We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rustic/contmporary find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vina Robles Winery

Vina Robles Winery
3700 Mill Road, Paso Robles, CA 93446
805-227-4812
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 121 activities in Paso Robles
Type: Wineries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We craft wines that represent a bridge between the Old and New worlds, capturing the finesse associated with European wines while celebrating the bold flavors of our estate vineyards in Paso Robles. Here, we bring our Swiss heritage to California’s Central Coast, where we unite the best of both experiences. Come visit our 14,000 square foot Hospitality Center in the heart of Paso Robles wine country to enjoy the difference! European Inspiration – California Character
Paso Robles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A rustic/contmporary find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Worth the trip to simply scope out the architecture. The exterior is quite bold and rustic. The interior is a unique combination of rustic and contemporary...and it works. Often have a special melted cheese dish that is really different. Beautiful grounds and frequent special entertainment days/nights.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinarobles, Guest Relations Manager at Vina Robles Winery, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Yolyfe,

Thank you very much for your visit earlier this year and for taking the time to share your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We hope you get the chance to visit us during Harvest Wine Weekend October 20-21 for our 6th Annual Swiss Days, during which we will be serving the traditional Raclette melted cheese again amongst other great traditional Swiss food!

Best regards,
Simone Michel
Vina Robles Winery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We find the people here a bit pretentious and their prices are obviously elevated to pay for their beautiful facility. We have no problem paying a decent price for good wine but for $45 it should be exceptional and it is not. We have purchased the Syrah in the past but not this trip. In the gift shop I noticed they were selling La Bella Frog Balls for $11.95 a jar which I saw at other wineries for less than $9.00 and they sell on line for $6.95. I prefer the smaller wineries that don't need to overcharge.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinarobles, Guest Relations Manager at Vina Robles Winery, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear AFloridaGirl,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the Vina Robles Hospitality Center. We appreciate hearing about the areas that you felt needed improvement. Comments such as yours are very important to us in developing future offerings and programs. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for an Estate Tasting, which features affordably priced wines between $14 and $26, that hopefully will please your palate and valet more than our special release, limited-edition wines.

Kindest regards,
Simone Michel
Vina Robles Winery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tasting Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is one of the biggest and nicest tasting Room. Wines are great.Friendly Staff. Nice grounds and Art Gallery

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinarobles, Guest Relations Manager at Vina Robles Winery, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Hello Knickrd,

On behalf of the entire Vina Robles team, I would like to thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to share your feedback about your tasting experience here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments about our beautiful grounds and friendly staff and are happy to hear you enjoyed our most recent art exhibit featuring some of the best local artists. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Simone Michel
Vina Robles Winery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We arrived 30 minutes before closing time and doubted there would be enough time for a wine tasting. We decided to go in and just buy a bottle or two, but the staff was wonderful and insisted that we should have a full tasting even though there wasn't much time. My husband and I had two different tastings - I went for the prestige selection (wonderful wines by the way) and my husband got the chocolate/petit syrah tasting where they pair their wines with chocolate. Both tastings were very very good and I highly recommend a visit at Vina Robles. The tastings costed $10 for the prestige selection and $18 for the chocolate/petit syrah, but you don't pay if you buy some wine after the tasting. We bought 2 bottles (would have bought more if we could have brought it back to Denmark) and had to pay for one of the tastings.
The location is beautiful and the have a lot of other things than wine: cheese, sausage, honey, jam, books etc.
All in all it is well worth spending an hour or two here and again the staff is great - they really make you feel very welcome.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinarobles, Guest Relations Manager at Vina Robles Winery, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Rikke21,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the Vina Robles Hospitality Center in Paso Robles, CA. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed a wonderful tasting experience and the time with our friendly staff. We hope you had a relaxing rest of your vacation in the United States and had safe travels back home to Denmark.

Best regards,
Simone Michel
Vina Robles Winery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, Ca
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a beautiful winery with an attractive tasting room. It's located east of 101 in Paso Robles, so it has more whites than on the westside and their prices are a little lower. The tasting was handled very well. Tasting fee was waived with purchase. We bought some cheese, salami, crackers and wine to have a picnic in their courtyard on comfortable tables and chairs in the shade. They sliced the food for us and served it to us along with the wine in an ice bucket. All in all, an enjoyable experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinarobles, Guest Relations Manager at Vina Robles Winery, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear ieduffy1,

We would like to thank you for visiting our hospitality center last month and for taking the time to share feedback about your tasting experience. We are happy to hear you not only enjoyed our wines but also our gorgeous patio for a relaxing picnic. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Simone Michel
Vina Robles Winery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vina Robles Winery also viewed

 

Been to Vina Robles Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vina Robles Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vina Robles Winery to your Saves list