We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 5 night Family Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham Huntington, Pasadena to your Saves list
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful 5 night Family Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute before leaving Scotland, UK for a 2 week Californian vacation. By far the best hotel we have ever had the privilege of staying in.Certainly worthy of it's five stars. From the moment we arrived at this spectacular looking hotel, everything was first class. Our special deal booked included valet parking and breakfast for two. Our room, two queen beds, had double patio doors opening out onto a small balcony with spectacular views over Pasedena and over to LA. The room was beautiful with turn down service of an evening. Fantastic breakfast in The Terrace Restaurant was a wonderful start to our day. Pool was lovely, towels and chilled water provided and a great bar menu served by the attentive pool staff. We had a wonderful evening meal in the Tap Room overlooking the magnificent grounds. Overall this hotel and all it's fabulous staff is an experience my family and I will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    263
    71
    44
    37
See reviews for
286
322
53
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here for over week, after not having been here for several years. The last time I was here was when this was a Ritz-Carlton, so I was interested to see what has changed. The property is physically almost identical, with beautiful grounds, a decent size pool and pool area that is great for lounging and relaxing. The rooms are average in size for a luxury property and are well appointed and furnished, but not exceedingly so. The restaurants and public spaces are beautiful, spacious and provide many quiet places to enjoy views of the grounds and pool. This is not a property that goes out of its way to cater to children, so I would regard it as an adult experience, especially since its location is not near any of the traditional children's attractions in SoCal. The property is not within walking distance of anything, so you will be in an out of your car frequently and driving a minimum of 10 to 15 minutes to get out of the very serene and quiet residential area in which it is located. What makes this property a great one today, just has it always has been in the past (thankfully) is the focus on quiet, but extremely attentive service. The staff from housekeeping to the young, but professional pool attendants, and everyone in between, are extremely well trained and make you fully aware that they are there to make sure your every need is met, without being or annoying obvious about it. The spa is fantastic and is free for a workout and access to the facilities (charges for services are reasonable and there are many treatment options) There is no obnoxious "resort" charge, internet is complimentary for low speed, with a high speed option for $15/day. If you are looking for a very peaceful, adult getaway, in SoCal, and proximity to attractions is not an issue, you won't find a better high end option, including the great hotels in west LA like The Peninsula and the L'Emitage, which due to prestige location, will be much more expensive.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pleasant and very few have poor views due to the many surrounding gardens and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Monte, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

You will definitely pay the price for all that comes with this place but it was so worth it!! My husband and I spent the night there for our anniversary and it was AMAZING! Totally recommend it. Great service, quiet at all times, decent sized room, and clean!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our total experience at this hotel was outstanding. The room was exceptional the service from the time we pulled up to the hotel. The employees at check-in conducted themselves in a very professional manner. The bell men was very attentive to our needs when he delivered our luggage to our room. The staff at the restaurants we ate at were outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Beautiful lush grounds, clean oversized pool with plenty of lounge chairs, upscale spa, wonderful dining facilities. Our appropriately clean room was nicely furnished in old world style. The bed is probably comfortable for those that prefer soft bedding. Linens were nice. Our single sink, marble bathroom could use a fan. Great bath SHEETS. Room has a good size closet, large tv. Housekeeping staff is very accommodating. Turn down one night included complimentary waters, the other nights it did not. Pool staff is attentive. Pool food was quite good. Breakfast at the Terrace was excellent, albeit the staff a bit slow to serve coffee. Perhaps they should use MUGS rather than small cups and/or offer a pot on the table for us coffee drinkers. The breakfast food was always cooked perfectly. The TAP ROOM also has fantastic service. Jessica was so friendly and attentive, she offered five star service. The beer and wines by the glass were reasonably priced and impressive. The Royce offered us a dining experience that totally exceeded our expectations. Our servers, Andrea and Ricardo, again offered five star service. The beautiful dining room ambiance is upscale, the service is top-notch, and the food is beyond upscale. We expected dining at the Royce to impress us..but the truth is, it truly exceeded our expectation. Whomever manages the dining at this hotel surely knows how to create a five star staff! The quality of the service and food is impressive! Yes, the Royce is expensive, but it is worth the experience. The background music is an interesting choice that seems to fit the overall dining vibe. Our only suggestion would be for the Terrace to offer a pot of coffee on the table with coffee mugs at breakfast, please. We enjoyed the resbit here and would return again. We've been to this property before, many times. This particular experience was delightful. The valet and bell service also deserve KUDO's.

Room Tip: I like the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

On a Linger Longer for Less rate in July 2013 and upon check-in, a $150. per day charge was placed on my credit card (but not mentioned to me) as a "security deposit or security for incidental charges." This charge was never mentioned when making the reservation (directly with the hotel) either. For a 7 night stay, that amounts to an additional $1,050. which the hotel is basically holding until you check out and counts against your credit card spending limit while Pending on your credit card. When I spoke with the Customer Service Manager about the charge, she said, "If you don't agree to the charge, you won't be allowed to stay in the hotel." How can you agree to pay a charge you haven't been told about? You had no choice! Never mind that her response was rude, insulting and totally out of the realm of customer service of any kind. Since the Front Desk had also made a billing mistake by charging the Pet Fee daily instead of one time, the CSM promised to correct the amount with my credit card company. She even told me this had been done but 3 days later it was still not done.

The pool area is beautiful but unbelievably crowded and noisy on the weekend. There were so many people in the pool that no one was actually swimming: the best they could do was stand around. If you book a room overlooking the pool and you are there over the weekend, you will be very unhappy with the noise from the pool area. The hotel offers a membership package to local residents, so the pool (although large) can't hold the amount of guests/members who want to use it on a weekend.

There is no self-parking. Although the valet service is fast and excellent, you still don't have access to your car when you want it. I think this is a big negative but there is no other option. At $25. per day (+tips) for overnight guests and $12. for visitors, it's a big money-maker.

The grounds are truly beautiful and the Japanese Garden is a peaceful and serene escape.

The Terrace Restaurant, Pool Bar and Tap Room (the outlets I used) were all well run and offered excellent choices. The servers in each of these outlets were very attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. They really worked hard to take care of their guests.

Although this is a grand old hotel in a beautiful setting, you get the feeling that things are a little bit out of control.

Room Tip: Higher floor in the 400's near an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is a bit heavy on wallet, but location is great as this is away from city traffic.
Rooms are nice and not noisy.
Service is good.
Valet parking is mandatory.
The entrance is very nice from city traffic to a posh location and then the Lovely hotel entrance doesn't feel like you are this near to city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Huntington, Pasadena

Address: 1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Huntington, Pasadena 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the grace and elegance of a bygone era, The Langham Huntington is located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just nine miles north of downtown Los Angeles in beautiful Pasadena. Located on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the landmark hotel features award-winning dining, an award-winning spa and a number of recreational choices such as tennis and a nearby Nicklaus Design golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Langham Huntington, Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Hotel Pasadena
Langham Huntington Hotel
The Langham Huntington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.