We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ARE YOU KIDDING !!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2860 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Folsom, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ARE YOU KIDDING !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel was an absolute joke!!! The room smelled terrible, there was no closet to hang my clothes, the toilet did work properly, parking was ridiculous and the continental breakfast was very small and late each day. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone....ever! I have learned my lesson on economy room rates, spend a little more and get better accommodations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnandsuitesp, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments. If you had contacted us at the time of your stay, we could have perhaps moved you to another room that would have better met your needs. We take pride in offering clean, comfortable and value-priced accommodations. We also provide a breakfast each day at the stated times, and we’re sorry if there was any confusion. We hope you’ll try as again. Please call and speak with me directly if there are unresolved issues.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    16
    12
    15
See reviews for
8
10
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

DO NOT BOOK A RESERVATION HERE. They fraudlently charged my credit card and would not refund the $ at all. My reservation was "supposedly" scheduled for the beginning of January and my card was charged in full at the beginning of December?!?!?! Are you kidding me. Here's the shocking part I never even stayed here. Didnt even book the reservation. Upon finding out about the fraudulent charge I contacted my CC company and asked that they place a hold on my credit card do to the fraudulent charge from Rodeway Inn Pasadena. The next day the Rodeway Inn "posse" decided to call me and ask that I unfreeze my card so that they could charge me. SERIOUSLY?!?!?! No way. This place is awful and I hope they get their a clue about customer service or they will be out of business sooner than later. Good riddance Rodeway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnandsuitesp, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for contact us. I’m sorry to hear there was some billing confusion and that you were unable to stay with us. I apologize that the company reservations specialist did not follow your instructions, but I trust the issue has been properly resolved by now. If there is a remaining issue or you have any billing comments or concerns remaining, please contact me directly and I’ll get things solved for you. I would appreciate the opportunity to serve you.

Thanks,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We recently stayed at this Rodeway Inn, and I would definitely use it only as a last resort in Pasadena. Because it only had one bed, we called several days ahead to reserve an additional roll-away bed. When we arrived, we were told that a roll-away was not available because it has to be reserved at the time of the original reservation. The room also lacked several conveniences that are typically provided by other hotels--like Kleenex, a bottle opener, and a comfortable chair. Our room had just one chair--a wooden straight-back chair at the desk. Finally, the desk clerk could use a course in public relations. It seemed that anytime we asked for anything, his response was always "Sorry!"

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnandsuitesp, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I apologize that you experienced some minor issues that caused your stay to be less than 100 percent satisfactory. We strive to be a great combination of cleanliness, amenities and value, and I’m sorry if we were not up to your expectations. I also apologize that our desk clerk was not able to be more informative. We’re always getting better, however, and would always welcome you back any time.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

First of all, the picture above is really misleading. The exterior of the hotel is kind of rundown, so it must be either taken years ago when the building was first painted or photoshoped. The hotel actually makes the neighborhood look sketchy. Inside, the lobby is very small, the hallway carpet was filthy and the room smells funky. The heater was deafening. I did not turn on the one in my room but had to hear it running in other rooms all night. Sometime in the mid of the night the bathroom upstairs must start leaking, so I was hearing the water dripping noise all the time in my sleep. In the morning I discovered the carpet in my bedroom near the bathroom was completely soaked. Imagine what it was like when I stepped on the soaked carpet with my bare feet on a cold winter morning. Looking up I saw the crevice on the ceiling, where the water kept dripping down. I told the staff about it when I was checking out. He did not apologize, nor did he thank me for notifying him. It was like "oh, so you are leaving? What do you want me to do for you then?" I wouldn't say the two guys there meant anything ill, but man they looked really miserable there. To be fair, the room was reasonably clean and the traffic noise was lower than I anticipated, so I give this place two stars for that, in addition to the relatively cheap price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnandsuitesp, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for recognizing the convenience, cleanliness and quietness of our property, but I’m sorry to hear you experienced an unfortunate maintenance issue. If only we could fix problems before they happen, we could better satisfy all customers. Leaks do make a mess, and of course, we fixed it later that day before re-renting the room. In any case, I sincerely apologize that you experienced a customer service and maintenance lapse. I hope you’ll visit us again, and I hope you’ll contact me directly if you have other comments or concerns.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Was cheap and available but completely lacking! For example: the parking sucked. The covered parking was very limited and the stalls so small that most cars were over the line taking two spots thereby making it impossible for every stall to be used; and we were warned that if you park on the street you could get towed. There was a holder for a hairdryer in the bathroom but no hairdryer--luckily my wife brought hers. The room was large but no mirror in it, so when getting ready/dressed you had to crowd around the mirror in the bathroom. The fridge was making this loud, vibrating racket that became part of the annoying decor of the place by the second day. I do have to say the bed was rather comfortable, but regardless, we will definitely plan ahead next time and book somewhere else even if it's more money, or even stay in our car which has more charm than this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnandsuitesp, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry you had problems with the parking. It’s a constant struggle for us to maintain adequate parking, but we always have enough, though not much to spare. I’m also sorry there were some issues with your room. We strive to make sure everything meets or exceeds expectations and understand the bed is the most important thing. That’s why the beds are so nice. If there were specific issues, we might have been able to move you to another room. If you still have any concerns, please feel free to contact me directly and I’ll address them.

