We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles to your Saves list
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 20% OFF. BOOK NOW!
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Historic Beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've been to the Langham when it was the former Ritz Carlton for a business meeting and remember how luxurious it was back over 10 years ago. We've also been there for a wedding and was impressed with the grounds and service as the Langham. This visit was for a night with my husband and we upgraded to a corner room on the ground floor so we had a large spacious room and terrace. The history is everywhere, whether it is in the stories in your room, throughout the grounds or walking around and seeing the oil paintings depicting old world renaissance. The ambience is elegant, classy and warm. The rooms are very clean. There is no noise level. I would highly recommend if you are looking for a beautiful place to relax and enjoy the grounds.

Room Tip: Ask for any upgrades to a bigger room or a room with a king bed. The rates are not bad for a day of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDCNECSCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena during Christmas holiday. The hotel is BEAUTIFULLY decorated.

We checked in at around 7pm, and were assign a room on the 2nd floor. Upon entering the room, we found out that the room has probably been viewed by other people, and the bed was not properly made up. The front desk promptly move us to another room.

Our room facing the swimming pool, so it is quit noisy up to 10pm. It is not a problem for us.
The bathroom is very small and in need of updating, considering this is a 5 stars property. So does their very old elevator.

Our room has a nespresso machines with coffee and tea provided.
Bathroom is also well stock with all kinds of toiletteries.
The internet connection in our room is very poor, but you can go to the lobby area for good connection.

We had a chance to have breakfast at The Terrace. There is a choice of buffet and ala carte. The service is very good. We tried to booked Christmas Eve dinner at the Royce, but the restaurant is fully booked.

Their valet parking service is also very good, you don't have to wait too long, even on the busy day. They even wash our car on the first night. A nice surprise.

Coming to this hotel, I realized that this property is quit old, so I don't have high expectation. However I was very very impress with the location and the hotel ground. It is a place where you can really relax and the area is very safe for a stroll. The hotel is actually in the upscale suburb of San Marino, so when you drive or stroll around the hotel, you will be able to see the houses decorated with christmas lights. very pretty sights.

During check out, we just found out that, our room package was included breakfast credits of $40 everyday, which was not properly informed during our check in. So the hotel waived our valet fee in exchange for the unused breakfast credits. I think it is a very nice gesture.

I recommend this hotel for those who are looking for a relaxing holiday. I myself cannot wait to go back to the Langham Huntington.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blessu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is quality older property that the hotel and the landscaping are being well maintained by current management. The staff is very friendly, helpful and promptly responded to any request I made ever at a time when the hotel was filled to capacity with folks attending the Rose Bowl Parade and game. We had meals in all three restaurants on the property and were pleased with the food and service received. The reasons I did not rate the hotel as excellent is minor things but are irritants, first drink prices are to high, even a soft drink, coffee or tea is over priced and the wine and beer prices amazed. Second is the Internet service you are told it is complementary which one is but it is as slow as the old dial up systems we had years ago, for higher speed there is a charge, what I especially did not like is when you pick up their system you are given a choice as to slow or high speed with a check mark already in the high speed for which there is a charge. In summation this is a wonderful hotel with a well trained staff but at least to this guest had a few minor issues that caused some concern.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gymdawgfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in a corner room, which expanded our views, and room footage. We arrived on a Saturday, three wedding receptions were taking place, and the beauty of the place made me want to be a guest at the weddings! The whole hotel is grand, the grounds are stunning, the service levels top notch, restaurants are elegant, and prices to match. the bathroom was spacious, done in grey marble, and included the amenity box; everything in pink - shoe horn, pen, bath salts, sewing kit. Love driving to the hotel as you pass by elegant homes on your way to this haven of old grandeur.

Room Tip: corner rooms offer expanded views and more space for modest increase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dappledsunlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were fortunate enough to sponsor the City of Torrance's 2013 Rose Bowl Parade float, and as such had many friends coming in from the East Coast to party with us. Rented 3 Rooms at the Langham, a suite in the Clare Vista Cottage (Room 1603) and the Wisteria cottage with 2 rooms. We had 4 nights booked, with dinner at the Royce Restaurant (in the Langham) on NY eve. I cannot say enough positive things about the entire experience, especially coming "home" to the Langham. The staff is AWESOME, from the valets, to the front desk, the room service folks, everyone who works there was really service focused. I believe it all starts at the top, so the General Manager and management staff there have done a great job, it is obvious people who work there love their jobs and it shows. The food was fab, the rooms were clean, great linens, furniture, tennis courts, pool, and a wonderful spa. The large room in the Wisteria cottage would be my recomendation . . . we had our frineds there as the room we had in the Clare Vista cottage had a piano, and we arranged for a player, to help us sing in the New Year. We did nothing but laugh, party and drink LOTS of Bubbly. If you ever have a chance to stay there, do it. It is well worth the price.

Room Tip: Large room in the Wisteria cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garydojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I don't write a lot of reviews, even though we travel extensively and always first class. After seeing some negative reviews of this fabulous hotel, I felt that I had to respond.
I don't know where the other people stayed but it simply could not have been the same hotel in which we stayed.
This is one of the very finest hotel operations that I have ever experienced. The staff is exceptionally well selected and impeccably trained.
I felt like I was staying at a deluxe private club being cared for be people who truly cared about my comfort and enjoyment.
From the time Fred our bellman asked us to let him know if there was anything he could do to make our stay better until the time he shook my hand as we left, every staff member went "above and beyond".
By way of example, when I mentioned that the salsa with my breakfast was a little spicy furor my taste, the next order came with a milder salsa. A small thing to some but to me, evidence of exceptional guest care.
In short, the building is in great shape, the people truly care, the food is delicious, I am not sure what more you could ask.
If you enjoy first class service in a beautiful historic and storied setting, the this is the place for you.
We have already made two more reservations for later his year, including for Breeder's Cup and hope we can find more time to go even more often.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have incredible views of city lights at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tf403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

From the outside this hotel looks right at home in Pasadena. However, once you pass the lobby the hotel becomes a bit of maze and feels dark and deserted. I was traveling with two other people and we all had trouble finding our rooms which were located in three different areas of the hotel. Also, when I arrived in my first room there were people in it. I returned to the front desk and asked for a new room given that mine was occupied. The gentleman apologized but did not do anything outside of explain that the room appeared available in his system.

I slept well and had a decent dinner from room service. In the morning the shower took so long to heat up that I thought I would have to go without that day. Luckily that did not happen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J and M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pasadena
1.8 mi away
DusitD2 Hotel Constance Pasadena
2.0 mi away
The Westin Pasadena
The Westin Pasadena
#4 of 30 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Old Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Pasadena
Hilton Pasadena
#8 of 30 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Pasadena
Sheraton Pasadena
#10 of 30 in Pasadena
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pasadena Colorado Blvd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Address: 1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the grace and elegance of a bygone era, The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles is located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just nine miles north of downtown Los Angeles in beautiful Pasadena. Located on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the landmark hotel features delectable dining, the award-winning Chuan Spa and a number of recreational choices such as tennis programming, fitness classes, swimming and nearby golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Hotel Pasadena
Langham Huntington Hotel
The Langham Huntington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing