We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freeway Motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pasadena Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pasadena Inn to your Saves list
Pasadena Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 South Arroyo Parkway, Pasadena, CA 91105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
las vegas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Freeway Motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Wasn't expecting much, got less. Very small room, uncomfortable bed, but at least a clean room.
Nice pool and Jacuzzi, too bad the Jacuzzi is not even warm. It ruins your trip when you book a place for the Jacuzzi and they are too cheap to heat it.
Book a place without pool and jacuzzi and you wil be better off.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    63
    32
    8
    21
See reviews for
27
37
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was assigned to a dirty room - the room I was moved into was swarming with ants. The front desk assured me they would take care of it but didn't. I took a cockroach home - I am positive it came from this hotel - there were several dead around the premises. The air conditioner didn't work. Lighting was terrible.
One of the front desk attendants was extremely rude and unhelpful. I emailed the hotel to inform them since this was one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had, and requested follow up - I didn't get any. I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone. Spend the extra $50 and stay in a clean place with good customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

OK for one night or 2. Right in the heart of Pasadena. Parking is difficult to navigate and get in and out of. Continental breakfast included but staff did not tell about it. Found out on my own. Stops at 9:30 sharp. Microwave and fridge nice touch, but nothing in the room to tell where to find ice, not even a pen or pad by the phone. I stayed in 2 different rooms. The ground level room right off parking lot was noisier than the room on the 3rd floor.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Great for an overnight stay, ample space for three-four people. Refrigerator, microwave, WIFI, nice TV, AC, ample parking. I have learned this summer to splurge when i get to my destination but that on the way to the locale or for a quick overnight stay, go for the inexpensive, clean place. There was a Whole Foods right across the street so we were able to buy dinner and bring it back to the hotel, very convenient. Definitely would stay again when visiting Pasadena or the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The staff here did a great job of making you feel welcome, only 3 blocks from old town and close to quite a few restaurants. The price was good the rooms comfortable (a bit outdated) and very quiet place to stay. The parking is free which is a bonus in this part of L.A. area, although it does have a somewhat Motel feel for the price and location it's a good place to stay. I would stay here again if the occasion comes up.

Room Tip: The bottom floor where I stayed allows access to your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Except for the polyester bedspreads and outdated decor, the Pasadena Inn gets the job done nicely. The bed was very comfortable with decent sheets/blankets and the pillows are GREAT (real pillows) ... a big priority on my list as I needed to stay in Pasadena for a week. My room was large and very quiet. The staff was very helpful and accomodating. LOVED having Whole Foods Market across the street ... forget the typical American breakfast provided by the hotel ... go across the street for real cappacino and wonderful nutritious food. All-in-all, a pleasant stay ... I had considered higher end, but glad I stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Booked this hotel for my family to stay in while I was finishing packing up to leave the Pasadena area. The location is relatively central 10 min to old town Pasadena and less to the Paseo both with shops, bars and restaurants. Also across the road from Whole Foods market with 2 floors of gorgeous (but pricey) food and just a few minutes walk to the gold line metro train which will get into downtown LA in about 20 minutes. Room is as you would expect a standard inn, we had a corner room with 2 double beds and it was a good size and was tucked in the back corner so the house from the main route into central Pasadena (Arroyo Parkway) did not affect us. Other facilities we basic but clean and good, just a basic buffet for breakfast, a pool, small laundry facility and free parking.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pasadena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pasadena Inn

Address: 400 South Arroyo Parkway, Pasadena, CA 91105
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pasadena Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pasadena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pasadena Hotel Pasadena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasadena Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.