Thanks,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hotel was cheap but that is the best I can say. When checking in, the manager would not let me use my company credit card because it did not have my personal name on it. Showing proof that it is my company did no good. Asking him to run the charges to see if they went through did no good. After arguing for 5 minutes I gave up. Battery went dead on my car while I was parked in the garage. I had cables and asked the manager for a jump. He said he didn't have a car. Saw him driving away the next day. Bed was uncomfortable. Continental breakfast was a dried out croissant and packages of peanut butter crackers. Won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnandsuitesp, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Manager received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the Bed and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

• The breakfast staff was approached about enlarging the choices which they offer.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night in June. Room was tidy and spacious. Big TV, fridge that was almost cold and a temp adjuster button missing. As expected for a hotel of this level there were a few stains on the carpet and one on one of chairs. No noise at night and parking underneath the hotel. Don't go out to get ice at night - you'll need to go downstairs, out the front door and outside to the garage, and you'll need a quarter to operate the machine. Annoying when the customer service inept person at the desk omitted to mention where to get ice or need to get money. Given that the hotel had free wifi that might have been nice to have mentioned on check in as well. Hopefully you'll get a parking spot that you can park in without a 15 point turn. For the price of the hotel and if you only intend to sleep in the room this hotel is fine. It's just a pity that on the 3 occasions I was at the front desk on no occasion did the person make any attempt to talk to me other than the necessary few sentences needed to process my room. This is the first time that I've checked out and not had the person ask anything about how my stay, how I was doing or bid me a nice day. It's for the complete lack of care by the front desk staff that I won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask to check your room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnandsuitesp, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena during your recent visit to our area.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the temp adjuster button missing and the stain spot on the carpet and chair in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to the needed repairs or replace.

• Front desk Staff received additional training in the courteous way in which they are to treat our valued guests and also provide the information as required by guests.

• I am glad that you found our room Spacious and tidy. Housekeeping staff received our commendation.

I hope that the next time you are in our area you will once again choose to stay at the Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena

Address: 2860 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn & Suites® is just 10 miles from Chinatown and Hollywood, and minutes from downtown Los Angeles. Popular area attractions like the Pasadena Convention Center, the Pasadena Civic auditorium and the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory are close by. A number of outdoor recreation areas, entertainment venues and specialty stores are close by. Visitors will enjoy shopping at the nearby Paseo Colorado mall. There are a wide variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the surrounding area. Business travelers at this Pasadena, CA hotel will appreciate access to a copy and fax service. In addition to standard amenities, all of our guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers and cable television. Select rooms also have spacious work desks, flat-screen televisions, hot tubs and sofa sleepers. Handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms can be requested. Guests of the Rodeway Inn & Suites hotel will experience world-class hospitality when staying in the Pasadena area. Our professional staff is ready to assist in making your stay in California a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn And Suites Pasadena
Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Rodeway Inn Pasadena
Rodeway Inn Hotel Pasadena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.