We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very goos Sushi, Friendly Chefs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yanagi Sushi

Yanagi Sushi
1221 Park St, Paso Robles, CA 93446
805-226-8867
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 159 Restaurants in Paso Robles
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Restaurant details
Trabuco Canyon, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very goos Sushi, Friendly Chefs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

THey have the most extensive list of Rolls of any Sushi Restaurant I have been in, The prices are less that we pay in South O.C. and the Atmosphere is rambunctious, If you dont like loud Dont eat here, We however Loved it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Less than average food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Looking for a quick bite we ran across this restaurant, near park in town of Paso Robles. I thought the wait and sushi chefs were very pleasant and attentive which is very important for dinning experience, but the food was less than average. The most important element of good sushi is the quality of rice, it needs to be cooked properly! It was the first thing I noticed, especially being from Los Angeles. It was under cooked and bit on a soggy side, maybe it was a bad batch? My wife did enjoy their salmon skin rolls, in fact she thought it was one of the best. The cuts of fish were smaller than I'm used to and did not taste fresh.
As noted by other reviews, I did observe older woman who later was confirmed as the owner, not being pleasant to those around her. I thought it was on a expensive side, especially for the quality of food. According to our sushi chef, who was the most pleasant in the restaurant, mentioned that many out of town clientele frequent the restaurant. They come for winery tour in the area. I maybe extra critical, because being from Los Angeles where top notch sushi restaurants are plenty, for that my apology.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Yum, yum Yanagi!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

A most excellent sushi bar/teppan restaurant! Fun for birthdays! Try the boat for two...it really can feed 3 easily! Someone just order rice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles Wine Region, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nicest staff ever encountered at a sushi bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Love the place, great food and the friendliest staff. We go often!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Creative, Fun, Good Food & Service, But Not for the Hard of Hearing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Genre: Everyday family dining; Japanese cuisine. Judging by the number of diners in this restaurant, many of whom are obvious locals, this is the place for sushi in Paso.

The menu is very creative and operates on the theory that one picture is worth the proverbial 1000 words. It features pictures of their offerings, a good thing, given that there are many never seen before, at least by this writer, house specials. Forgot the old standby California Roll now renamed the Golden California Roll, how about: Yami Yami Roll (or is it Yumi Yumi Roll), the Hot Night Roll, Green Land Roll, Red Dragon Roll, Sexy Roll, etc., etc., etc.. There are 33 different sushi rolls on the menu, way more than you ever taste in one sitting. There is a method to their madness.

Then again, take the list of appetizers, there are 17 in all the last of which is named “Heart Attack”. Makes one wonder. If these “starters” aren’t enough, well then, how about the other 35 menu items? Obviously these folks are planning for your return visit. For sure, the menu doesn’t bore you.

Service is excellent, fast, efficient. The food we ordered was likewise as good and it is reasonably priced. Ambiance is functional but certainly not intimate. This is not the place for a lover’s tryst unless of course you are both exhibitionists and don’t mind nuzzling in public. But with food like this, why would you?

The one negative: an extremely high noise level. OK if there are just two of you sitting within shouting distance but perhaps a real problem with a table of six or eight. This is almost certainly not the place to bring the parents of the girl to which you plan to propose to create that lasting great first impression unless of course you don’t want to converse with them. Of course you can always resort to exchanging hand written notes. It might would be worth the risk given all of the other positive attributes.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yanagi Sushi also viewed

Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Yanagi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yanagi Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.