We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham Huntington, Pasadena to your Saves list
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now - Up to 20% Off
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Historic Beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've been to the Langham when it was the former Ritz Carlton for a business meeting and remember how luxurious it was back over 10 years ago. We've also been there for a wedding and was impressed with the grounds and service as the Langham. This visit was for a night with my husband and we upgraded to a corner room on the ground floor so we had a large spacious room and terrace. The history is everywhere, whether it is in the stories in your room, throughout the grounds or walking around and seeing the oil paintings depicting old world renaissance. The ambience is elegant, classy and warm. The rooms are very clean. There is no noise level. I would highly recommend if you are looking for a beautiful place to relax and enjoy the grounds.

Room Tip: Ask for any upgrades to a bigger room or a room with a king bed. The rates are not bad for a day of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    261
    71
    44
    37
See reviews for
285
310
52
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena during Christmas holiday. The hotel is BEAUTIFULLY decorated.

We checked in at around 7pm, and were assign a room on the 2nd floor. Upon entering the room, we found out that the room has probably been viewed by other people, and the bed was not properly made up. The front desk promptly move us to another room.

Our room facing the swimming pool, so it is quit noisy up to 10pm. It is not a problem for us.
The bathroom is very small and in need of updating, considering this is a 5 stars property. So does their very old elevator.

Our room has a nespresso machines with coffee and tea provided.
Bathroom is also well stock with all kinds of toiletteries.
The internet connection in our room is very poor, but you can go to the lobby area for good connection.

We had a chance to have breakfast at The Terrace. There is a choice of buffet and ala carte. The service is very good. We tried to booked Christmas Eve dinner at the Royce, but the restaurant is fully booked.

Their valet parking service is also very good, you don't have to wait too long, even on the busy day. They even wash our car on the first night. A nice surprise.

Coming to this hotel, I realized that this property is quit old, so I don't have high expectation. However I was very very impress with the location and the hotel ground. It is a place where you can really relax and the area is very safe for a stroll. The hotel is actually in the upscale suburb of San Marino, so when you drive or stroll around the hotel, you will be able to see the houses decorated with christmas lights. very pretty sights.

During check out, we just found out that, our room package was included breakfast credits of $40 everyday, which was not properly informed during our check in. So the hotel waived our valet fee in exchange for the unused breakfast credits. I think it is a very nice gesture.

I recommend this hotel for those who are looking for a relaxing holiday. I myself cannot wait to go back to the Langham Huntington.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is quality older property that the hotel and the landscaping are being well maintained by current management. The staff is very friendly, helpful and promptly responded to any request I made ever at a time when the hotel was filled to capacity with folks attending the Rose Bowl Parade and game. We had meals in all three restaurants on the property and were pleased with the food and service received. The reasons I did not rate the hotel as excellent is minor things but are irritants, first drink prices are to high, even a soft drink, coffee or tea is over priced and the wine and beer prices amazed. Second is the Internet service you are told it is complementary which one is but it is as slow as the old dial up systems we had years ago, for higher speed there is a charge, what I especially did not like is when you pick up their system you are given a choice as to slow or high speed with a check mark already in the high speed for which there is a charge. In summation this is a wonderful hotel with a well trained staff but at least to this guest had a few minor issues that caused some concern.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in a corner room, which expanded our views, and room footage. We arrived on a Saturday, three wedding receptions were taking place, and the beauty of the place made me want to be a guest at the weddings! The whole hotel is grand, the grounds are stunning, the service levels top notch, restaurants are elegant, and prices to match. the bathroom was spacious, done in grey marble, and included the amenity box; everything in pink - shoe horn, pen, bath salts, sewing kit. Love driving to the hotel as you pass by elegant homes on your way to this haven of old grandeur.

Room Tip: corner rooms offer expanded views and more space for modest increase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were fortunate enough to sponsor the City of Torrance's 2013 Rose Bowl Parade float, and as such had many friends coming in from the East Coast to party with us. Rented 3 Rooms at the Langham, a suite in the Clare Vista Cottage (Room 1603) and the Wisteria cottage with 2 rooms. We had 4 nights booked, with dinner at the Royce Restaurant (in the Langham) on NY eve. I cannot say enough positive things about the entire experience, especially coming "home" to the Langham. The staff is AWESOME, from the valets, to the front desk, the room service folks, everyone who works there was really service focused. I believe it all starts at the top, so the General Manager and management staff there have done a great job, it is obvious people who work there love their jobs and it shows. The food was fab, the rooms were clean, great linens, furniture, tennis courts, pool, and a wonderful spa. The large room in the Wisteria cottage would be my recomendation . . . we had our frineds there as the room we had in the Clare Vista cottage had a piano, and we arranged for a player, to help us sing in the New Year. We did nothing but laugh, party and drink LOTS of Bubbly. If you ever have a chance to stay there, do it. It is well worth the price.

Room Tip: Large room in the Wisteria cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I don't write a lot of reviews, even though we travel extensively and always first class. After seeing some negative reviews of this fabulous hotel, I felt that I had to respond.
I don't know where the other people stayed but it simply could not have been the same hotel in which we stayed.
This is one of the very finest hotel operations that I have ever experienced. The staff is exceptionally well selected and impeccably trained.
I felt like I was staying at a deluxe private club being cared for be people who truly cared about my comfort and enjoyment.
From the time Fred our bellman asked us to let him know if there was anything he could do to make our stay better until the time he shook my hand as we left, every staff member went "above and beyond".
By way of example, when I mentioned that the salsa with my breakfast was a little spicy furor my taste, the next order came with a milder salsa. A small thing to some but to me, evidence of exceptional guest care.
In short, the building is in great shape, the people truly care, the food is delicious, I am not sure what more you could ask.
If you enjoy first class service in a beautiful historic and storied setting, the this is the place for you.
We have already made two more reservations for later his year, including for Breeder's Cup and hope we can find more time to go even more often.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have incredible views of city lights at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

From the outside this hotel looks right at home in Pasadena. However, once you pass the lobby the hotel becomes a bit of maze and feels dark and deserted. I was traveling with two other people and we all had trouble finding our rooms which were located in three different areas of the hotel. Also, when I arrived in my first room there were people in it. I returned to the front desk and asked for a new room given that mine was occupied. The gentleman apologized but did not do anything outside of explain that the room appeared available in his system.

I slept well and had a decent dinner from room service. In the morning the shower took so long to heat up that I thought I would have to go without that day. Luckily that did not happen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Huntington, Pasadena

Address: 1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Business Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Family Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Huntington, Pasadena 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the grace and elegance of a bygone era, The Langham Huntington is located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just nine miles north of downtown Los Angeles in beautiful Pasadena. Located on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the landmark hotel features award-winning dining, an award-winning spa and a number of recreational choices such as tennis and a nearby Nicklaus Design golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham Huntington, Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Hotel Pasadena
Langham Huntington Hotel
The Langham Huntington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.