We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Birthday at the Langham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham Huntington, Pasadena

Save Saved
You added The Langham Huntington, Pasadena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now - Up to 20% Off
Ranked #1 of 28 hotels in Pasadena
Rancho Murieta, California, USA
1 review
“Glorious Birthday at the Langham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband planned a special birthday weekend for me at the Langham Huntington. He started with a plan to take me to the Huntington Library and Museum and saw the Langham on the Huntington Website. He was entranced by the website and the good summer special including continental breakfast (really a $40 credit in the cafe so you can have anything you want and just pay excess if it is more than $40-which it will be) and parking and booked a three day weekend. We drove down from Northern California. From the moment we arrived at the front door our experience was exquisite. The service at every turn was helpful, friendly, impeccable, and appropriate. From the beautiful blush long stemmed rose given to me at check in (it is still going strong 3 weeks later after a hot drive home without water) to the gorgeous room, beautifully decorated and appointed, to the view from our room, to the gorgeous grounds and public spaces, wonderful food, great pool, and sense of understated luxury, we utterly and completely loved our weekend. People were able to answer our questions and to help us when we needed it and went above and beyond. We felt we were in an English country house. We have stayed in private country house hotels in Ireland and England, and the experience was equivalent. In fact, this hotel was one of our top 2 or 3 hotel experiences ever. Even though the hotel is expensive it is worth it, and the package really made a difference. We generally favor small, more boutique hotels, but we intend to seek out Langhams and chose them in the future if we are in a city that has one. Our weekend was a splurge, but it was totally worth it. If you are there on a summer evening, look to see if the Huntington Library is having an outdoor concert. We found one and it was great. The staff at the Langham packed us a picnic. Our next stop will be the Langham Boston and we will look forward to what treats might be in store there. Wait until you see the box of toiletries in the bathroom - to die for!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    591
    247
    66
    43
    33
See reviews for
253
292
46
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was here in July 2012, and loved every second of my visit. I was there for business, but cannot wait to bring the wife on the next trip.
You feel like royalty when you arrive at the hotel. The hotel is grand and sweeping, with amazing views of the San Gabriel Mountains. You can feel the history in the hotel, and the little details throughout are amazing. Old world craftsmanship everywhere you turn.
They have a ballroom that is quite nice, and then two smaller junior ballrooms that are simply amazing, as they are original to the hotel. The hotel has a serene and comforting courtyard, as well as some lovely gardens.
The spa is exceptional, the Chinese treatment rooms are very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary since we were married and had our reception here. Chose the Club level which had a beautiful view and many nice extras... Service was friendly and accommodating. Peaceful and relaxing! Not much has changed in 30 years! Will be back soon...

Room Tip: Ask Not to be next to the elevator .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at this historic hotel while attending a wedding. It was a wonderful place to relax and
feel pampered. The Huntington Library and Museums are close by along with the historic
downtown area. Do not worry if you do not want to drive around yourself, because the hotel and
their wonderful staff will provide a shuttle (first come basis) within a three mile area during
scheduled hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

For a world class experience in one of the most beautiful residential neighborhoods in the country--close to concerts, shopping, great restaurants--this is ideal. We spent our wedding night here, and have been back several times--each equally memorable. This "Grand Dame" of hotels is known internationally for its architecture, service, food and history. We booked a suite on our last visit and I think our entire first home might have fit into the luxurious bathroom. We had a perfect view of the parade of weddings on the south lawn--delightful! And the breakfast is one to simply sigh over... we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is situated in a beautiful park, but in no way lives up to its potential or pretensions.
1) The problems began with reservations. I phoned the hotel and was given an AAA rate for three adults in a Club Suite. I phoned back shortly thereafter to book and was told that such rate had never existed and that the rate was $200 per night more than quoted ("our rates change every few minutes"). I then reluctantly booked the Langham suite at a cost in excess of what I had been quoted for the Club Suite. I was assured by the reservations agent that parking would be included, but I was charged $50 plus tax.
2) On arrival, the reception was manned by two inexperienced, non professional, college aged attendants, who even directed us to the wrong floor (in a hotel of these pretensions, one is normally accompanied to the accommodation - but not at the penny pinching Langham!).
3) The suite was rather tastelessly decorated, but would have had nice views onto the park had it not been for the intrusion of a couple of hundred cheap plastic chairs that had been set up on the lawn for a wedding. Even though we arrived in the afternoon, the curtains were already drawn and no bedspread was on the bed. There was no wastebasket in the bathroom. The drain stoppers in both the bathtub and one of the two sinks in the bathroom were non functional. These problems were reported: a wastebasket was provided, but the drain problems were never corrected. Drinking water was provided on the second day, but not the first.
4) We had dinner the first evening at the Terrace Restaurant. The atmosphere in the outdoor section would have would have been nice, had it not been for the blaring noise from two weddings underway in the ball rooms. Service in the restaurant was inattentive and the food was tepid by the time served. Offerings in breakfast buffet the following morning were extremely limited (notwithstanding $30 plus tax per person charge) -- not even yogurt was offered.
5) At about 6 pm on the second day, the concierge booked us a table at an excellent restaurant in the old town. She indicated that the hotel shuttle would be available to transport us both ways if our return was by 9 pm. When we boarded the shuttle shortly after 7, the driver announced that this was his final trip of the day -- he had decided to go home early.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamPasadena, Manager at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear robert60763,

We apologize that you did not fully enjoy your most recent stay with us. Due to the supply and demand of our guestrooms, our rates for each room type do change frequently throughout the day, and we understand the sometimes confusing nature of the booking process. After each reservation is made, every guest receives a confirmation letter via email that clearly states the room rate and room type, along with our parking policies that outline our parking rates. We apologize if there was any confusion regarding our parking policy.

It is our standard policy not to include a bedspread for the pull out sofa unless requested as all guests in suites do not necessarily use the sofa bed. We do apologize, however, for the missing wastebasket in your bathroom and the sinks that did not function properly. We have addressed these concerns with our housekeeping and engineering teams to ensure this does not happen again. We have also discussed the service issues with our Terrace restaurant and our hotel concierge regarding the shuttle.

Thank you for pointing out areas in which we can improve our service levels. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoiston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

If you are looking for a gracious, beautiful hotel a bit removed from the LA crowd, this is it! The Langham is filled with comfort and class and a staff that strives to make your stay absolutely flawless. From the restaurants to the spa to afternoon tea and walks on the historic bridge, all of it was perfection. Our daughter has moved to California and we will visit her home often. But we will stay at the Langham!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham Huntington, Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham Huntington, Pasadena

Address: 1401 South Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, CA 91106
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pasadena
#1 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham Huntington, Pasadena 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the grace and elegance of a bygone era, The Langham Huntington is located at the base of the picturesque San Gabriel Mountains, just nine miles north of downtown Los Angeles in beautiful Pasadena. Located on 23 acres with grand historic ballrooms and gardens, the landmark hotel features award-winning dining, an award-winning spa and a number of recreational choices such as tennis and a nearby Nicklaus Design golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Langham Huntington, Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, Los Angeles Hotel Pasadena
Langham Huntington Hotel
The Langham Huntington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.