We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and awful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2860 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Pasadena
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheap and awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Parking a disaster, tiny spaces. Soda and ice machines in this parking area, open to the street. Soda machine not working. Awful lobby with no attendants unless you ring a bell. Very creepy because no one is there. Breakfast very bad: cheese crackers, cereal, boxed apples. They shouldn't bother. Lighting in the room terrible but we asked for a floor lamp and got one. No face cloths, had to ask for some. Smelly hallways and elevator. Never again.

Room Tip: We asked for a king suite and it was roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We at the Rodeway Inn & Suites try are hardest to make your stay a pleseant one. We never had so many complaints by one customer. Sorry for the inconveniences you have had at the Hotel. We try are hardest to satisfy all the customers. Some of the issues you stated like the parking situation we cannot fix but the solution is to park on the street adjacent to the building, it is free. The Ice machine and the Vending machine are located in the parking lot because of the ease for all the customers. The continental breakfast that we have consists of all the things a continental breakfast should have. And the last thing, we do have air freshners in the hallways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    12
    12
    15
See reviews for
7
8
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We got a good AAA rate online and the decent reviews encouraged me to try this. I liked initially that the motel had free parking (normally $13-30 in LA) and was a reasonable rate not using priceline or Hotwire.

We booked two nights but only stayed for one. It was not bad, but a bit depressing. Among the adequate things are: the shower works great, sinks are fine, and room an ok size. Parking is safe. Wifi works great. The so-so things are: lack of counter space to put any of your travel items, dinginess, depressing lighting (fluorescent), really hard beds (other reviews were not wrong about this), and prison pillows (next time i will bring my own), tough sheets (i know i only paid budget rates), really noisy fridge (which we disconnected), and slight disinfection smell (so we opened the window). Also, the location is on the border of Pasadena--it wasn't within walking distance--definitely a car motel.

my friend really didn't want to stay here a second night, so we booked another place for $10 more which we were much happier about. all the rodeways in the LA seem to get about 3/5 circles--so I guess this is what a 3 circle property is like. i think i learned to go to a 4 circle place minimum.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheets, pillows and towels (if you're driving) to make for a more luxurious exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnandsuitesp, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Rodeway Inn your stay during your visit to our area.

We appreciate you for taking the time to write the review mentioning the nitty gritties which shall go a long way towards improvement.

We are thankful for mentioning all the positive sides and appreciating also the areas which you felt need for further improvement.

We have attended to all the amenities of each room. We also would like to inform you that we have taken all the steps to ensure that we provide a fine hospitality to all our guests.

You can count on us and choose us for your next stay and we are sure that you will not be disappointed.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The hotel is in a good location on Colorado Blvd. just down the road from lots of eateries and shopping. The beds in the hotel were the hardest beds I have ever slept on. The continental breakfast consisted of a bowl of cereal and some fresh fruit. The permit in the elevator was expired and the lighting in the room was absolutely terrible. The room was clean and very spacious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnandsuitesp, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rodeway Inn during your last visit to our area.

Thank you for appreciating the location and the cleanliness of the rooms. That is something more than we would like to hear from an esteemed guest like you.

At the same time we have taken note of your suggestions and have taken adequate steps to ensure that the furniture, air conditionings are in the finest condition.

We assure that we shall further do the very best to make your next stay at our hotel a memorable experience.

The next time you visit our area, please choose to stay at the Rodeway Inn and you shall be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

Site is in a great location near Pasadena attractions and restaurants, shopping, and TARGET.
Pros: clean, underground parking, value/price. Good wireless internet.
Cons: parking difficult for larger vehicles, very poor breakfast and presentation (only cold cereal, apples and packaged crackers). No decaff coffee or lids for cups "to go". Entire breakfast and lobby area are only about 12' x 20'. No coffee makers in rooms
desk is not manned but you must ring a bell and "wait". No pool.

This is a good value for those not needing full-service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

1) No Luggage carrier to get stuff to room... I had special equipment with and suitcases and had to lug it all up to the elevator with no help.
2) Lighting in the room... Horrible! There was 1 light between the beds, and 1 light on the wall and it was not very bright. Haven't they heard of the economy lights w/ higher voltage. Swear.. they were using 20 watt bulbs in the 2 lights.
3) Temperature control sucked. The entire night was spent listening to the unit in the room go on and off cycling all night long, and room was too hot. We were on 2nd floor and couldn't get the room cool enough when we initially got into it.
4) Rate is fine if all you intend to do is sleep and run.
5) Breakfast - a joke ... A few roles, coffee, and a little cereal on a 2 x 4 counter.
6) Parking - horrid. To save a mirror, I ended up scratching the side of my car - the parking was too tight.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodewayinnandsuitesp, Webmaster at Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Rodeway Inn for your recent stay in our area.

