We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Style California Luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles to your Saves list
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
UP TO 20% OFF. BOOK NOW!
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Certificate of Excellence
Lima
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Old Style California Luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

All the old-style luxury and grace of a hotel established for wealthy people in 1800s -- which is indeed the history of this hotel. One encounters old-fashioned courtesy and good manners here. All the staff, including those from whom I sought directions (it is a large property with a large main building, subsidiary buldings and gardens to navigate), were very welcoming, friendly and helpful, and the staff conveyed by their words and manner that they feel a sense of ownership, that they dont feel they are simply employees performing a function - no small feat for management to have achieved in such a big luxury hotel. So being here felt more like staying in a welcoming, wealthy home away from home, -- as compared to the run of the mill high-end hotel. The prices are on the high side for the value, but this is upscale Pasadena. The spa has very high recommendations but also high prices, so I opted instead for the well-equipped gym and sauna. Food options were limited to fairly traditional fare, and meal prices were not outrageous. The breakfast buffet offered no German multigrain bread or muesli, - but rather provided a wide range of typical American breakfast options for $30. The room service food was good but expensive - food was nicely presented and arrived hot, but with the fees and tip, it cost $37 for a hamburger with fries and ice tea. The hotel web site accurately presents the hotel and its style. The atmosphere is relaxing , away from the hubbub of LA and its freeways, yet only 30 minutes from LAX. In summary, if you want to stay in Pasadena, and can afford low-key luxury with peace and quiet -- this is a good choice.

Room Tip: A room on 5th floor overlooking the Japanese Garden and swimming pool, away from the elevators -- if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    285
    83
    46
    41
See reviews for
316
358
59
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a wonderful property, with fabulous personal service, room decor to die for, and meticulously clean. The hotel is quiet and the amenities are great. The staff was friendly and courteous, and had great information. The atmosphere is personal and relaxed. It's a great place for business, pleasure, romance or a quiet off-season getaway. The history of the hotel is wonderfully interesting as well, recommend taking the time to read the guest services information about the hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Langham on a recent trip to LA, after traveling through California. We've stayed in Pasadena previously and the vibe of this area is great, it's scenic and it's still relatively close to downtown (15-20 mins in minimal traffic).

We were looking forward to staying at the Langham & we certainly weren't disappointed with our stay. This is a gorgeous property, set on beautiful grounds. It has plenty of walking trails through the gardens, around the pool etc plus a good spa.

It is rare to find a hotel that really does meet _all_ your expectations, but the Langham managed it. We had a great corner room with good space & great views out over the property and beyond.

The hotel has a fair bit of history behind it (having been around since 1920 or so) & was formerly a Ritz Carlton. You can see the old world glamour throughout the building, yet it also feels modern, is up-to-date & warm.

Service was excellent, in particular Reception & Guest Services. Valet Parking was super-fast and friendly.

We dined at the Terrace Restaurant for Breakfast most days & dinner on one evening. Good food, not overly expensive & great tables outside by the pool.

We had a fair few drinks at The Tap Room on a blisteringly hot day (35+ Degrees Centigrade) & again it was pleasant to be able to sit outside, enjoy the scenery and even talk a bit to the squirrels cheekily hanging around.

Highly recommend staying here if in LA, it's not super central to downtown etc obviously, but the benefits far outweigh any driving you may have to do. And it doesn't matter where you are in LA, you'll be stuck in traffic anyway!

Can't wait to get back here at some point soon & am also keen to check out other Langham properties as well..



  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When I pulled up to the property I realized that I had stayed there when it was a Ritz and I was pleased to say that it is just as good. I had a great massage (better than the other five I have had at hotels in the last 2 months). The spa is very well-equipped with a nice hot pool and good gym. Our room overlooked the gardens and city lights which was lovely but it was getting a bit tired. We thoroughly enjoyed the Tap bar- sit outside it has a great view. However, it too, needs a decorating upgrade. The dining room Rolf's has been recently renovated and it is quite glamerous. Over all, we had good food eveywhere in the hotel but thought that the room service menu was a bit tight. Just wanted some comfort food and it was all too upscale for a movie night. best part- first morning there we asked a maitenance man how to get to the terrace restaurant for breakfast and he didn't just direct us- he walked us there! The staff all seemed to really like their jobs.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a quick weekend get away just to spend some time together. The hotel is beautiful, the service was awesome and it was such a great couple of days to hide away. My only comment on something to work on is to upgrade the bathroom, it wasn't horrible my any means.....but dated and so it takes away from the awesomeness of the place.

Room Tip: Remember that if you book a room with a pool view, it may get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here before under previous ownership and pleased it still a comfortable welcoming place.So nice to have a warm welcome from valet parking attendant after a horrid drive on the crowded LA freeway coming down from the North. All the staff were pleasant and greeted us in the corridors. We had a great room, with a balcony,overlooking the pool, which made access easy, good to wander down in a robe, but not so good to have to pick out the way in bare feet as the steps hadn't been swept. Sun goes off the pool by the afternoon, but I found the water fine around 4pm, just me in the pool, great! The outside hot tub I found too warm.Terrace restaurant was consistently good on two nights, eating outside was a pleasure and the staff offer to bring out heaters. Filet Mignon particularly good. Easy to get to the Norton Simon and Gamble house.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms in the Lanai are spacious and comfortable. Booking to include breakfast and valet park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Being able to walk from our room to the pool and/or The Terrace for meals was convenient and pleasant. Crossing the bridge, taking in the lovely views, delightful. The cleanliness of the room and comfort of the bed puts one at ease for a good night's sleep. All hotel personnel from Valet parking to security were polite, helpful and yet warm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles

Address: 1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the grace and elegance of a bygone era, The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles is located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just nine miles north of downtown Los Angeles in beautiful Pasadena. Located on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the landmark hotel features delectable dining, the award-winning Chuan Spa and a number of recreational choices such as tennis programming, fitness classes, swimming and nearby golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Hotel Pasadena
Langham Huntington Hotel
The Langham Huntington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.