We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uneven service and lack of communication among staff...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham Huntington, Pasadena to your Saves list
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
A TripAdvisor Member
“Uneven service and lack of communication among staff...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

We decided to stay at the Ritz last minute to extend our visit with friends who were staying there. The rooms are very nice, beds comfortable and beautiful furnishings. We were quoted one price on the phone and at check out, charged another, after calling they did rectify. We ordered pina colodas at the pool which took over an hour and were retrieved by my husband, not served to us. The staff was polite, but overwhelmed and under trained and the entire facility felt understaffed for a busy Memorial Day weekend. Overall, service was lacking, the pool was too small and unimpressive for a such a grand hotel in such a warm climate.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    264
    71
    44
    37
See reviews for
287
323
53
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2006

Have stayed several times over the past 3 months for business. Beautiful hotel with great service. From valet, front desk, room service... everyone is very friendly and helpful. Free workout room has many machines, some free weights, and work out classes. Valet parking is 25$/night. I don't think there is a self-park. Free internet and printing in business center. In room wireless and wired internet 9.95/day. Beds have down comforters and down pillow top, which are very comfortable. The pool is very nice. Will be planning to go back soon!

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2006

I grew up in Pasadena and have been coming to this hotel for one reason or another for decades. Now that I live out of the area, I find solace in the grand, old-world feeling of this hotel when visiting family in the area. The rooms in the main building (where you want to stay) overlook the hotel gardens (where thousands of weddings have been performed) and the valley of San Gabriel beyond. The beds are to die for! The pool scene is not flashy and not noisy yet comfortable; with food and beverage service. The hotel's public rooms are huge, beautifully decorated and furnished and open onto large terraces for relaxing and taking in the views. The Friday and Saturday evening blues/jazz concerts are a must see!!! The main Dining Room has very good food (although somewhat oblivious service...pour the wine, please!). Finally, the spa and gym are truly the best way to end (begin?) one's day. In a city lacking much history beyond 50 years ago such as Los Angeles, the Huntington and the surrounding neighborhood are to be revered. I know of very few other places to stay in LA that are as nice, honestly.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

The Ritz-Carlton Pasadena is a fabulous property that used to be our "better home" away from home: when the world was too busy and we needed a change of pace, we would go there and start to breathe again the moment we pulled up to the driveway. Everything was beautiful, classy, and quiet. The staff is super professional, mature and stable. We have stayed at several other Ritz Carlton properties and the Ritz Pasadena was always the one the other RC's had to compete with in our minds (and inevitably came short...). In particular, the club lounge is heads and shoulders above any other RC lounge in terms of food displays, personal attention, style, and service.

This hotel used to have an aura of classy and timeless charm and elegance that has pretty much disappeared since the VERY unfortunate recent "renovation" - meaning that now this hotel on the inside looks like a Hilton, mixed with a Westin, with Caesar's Palace gold & black mirrors near the elevators, and gold painted walls. The tea room was remodeled by someone who obviously has never drunk high tea in his/her life -leopard print on the sofas, seats too low, bizarre color theme... made me cry while drinking my tea.

In any case, this is still a great place, but it is now "just" another great hotel with a decor that does not match the location/the setting/the architecture, instead of being the place we always wanted to come back to. I think the RC Pasadena used to be the most Ritz Carlton of any RC property, and it is very sad that it was not allowed to remain untouched...

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2006

I stay at the ritz 3/4 times a year for business, and I have to say it is absolutely great. Non only a terrific location, but service and food is very good. Maybe a bit too "old" style, but apart from this everything else is great. The pool is fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2006

I have stayed at this property several times because I love the location and the beautiful gardens that are exclusive to this hotel, however, I have experienced dissapointing service with each visit and I don't anticipate going back. Just recently, I felt like getting away from the westside for one night, so I checked in. The stay was pleasant and comfortable, but it took 90 minutes and two phone calls for the bellman to bring my bag to my room after I checked in!

The next weekend I was back for a sleepover with some friends and I booked the two-story "Tournament of Roses" suite since all the good westside hotel suites were booked for the Oscars the next day. During the night, my friends and I were hanging out in the room and felt like a snack so we ordered room service. Upon ordering, I was informed that one of the items I requested would not be prepared by the chef because it was 11pm and dinner items were not served past 10:30. WHAT! Hello! I am staying in the PRESIDENTIAL SUITE and all I am asking for is some freaking chicken satay after 10:30pm! I was totally shocked that the woman taking my order was so rude and unaccomodating. After making several phone calls and being forced to call the night manager, we were finally given authorization to order the chicken satay. We waited for nearly 90 minutes until the chicken, fries, and veggies finally showed up. I was not surprised to find that the chicken was totally dried out and inedible. Utterly unacceptable. Definitely not the type of service I expected to receive from the Ritz Carlton. What a disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2005

I stayed at the Ritz Sep. 21 - 25, 2005 (Room #456) for a conference. The room view is overlooking the back of the hotel - the Horseshoe Garden - with large palm trees and well manicured lawns. Check in was fast and easy. The room has a king bed with down pillows and comforter, but no top sheet which I found odd. There is a desk and easy chair available as well. The marble bathroom is very large with one sink, excellent water pressure, bathrobes, and large towels. The shampoo, lotion, bath gel, etc. is fabulous! I was slightly disappointed that there is no hand-towel bar next to the sink and the caulk/grout is getting moldy. There is a magnifying mirror in the bathroom along with a hair-dryer as well. Any fingerprints left on the mirror, faucets, etc. were wiped away daily. The room was always clean and turn down service was done each evening. The concierge did an excellent job obtaining my rental car, which was delivered and picked up from the hotel, as well as providing directions to Hollywood, Beverly Hills and Santa Monica. Every single employee always had a good morning, afternoon, or evening available, and used my name when given the opportunity. I heard the main dining room is excellent and reservations are a must. There is a dress code for both restaurants - no jeans at dinner. The Terrace Restaurant offered excellent service and my dinner was delicious - pricy though. Their Sunday Brunch Buffet looked amazing. Room service was prompt. The conference services were excellent with well tasting, hot food. Service was excellent by all staff. This is a good hotel for busines and leisure travelers, you won't be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Huntington, Pasadena

Address: 1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Huntington, Pasadena 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the grace and elegance of a bygone era, The Langham Huntington is located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just nine miles north of downtown Los Angeles in beautiful Pasadena. Located on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the landmark hotel features award-winning dining, an award-winning spa and a number of recreational choices such as tennis and a nearby Nicklaus Design golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Langham Huntington, Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Hotel Pasadena
Langham Huntington Hotel
The Langham Huntington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.