We are sorry that it wasn’t the pleasant experience you had anticipated.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• The maintenance staffs have been instructed to check all the amenities like lightning, air conditioning and the parking lots. They have been instructed to ensure that they are in the best condition.

• We have also taken steps to improve the quality and quantity of the breakfast.

• The desk clerk received additional training in the courteous manner in which our valued guests are to be treated.

We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be pleased to visit us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Recently stayed here with a few friends. We flew into LA late 1 afternoon, and wanted somewhere away from all the hustle and bustle but also close to thing like Universal Studios, Hollywood etc. Rodeway Inn was a great choice, with most things we wanted to get to being a short drive away.

There is a pretty big shopping center and strip only a few minutes drive from the Rodeway, for easy access to food, otherwise a few take away places are only a few minutes stroll.

The hotel itself is great. Basic, but I don't know what else people would expect from a cheaper place. We initially booked a queen room, but due to their being none left, we were given 2 seperate double rooms for no extra charge.

Let me tell you that the rooms themselves are absolutely massive!! Easily the biggest out of about 10 rooms we stayed in on our trip to the USA.

There is a bit of road noise as the hotel is right on Colorado Blvd, but that is easily fixed by closing the window, which blocks out alot of the noice.

All the basics are provided, great TV, clean bathroom, comfortable bed and a fantastic wifi setup that couldn't be beaten by any of the other hotels we stayed at on our trip.

The front desk staff were happy to help and provided good service.

Overall, if its a basic hotel you are looking for, the Rodeway is an excellent choice. We only really used the room at night, after dinner for a bit and then sleeping. During the day we were out busy. Apart from that though, don't take note of the negative reviews below as they seem to have been written a while ago, as I can confirm this hotel is great value for money

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

I was a bit worried going in to this place, having seem some dicey older reviews, but all in all it exceeded my (admittedly low) expectations. The area the hotel is in has that industrial, urban sprawl feel characteristic of so much of L.A.--not great but no big deal given that I was trying to save money. As per some other reviews I had read, the place seemed to have undergone some recent upgrading/ remodeling, with a friendly guy manning the front desk. My only real issue with the place, aside from the tight parking spots in the garage (compact cars recommended); was the definitely noticeable odor of cleaning solution present in the first floor room where I stayed.

But once I got used to that (about 30 seconds after walking into my room), the place was great. I was surprised to see a nice flat-screen TV, microwave, and refrigerator--items that seemed almost out of place given what I had paid for the room. The wireless internet worked fairly well in my room, though it was a little creepy that I had to "log in" with a front-desk-provided user name and password every time I wanted to use it. Additionally, the parking garage, though definitely not tailored for large vehicles, was well lit and quite welcome in a neighborhood where I wouldn't want to park my car on the street.

Overall I'd definitely recommend the place if you're looking to save money--the rooms are clean and fairly well-appointed; and you'd be hard pressed to find a better deal in L.A. for the price (trust me I trolled the various travel sites for hours before I settled on this one :-D).

  • Liked — Free Wi-Fi
  • Disliked — Smell of cleaning solution in the room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena

Address: 2860 East Colorado Boulevard, Pasadena, CA 91107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn & Suites® is just 10 miles from Chinatown and Hollywood, and minutes from downtown Los Angeles. Popular area attractions like the Pasadena Convention Center, the Pasadena Civic auditorium and the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory are close by. A number of outdoor recreation areas, entertainment venues and specialty stores are close by. Visitors will enjoy shopping at the nearby Paseo Colorado mall. There are a wide variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the surrounding area. Business travelers at this Pasadena, CA hotel will appreciate access to a copy and fax service. In addition to standard amenities, all of our guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers and cable television. Select rooms also have spacious work desks, flat-screen televisions, hot tubs and sofa sleepers. Handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms can be requested. Guests of the Rodeway Inn & Suites hotel will experience world-class hospitality when staying in the Pasadena area. Our professional staff is ready to assist in making your stay in California a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Rodeway Inn And Suites Pasadena
Rodeway Inn Pasadena
Rodeway Inn Hotel Pasadena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.