We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with service worth the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Pasadena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Pasadena to your Saves list
Hilton Pasadena
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168 South Los Robles Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Pasadena
Skokie, Illinois USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location with service worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in June with the Hilton Getaway Package. We had a very clean room with good housekeeping service. The restaurant staff was very helpful when we asked about packing a breakfast to go. They allowed us to take as much as we wanted and included coffee and juice containers.
While we stayed here only because of the lower package price we had a very good time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    245
    154
    43
    28
See reviews for
102
116
51
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for three days/two nights. The service was great. The moment we drove up the valets came to the car to help us. We checked in and were told that conf. attendees had a discounted valet rate of $15.00 so we decided to have them park our car since the self park was just slightly cheaper. We really don't like to have to pay to park at a hotel but know that several are doing that these days. We asked the front desk where the conference was meeting and the gentleman walked from behind the desk and walked us part way to the ballroom to show us where it was. We decided later that day that we wanted a refrigerator in our room and asked about it at the front desk. There was a $10.00 a day fee but the fridge arrived within 20 min. The staff throughout our stay was very attentive and couldn't have done a better job.

Hotel is in a great part of town right next to Colorado Blvd. where there are many restaurants and many great shops all within a short walking distance. Also, a Gelson's market within short walking distance so we decide to stock up on things there and have dinner in our room the first night.

We checked out the pool and gym but did not use either. They both looked average but clean and tidy.

They do have a big bar area off of the lobby and hotel also has a Starbucks which is always a nice feature.

The only negative about this hotel is that the decor is not up to date. The colors are muted and wallpaper, etc. is out of date. If you can put up with that and get a good price, this is a good place to stay. If you want to stay at a modern up to date hotel this isn't the place for you.

I am saying would recommend this hotel because of the service and location but the hotel really does need to update its look!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

5 night stay here - Air conditioner kicking on and off all night with no way to control without turning it off and roasting = NO SLEEP. Paper thin walls hearing people going to the bathroom, talking and yes, other things....all night = NO SLEEP. I come to hotels to sleep - if that isn't accomplished,no hospitable service, smiles or perks will make up for it - period.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

First, let me say that the only reason we stayed here was because of an awesome Travelzoo promo ($79 a night). Considering it was Memorial Day weekend this was seriously the best deal in the L.A. area. Okay, not on to the "experience":

Pros
1.) The location is perfect. Near Old Pasadena & South Lake District, so that was a major plus.
2.) Only a 20 min. drive to the beach (Santa Monica/Venice) and/or Beverly Hills.
Cons
1.) Annoyingly long wait for valet
2.) Valet a must since there is no parking ($15 a day, that was a major let-down).
3.) Air-conditioning made a loud thumping sound. Had to change rooms.
4.) Asked to not be near elevator, both rooms were 3-4 doors down from elevator (eventually got a room further down the hall after making an fuss).
5.) "Black-out" curtains had gaps at both ends & the middle, hence our early awakening by the rising sun (our room faced east).
6.) The pillows were WAY too soft.
7.) The bathroom was in need of a serious need of attention (lamps were falling apart, shower/tub was old, and the door was dirty--how hard is it to wipe down the doors?).
8.) Beds had decent comfort, but neither of us slept well.
9.) The lobby was boring as hell!!!
10.) The pool looked like a glorified bathtub. It was as though it was a "courtesy" pool. I've seen better pools/pool areas at the Comfort & Fairfield Inns. A total joke.

In a nutshell: Decent if you can land a deal and you don't plan on spending much time at the hotel. Lame amenities, mediocre hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We were staying in Pasadena for two nights as part of a trip of the West Coast. On check-in we found our room to be a little tired with a very small bathroom and worn furniture. Massive issue with a connecting door and a loud snorer in the room next door. Staff moved us at 4am and were very understanding. However, the second room on the top floor had an extremely loud extractor fan which couldn't be switched off. We moved again, having now slept in three beds in one hour!!! Although we are frequent travellers, we've never been forced to move within the middle of the night. Staff were keen to help and reimbursed us the cost of our earlier dinner, but if booking do ask for a room without a connecting door! In short, Hilton could do with spending some money to bring this hotel in line with others in the chain - especially when paying four star prices for the privilege.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights while on business at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. The front desk staff to the valet parking personnel, to the Starbucks baristas were all very accommodating and friendly. Check-in was fast and problem-free as was checkout.

The room I had, with a balcony was very comfortable and clean. The bar was very nice in the hotel lobby.

I really like this place and will go back. FYI, I have stayed here twice before, in 2003 and 2006.


The

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

I stayed here with a conference. As others have noted, the rooms are fine, but a bit worn. For example if you look at the edges of the furniture, you will see worn edges (missing paint) or marks and the bathrooms are quite small. On the other hand, the bed was incredibly comfortable (and I don't sleep well in hotels) and the housekeeping service could not have been quicker, more thoughtful. I had a good view of the mountains and the noise from the street was minimal. Easy walk to the shops and restaurants. The staff was extremely friendly. Prices for food/drinks seemed high, but maybe this is standard for Pasadena. Consider bringing a jacket if you come out from the East Coast. CA is cooler in the mornings and evenings than one would think.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Pasadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Pasadena

Address: 168 South Los Robles Avenue, Pasadena, CA 91101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Pasadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pasadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Pasadena 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Pasadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Pasadena Hotel Pasadena
Hilton Hotel Pasadena
Pasadena Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Pasadena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.