We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review for Super 8 Motel at 2863 Colorado, Pasadena” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2863 East Colorado Boulevard, San Gabriel East Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91107   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Review for Super 8 Motel at 2863 Colorado, Pasadena”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I just had an experience at Super 8 Motel and was shocked by Sam--the co-manager of the motel. I stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks. I liked the hotel, because it's quiet and pretty safe. However, I was shocked by Sam's attitude towards me. It was very unprofessional. I'd asked to have the maids come to my room to clean and change the sheets, and I'd waited for 3 hours already. Well, after 3 calls , I happened to speak to Sam . He got belligerent with me . I went down to the office, and spotted another staff , Michael, well since he'd helped me several times. I politely asked him if he could send the maid up to clan my room. Sam interjected and started screaming at me. His words were, " Because you hung up on me, your room won't be cleaned!". I was aghast by this. What. I'd paid for a whole day. Not due to leave until the next day. Sam further added that, " He will have me thrown out and not give me my money back. " ; He called the police, told them he'd give me my full refund. When I finally left within the hour, I only got half of my money back. Shocker and oh, the cop stood outside my door as I was packing my things....This is all because???? I asked to have my room cleaned !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Pasadena, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank You for the feedback, we sincerely apologize for the trouble you may had with our staff while you were here. Our staff trains in exceptional customer service and the situation has been handled internally. We appreciate your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    60
    49
    25
    32
See reviews for
61
31
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed 7 and 8 Sept. Room was average for a budget motel. It was quite noisy from people going up and down the stairs and walkway out front to the room, as well as people above us. Room was clean and comfrotable though dated. Would probably stay again.

Room Tip: Close to several restaurants in the area. Nice pool. Would probably try to get a top floor room if p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Pasadena, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback Mr. Dennis. We apologize for the surrounding traffic coming in and out of the area of where your room was. Next time you choose to come to visit, we will make sure to keep your room in a quiet location of the motel so that you can get a sound night sleep. We hope to see you again when you are back in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

cigarrette burns in the bedding and carpet. super this walls and the TV in the next room was on til 2am. HARD beds, FILTHY foam pillows which looked years old (I wish I hadn't looked) and not cheap for all that either

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed there last week, and someone above me decided to play their music at full blast at 11 pm. It took 4 calls to the front desk and threats of police action to finally get them evicted. Terrible reaction by the front desk staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I've stayed here twice. 2 x 7 days. Look...It ain't a 5 Star resort. But to stay in Pasadena (which is pretty central) for $75, no complaints here. The staff is their strength. They were all kind and accommodating. My smoking room didn't even smell like smoke. The A/C worked well and was fairly quiet on low setting. The queen bed was very comfy and I found the sheets to be clean. My guess for some of the bad reviews is that they only regularly maintain a certain number of rooms. So when they get hammered with a local event like at the Rose Bowl, the seldom used rooms don't get taken care of well enough. Just speculating. And the tv's could use upgrading too. But it's definitely the best Super 8 I've stayed in. Won't touch them on the east coast and I travel the I-75/I-95 north/south corridors often. Learned my lesson and it's nothing but Hampton's now. But this Super 8 remains my main choice Pasadena while on a budget.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quieter and ask for one of the regularly serviced rooms...just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

looking for something cheap and thats definitely what we got. bugs flying around..tub disgusting....just nasty. was not worth $75 bucks. matthew was a sweetheart though.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Pasadena, Webmaster at Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping was instructed to see to the rooms being properly outfitted before being released for occupancy.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

When I checked in, the clerk would not give me the AAA discount because I made my reservation on the Super 8 website. He then charged my credit card for the full amount for three nights. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a non-smoking room, but smoke from the smoking rooms below us poured into our room. The hotel was otherwise clean, and the daily maid service was very nice. Next time, however, we will stay in a different hotel.

Room Tip: If there are non-smoking rooms on the first floor, stay there. The continental breakfast is very min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Pasadena, Webmaster at Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Front desk staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which he is to treat you, our valued guests.

• Housekeeping was instructed to see to the rooms being properly outfitted before being released for occupancy.

• Maid staff received our commendation for the pleasant, helpful way in which they treated you, our valued guest.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area

Address: 2863 East Colorado Boulevard, San Gabriel East Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Pasadena/La Area Hotel Pasadena
Super Eight Pasadena
Pasadena Super Eight
Pasadena Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Pasadena/LA Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.