it! Thank you, Philip, for everything!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Booked a room for my wife's birthday based on reviews and we were not disapointed. The room/bed was very comfortable and the house has been well designed for guests and is very well decorated. It was a little inclimate on Saturday due to a system that rolled through on the night before but on Sunday we got a great view as you can see all the way Morro Rock an the ocean.

Philip was a great host and made a couple of awesome breakfasts and in the evening he puts out a sampling of his fine wine which we enjoyed so much we brought about a case home after visitng the tasting room in Paso. It's just under a 20 minute drive upfrom 101 but well worth it.

Do yourself a favor a book a stay at the Assuncion Ridge Inn. You'll avoid the hotel crowds, get an awesome view of the Central Coast,great food and wine and some relaxation. Plus it's an easy drive into Paso if you want to sample some of the local eateries for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My wife and I were visiting the central coast and stumbled across this wonderful B&B and winery and are so glad that we did. The property is magnificant with views to Morro Bay and ocean beyond, and of Oak tree studded hillsides dotted with Cattle. The proprietor, Philip, was a gracious host and an incredible chef too. We stayed in the large room with the fireplace. On our first night the fog rolled in and through the tall windows of our room the uplighting created sparkles and shimmering light as the fog rolled through the Oak tree grove adjacent to our private deck. And the bed was so comfortable too.

We had the opportunity to taste the Asuncion Ridge wine. Wow, the 2008 Pinot was off the chart. We bought a case. We are planning a future trip and will bring our friends. Philip said he would do a winemaker's dinner for us if we book all three rooms for the weekend. It is a very special place and truly a rare find,

Room Tip: If you book during the week and they are not full, you may be upgraded like we did the larger suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I had a business engagement in the Paso Robles area and were fortunate enough to meet someone who recommended the Asuncion Ridge B & B. The location is about 10 minutes off the freeway, high in the hills. I have to admit that my husband and I were wondering what we had done as we followed the precise directions provided by our host to reach the B & B. (Try to arrive during daylight as your GPS won't work in the hills). However, when we reached the house at the top of the ridge surrounded by rolling hills and the ocean in the horizon, all concerns quickly evaporated.

We were warmly greeted by the housekeeper who showed us the house which is exquisitely decorated with views from every window. We were shown to our room with it's king size bed, private bath and lovely patio with chaise lounges for relaxing. Wine glasses and wine from their vineyard were on the counter to enjoy. Phillip, our charming and hospitable host, joined us later in the afternoon. Philip is also a chef so our breakfasts in the sunny dining room with the other guests was a perfect way to start the day.

We look forward to returning to Asuncion; it was lovely, both food for the soul and for the stomach. Phillip is the perfect host. We are hoping to return with friends as Phillip is also available to host private parties. Thus, you could have a private dinner (you choose the menu) with no concerns about driving after having had a bit of the grape. Just a few steps to your bedroom when the evenings festivities are over. Now, that sounds like a great plan!

Room Tip: One suite (beautiful) and 2 smaller lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here last Memorial Day (2010) weekend and vowed to return, bring friends, and rent all three rooms. Last year we were celebrating my husband's successful cancer surgery, this year we wanted to bring friends with us.

This year, we again stayed for two nights, and had a fantastic time! Our two couple friends were both wine lovers, and like us, amateur astronomers, so not only did we enjoy the inn by day, but turned off all the lights after dark, set up five telescopes on the patios and grassy lawn looking down towards Morro Rock, and held a star party for ourselves, vintner and innkeeper Philip and some of his friends.

Last year my hubby and I stayed in the Zinfandel Suite, and this year we took the huge Pinot Noir Suite. We just loved it - the tub with picture windows overlooked giant oak trees was fabulous! The king bed was super comfy, with first class linens, great art, interesting knick knacks (giraffe bookends, for example). It's just a perfect room.

The three couples really enjoyed having the place to ourselves, especially as we wanted to turn off all the lights for our dark sky star party.

When we first arrived, several wines were set out for tasting along with some yummy almonds. One couple drove from SF and the other two of us drove from the LA area. We all convened at about 5 p.m. and enjoyed winding down with the lovely Asuncion Ridge wines. After we unpacked, we all jumped into one car for dinner in Morro Bay at the Black Cat Bistro. It's a 45 minute drive to either Paso Robles or the coast, so make dinner reservations, and allow time for driving to and from. The drive is beautiful, with herds of longhorn cattle (one is on Asuncion Ridge's wine labels). After dinner, we sat and talked back at the inn for hours and hours - it was raining so no star party that night. Philip set out some lovely port, and more of his wines. He joined us later in the evening, too. He asked us when we'd like breakfast and we agreed on about 8 a.m.

We all started stirring at about 8 and the French pressed coffee was waiting for the early risers. When we were all assembled, Philip donned a chef's white coat, set up a buffet of fruit, yogurt, juice, granola, milk and made souffles, or crustless quiches, or baked eggs. Sunday morning we were served rameklins ofegg, pancetta, gruyere, leeks, and Monday morning we had eggs with spicy vegetarian chorizo. We had leisurely breakfasts, and we really enjoyed having the place to ourselves. Sunlight poured in from big windows everywhere, and there are lovely sight lines no matter where you look inside. When not together, there are nooks to ready alone everywhere inside and out. We all had time to be alone , or quiet but near our friends. This is true even if you are with people you don't know here. Lots of privacy.

The service was so spot-on, we felt like we owned the place and that Philip was our friend who came to visit, not just our host. I can't recommend Philip or Asuncion Ridge enough!

The highlight, as if the room, food, stargazing, and camaraderie weren't enough, was when Philip invited us to barrel taste some of his wines! We got a lesson in winemaking, saw all the big equipment used to de-stem, sort, crush, and tasted several young wines in barrels. He then made a blend of three grapes! This was totally our favorite moment of a perfect weekend.

We're already planning to come back next Memorial Day weekend (I hope). It will also be a favorable sky watching, wine tasting, and relaxing-in-luxury weekend.

Best: everything, and worth every penny!
Least: leaving when the weekend was over :'-(

Room Tip: All three rooms are great/quiet with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Asuncion Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asuncion Ridge

Address: 725 12th Street, Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Paso Robles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Paso Robles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just thirty minutes from our downtown tasting room,is our 320 Acre vineyard estate with luxury suites, stunning ocean and forest vistas and gormet meals. Complimentary wine tasting and discounts at our downtown tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Asuncion Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asuncion Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;